Ratings based on 3,565 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, free breakfast was a joke.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The hotel is very old but has lots of character. Could use some updating. The free breakfast is an on the go pastry breakfast, but they happily hand you a menu for their expensive breakfast. The staff was great, especially the bellman. He was extremely helpful and nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The staff were so uninterested in what they were doing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Have stayed here this summer, and it was excellent! Concierge was unfriendly and not at all helpful when we arrived. Everything else was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Everything is ok,good food, services etc

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Beautiful view, museums, stores, everything close to you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Great location - very old hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The location and the lobby
Cons: better directions once inside
This hotel is in a FABULOUS location. There was renovation being done, and the signs posted around the hotel weren't accurate. Also, the room did not seem quite as cozy as we were thinking it would be. There were a few things in the bathroom that were broken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recomend

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Will stay again great staff and location.old in house chicago bar
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Front Desk Office, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Love this hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Me and my boyfriend came here for my birthday! Really nice room
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Front Desk Office, Hotel Management
Thank you JH for your review. We hope to see you at the Congress again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great and friendly employees

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The location was perfect for the purpose of my trip which is music conferences. The price very affordable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Front Desk Office, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, it is truly appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx.

Okay

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Location, bar.
Cons: Continental breakfast was really dry bread slices, sugary muffins, and watered down OJ, at least when I was there.
Location: Great location. Central on Michigan Ave. I have stayed in the renovated parts of this hotel before, and those rooms are much much better.
Hot water in shower never really worked, got tepid at best. Safety chain on door didn't stretch all the way. Mattress pretty uncomfortable. All in all fine if you're not going to spend a lot of time there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Front Desk Office, Hotel Management
Thank you Ed for your feedback, we truly appreciate it. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenleaf WI

Another great stay

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Took my mother as a birthday/Christmas gift. Beautiful architecture. Spacious rooms with wonderful view. Staff was friendly. Elevatorso need some work.