Ratings based on 11,378 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing historic hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The location and the price
Cons: Our high-ceiling bedroom could be upgraded so long as it did not spoil the hotel's ambience.
Location: Excellent location in the centre within walking distance of just about everything
The hotel is on the busy Michigan Avenue on the other side of which is Millennium Park, with the huge Buckingham Fountain and with Lake Michigan beyond, about 300m.away. Our room was on the 8th floor at the front and hence had a truly outstanding view. The traffic on Michigan Avenue did not disturb us (good double glazing). The hotel is in need of some TLC, but is still excellent value nevertpe less. The "Gold Room" is a huge ballroom that has been preserve beautifully in high flown Baroque style, quite incredible (you have to ask to be shown it).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Comfortable, convenient and affordable.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: It was very convenient for the places we wanted to see in town, and they had a bar on the ground floor which is always a nice bonus.
Cons: Ice machines on every floor would be nice, and a better selection of channels would be my only suggestion.
Location: Plenty of restaurants nearby, several bus stops, train and subway stations are only a quarter mile away and we walked to the Navy Peir along the lake.
The hotel is pretty conveniently close to several subway and train stops, and within walking distance of the Navy Pier and Grant park perfect for taking a stroll. We were pleased with the condition of the room and the beds were extremely comfortable, perhaps too comfy since we had trouble getting up the second morning! I heard that this hotel was haunted the night before we left town which was a bummer, if i had known i possibly would have done a little more exploring :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c wichita

Good hotel. Great location

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Overall good hotel. Just older so not as clean and beds are not the greatest
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fijne locatie, goed hotel, zeer onbeleefd personee

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Kamer keurig, comfortabel en ruim. Personeel zeer onbeleefd, soms zelfs grof. Snauwt naar gasten. Kom hier niet terug.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The whole experience wasn't that good. The hotel looks great, but the rooms looks old and not clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cortland, ohio

Beautifully centered.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Price, room, staff, location!
Cons: Breakfast pricey for a glorified continental breakfast. Restaurant wasn't busy and I'm assuming that's one reason.
Location: Millennium park, grant park, navy pier are all within great walking distance. The train is really close, and taxis are always available.
Fast and efficient check-in. Room clean and very spacious. Housekeeping, very friendly and through. Bartender at the bar was cordial, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the city and hotel. Elevators are old but fast and never had to wait. Beautiful lobby, thank you for a phenomenon experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.

Out dated.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The hotel is way too out dated for its cost. The beds were horribly uncomfortable that I tossed and turned all night. The carpet is really old you'll def want flip flops to walk around the room. The bathroom door was very hard to open and close. I'd def go back to Chicago but NEVER at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Al centro di Chicago a un prezzo onesto

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: La posizione è il suo punto di forza, seppure la presenza dei clochard nei dintorni sia numerosa, ti senti al sicuro anche in tarda serata a piedi.
Cons: I servizi igienici dimostrano l'età ma fanno il loro dovere.
Location: Art Institute of Chicago e Willis Tower raggiungibili a piedi e Navy Pier quasi, ma al ritorno abbiamo optato per i mezzi pubblici.
Ci occorreva un punto di partenza per le attrazioni di Chicago dopo aver riconsegnato le auto e la location è perfetta: comoda a piedi e vicina alla linea blu per l'aeroporto. L'edificio è un pò datato, alcuni servizi poco efficienti, il wi-fi nelle camere quasi inesistente, bene nella hall, ma nel complesso ok. Ci hanno permesso di lasciare in deposito i bagagli prima del check in. Con altri operatori il prezzo lievitava rispetto a Expedia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rock hard beds - over prices food -- old and down

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: It has some great historical design
Cons: all the cheep stuff --- this is worse than many 1 stars I have stayed in
Location: great stuff --- great location, places to eat, places to go, park walks etc
The photos look good the hotel has a great history, * I the whole place is run cheep.. Beds look ok but I have slept on softer rocks in the battle field the towels look bad old gym towels --- worthless -- the place is rundown and dirty all over, rust dirt. Do not get me started about their breakfast.... dinning Out of the city in the 1960, poor dinner quality food but 5 star prices, no options, so 2 eggs toast and potatoes are $12.00 full of oil. I wanted to add a couple of pan cakes and they said that well be $16 I asked if that was an up charge they said no the hot cakes 3 are $16 --- plus the eggs at $12. --- it could be good if they would update it to the 1980' fire the cook, the staff and start over .... Do not believe Expedia or other rating this place other than being historic has NOTHING going for it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Good location, fair price.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location is perfect. Staff was nice and mostly accommodating. (minus ac issue) Fair price for what you get.
Cons: AC in room was running poorly.
Location: Great park system right and lake right across the street. Plenty of museums in the area. Hop on and off bus tour stops nearby. Train station close.
We were on the 13th floor, I thought hotels weren't supposed to have a 13th floor? I'm not superstitious so that didn't bother me. The location was great, close to a lot of awesome spots and very close to a train station, which made getting around easy. The room was clean, but the ac didn't work well, which in August was a bit of an issue. They did give us a box fan which helped but never sent up an electrician like they said they were to fix ac. The view from the room we had was bogus as it was kind of an interior of the building and all you could see were windows of other rooms and fire escapes, but that was a minor disappointment and it happens. Other than that the staff was nice and professional. The bar and restaurant had good food and friendly service. Overall the stay was pleasant. Fair price for a great location and mostly good service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Front Desk Office, Hotel Management
Thank you Cory for your feedback, we truly appreciate it. We are sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations. We will continue to work on our services to better accommodate our guests. We hope to see you at the Congress again soon.