Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vintage charm

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Great location near the lake and train. Room had a vintage vibe but a little run down. Room had kind of a funky odor. If time was put in to keeping the place up, would be super cool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good location, really run down hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location great, price was reasonable.
Cons: Hotel needs a thorough renovation. It's too old and has a grubby appearance. Front desk staff could try a bit friendlier.
Location: Great location, close to many attractions and public transport options.
The big plus for this hotel is the location. It's central to most of the popular tourists spots and some rooms have great views overlooking the fountain and waterfront. Other than that, it's a let down.The place is just really run down and in serious need of a renovation. I believe some rooms have been updated, but we had an old room and it was falling apart. Broken bathroom door handle, furniture loose and on verge of collapse and shower parts loose. The room and linens were actually clean and as poor condition the room was in, it felt clean, so kudos to the housekeeping for that, but it's an uphill battle when the overall appearance is so bad. The corridors look awful and the public washroom I used was really poor too. Lobby and ground floor is okay, but seen better days, as has bar. Reception desk staff not particularly helpful or friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This hotel must be updated! Such historical place and so untidy!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Goid location

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very good location. Parking is terrible. Lot was full so couldn't park at the hotel. Had to park 2 blocks away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

cozy spot

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The Congress was nice and convenient for us. My only concern was the lack of elevators and staff members. The entire hotel was booked for the weekend and everyone was checking in on Friday. They should have had a few more staff members on to minimize lines and make sure everyone got to their rooms quickly. There is only two elevators for access to all rooms over the 14 floors. They take FOREVER
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN

Convenient Location. OK hotel.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location was good. Nice beds with lots of pillows. Clean room. Nice bar.
Cons: Room was very cold and the fan unit did not have an off setting. No wifi. Amenities are circa 1990.
Location: Grant park to the North and Shedd Aquarium to the south about a mile or so. Lou Malnati's is about 4 blocks as well as Devil Dogs.
Very good location for Chicago sight-seeing if you are willing to do a bit of walking. Park attractions are about 1 mile North and South. Hop on hop off tour can get you to many farther sights for a nice fee. Make sure you negotiate as there are a few of these tour companies. Hotel is not warmly decorated. Staff is also a bit cold. The room was cold and we had to fiddle with the a/c unit to get the fan to stop and it was still very cold. Our South section room was by the train so if you like quiet try to avoid these rooms. Luckily we live by a train so it did not bother us. Beds were very comfortable. Hot water took a long time to get to the room (5-10 minutes).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location to down town attractions

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Hotel is in a good location, lobby is nice, staff very helpful. Need to updated rooms and guest floors
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Perfect when you do a running event!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Older Hotel although beds are clean and my location was very quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice, but noisy

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Fix ice machine and less noisy room.
Location: Walking distance to shopping and m,post attractions.
It is in a nice area on Michigan Ave across from the park. Our room was on the 4th floor and facing Michigan Ave. It was very noisy with street noise. It would have been better to have a higher floor or been on the other side of the building. The view was nice, though. The ice machine on our floor didn't work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Hotel was pretty run down and dirty as well as old!