Ratings based on 12,029 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, United States of America

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Nice and close to everywhere in Chicago downtown and nice interiors you can feel a deep history!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to everything, loved the view

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: It's character, it was an old building but you never felt it.
Cons: 10.00 for French toast in your restaurant was a lil much
Location: Grant park across the street, shopping with in walking distance, any type of food you can imaging, theater, the Kringle market. holiday spirit
Check in was a breeze, check out was also. Loved everything in between.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Older hotel, but very nice. Convenient location.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Convenient location. Clean, decent sized room. Modest price.
Cons: Really didn't need much.
Location: On Michigan Ave. Close to Art Institute and Grant Park...
Business trip. Older hotel, but very nice. Convenient location. Modest price, especially for downtown Chicago...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posizione ottima struttura vecchia

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: La positione
Cons: L'approccio che il personale ha con i clienti e dovrebbero lavorare sull'insonorizzazione della camera e magari rinnovare porte e finestre.
Location: Posizione perfetta per visitare la città. Molti ristoranti nella zona e dine shop dove fare ottime colazioni all'ameicana.
Sono stata al Congress Plaza Hotel per 5 notti per lavoro. La stanza era molto spaziosa e il letto veramente comodo, tutto molto pulito e la posizione fantastica a pochi blocks da tutti i principali punti turistici. Il personale sembra non sorridere mai e offre un servizio minimale, a tratti un po' rude. Stavano rinnovando il front desk durante il mio soggiorno quindi il colpo d'occhio della lobby ne ha risentito parecchio. Dovrebbero comunque fare un serio rinnovo dell'intera struttura che appare piuttosto vecchia. La nota più negativa di tutte è il rumore: la mia stanza aveva due porte (ovviamente non utilizzabili) che separavano la mia stanza con le due adiacenti, e che permetteva a tutti i suoni di essere chiaramente uditi dalla mia camera, da conversazioni tenute con tono di voce normale alle sveglie dei miei vicini. In generale il mio soggiorno è stat ok, se i vuole pernotare in una positione strategica senza spendere una fortuna e senza troppe pretese, questo è il posto giusto.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

old glory now turned cheap

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Positive: Nice staff and good size room right on Michigan Avenue, clean rooms, free wifi, beautiful lobby. Negative: Too cheap ! No thermostat in the bedroom, water not hot enough, weird bedding, worse TV ever (blurry screen), it was time to refresh the paintings 15 years ago but you probably wouldn't have hired professionals anyway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buen precio para la zona

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Cerca de todo , hotel viejo pero la ubicación supera su costo , en comparación de los otros hoteles , no esperar mucho sobre las instalaciones
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Cons: need to make the lights brighter and hot water hotter
the room is dim and the carpet is not clean. this is a non-smoking room, but the smoke smell is still obvious. the hot water is not hot enough even in the freezing day. but based on the price and its location, it is OK. it is close to the park, the shore and the museums. and lots of restaurants is nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wallingford, United States of America

Surprising luxury.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Spacious room. Gorgeous view. Comfortable bed. Just a wonderful experience.
Location: Walk to: Field Museum. Art Institute. Grant Park/ Millenium Park. Shed aquarium.
I opened the door to my room and thought that I would never want to leave. Sixteen foot high ceilings with crown molding, lathe and plaster walls that u=insulated sound, a walk in closet and a big bow window with a view of the park and the lake. Even the bathroom was spacious. The plug in the bathtub actually worked and the water got hot enough to take a real hot soak after a long flight. Even the water glasses were actually glass and not those flimsy little paper or plastic things and the coffee pot made a full pot of coffee or tea. The bed was bliss. I felt indulged.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Stayed there for one night, location is great and the whole vibe of the hotel is appealing to me, its an older hotel I enjoyed it a lot. I would stay there again. I read a lot of reviews focusing on the fact that its an older hotel..... for me thats a plus rather then a bad thing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to all major institutions, shoppi

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location was great.
Cons: More electrical outlets in rooms to plug in iphones, computers, etc.
Location: Great restaurants, theater, shopping, tourist attractions, and more.
The valet parking returned my car covered in bird waste that was hard to remove and stained my paint.