Ratings based on 10,615 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Classic look, clean rooms, sunny, perfect view of the lake. Convenient late check out option. Affordable. Easy parking. Repeat customer!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel con buena ubicacion

Posted Feb 3, 2016
El agua caliente tarda de 15-20 min en salir, pero creo q la ubicacion es muy buena y es barato
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manitowoc , wisconsin

Good location

Posted Feb 2, 2016
The only thing that this hotel has going for it is that it is close to a lot of the museums in the loop. Staff seem to be on concerned when I arrived at the check-in desk. Didn't say welcome more thanks for staying with us also directed us to the wrong elevator to get to our room. The bellboy was never around they had to bring some sort of bells call him back to the desk as we did keep our luggage in their locker room until we are able to check in. The parking there was listed on this website at Self Park but it was valet only. When I got my car back it smelled like weed inside. The room was nice and clean although it it was supposed to have two beds inside one was king size and one was full-size. The curtains didn't close all the way. There was no thermostat to control the temperature of the room. Upon leaving there were beer bottles in the hallway. Wouldn't probably stay here again as we ended up using the lift service to be transported to all of our destinations instead of walking. If you want a nice location where you can walk everywhere and this is the hotel for you. If not save yourself the hassle and go somewhere with better customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice stay

Posted Feb 1, 2016
It's really cheap and clean. But don't provide toothbrush... Recommend!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view!

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Beautiful view! But with the view comes loud traffic! Horrible beds, mattress sheets pillows all bad. Staff very rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Will return next time I'm in Chicago. It was clean and the staff was friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Falsely advertised rooms

Posted Jan 29, 2016
The ad for our room wasn't anything like the picture. Instead we got a run down old closest for a room with a insect problem. Carpet and drapes were something out of the 1940s.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
It was a great experience, I feel the mattress could have been more comfortable.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Korea

시카고의 절경을 느끼기에 가장 좋은 장소의 호텔

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: 시카고의 절경을 감상하기에 최적의 호텔임
Location: 유명 관광지를 가장 쉽게 즐길수있는 최적의 장소로 추천
처음 여행한 시카고를 마음껏 즐길수있게 한 곳입니다. 호텔에서 그랜드 공원을 걸어서 약 10분 거리에는 시카고의 유명관광지인 세계 자연사 박물관과 거대한 수족관도 즐길수있었고 시카고 다운타운을 걸어서 구경할수있는 좋은 장소에 위치하고 있네요. 그리고 눈 내린 그랜드 파크와 얼어붙은 미시간 호수를 즐기면서 바라보는 전경 또한 짱입니다.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel, great location

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Great location and if you are on the front, an awesome view. Handy for the subway and a short 5 minute walk from the blue line from the airport.
Cons: Better soundproofed doors ont the rooms and redecorating the rooms and corridors.
Location: Right on the park and by the Shedd Aquarium, planetarium and art institute. Awesome location for a visitor.
Even though from the outside it looks great, this definitely feels like a budget hotel inside. There was a surprising contrast between some of the halls and conference facilities (which were beautiful) and the corridors and rooms (which were tired). Obviously an old historical hotel but it really needs a refresh internally. The north wing seemed older than the south so aim for the south wing if you can. Bar area was average but the bar lady was fabulous. Reception staff were courteous but did not exude friendliness. However when I needed to change rooms, they responded instantly with no fuss. Overall I got the feeling that maybe the owners were not investing as much in the place as they should and that the staff and building were suffering. Hopefully they'll improve it all at some point.