Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay, nothing extraordinary

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The proximity with the places where I needed to go
Cons: More light in the room
Location: Worked well for my schedule
Acceptable location and a safe environment. I only wanted to provide the short sentence above. Why thedemand for writing/providing more details?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

The hotel is a bit on the older side

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The hotel room was big, we had a room for 2 adults and 1 child (4 yo) and the room was big. The ceilings were high but felt really old.
Cons: The hotel lighting could definitely use a lot of work, hallways were using daylight white bulbs (6000k) and it really felt gloomy inside.
Location: I liked that the hotel was central to a lot of attractions and very close to transit. We took the subway several times over the long weekend.
The hotel is a bit on the older side if you ask me, but what do you expect coming from an old building right in the heart of Chicago? I personally would expect a bit more for the price I am paying but the hotel is just a place to rest so what does it matter? I was travelling with my wife and 4 year old daughter for the Easter long weekend and the parking was a bit sketchy. A parking garage was just adjacent to the building and the fees were high, you'd expect it to be of better condition but since it's partial Valet service it will be a higher charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: location is perfect! we had a beautiful view
Cons: climate control in rooms
Location: shopping, lake Michigan, historic sites, good dining all close by. The L is 2 blocks from hotel as well.
Beds were very comfortable and room was clean. Had to switch rooms due to our room being extremely hot. Hotel accommodated this quickly and upgraded our room at no extra charge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The elevators were not working. The room was outdated and the staff did not listen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great old hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Architecture. Grandeur. Location. View. Bathrooms.
Cons: The little breakfast restaurant was closed. (the better restaurant was open). The finish is places is a bit marred e.g. the door frames.
Location: Great location. L train close. Restaurants close. Magnificent Mile close. Art Institute and the Bean very close.
She is not perfect but certainly endearing. Chicago is such a great mix of old and new and this hotel does the city proud. Classic architecture, clean bright room, clean new bathroom and creaky doors and elevators and beautiful flourish. I hope to stay there again. Hotel staff was great. Short walk to the Art Institute and the Magnificent Mile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

I wouldn't go back

Posted Apr 18, 2017
I stayed here last Sunday night before a Cubs game and it was a disaster from start to finish. It all started with a parking lot they were extremely rude and they charged me twice and refused to refund me until I talk to the manager the next morning they promised that they would be there at 6 a.m. they wanted to park my car and not give me my keys until the next day which I told them I was not comfortable with so then they wanted to charge me even more to hold my own keys when you walk into the hotel it appears to look very nice although it has an awful smell I told the check-in woman about my parking issues and she told me that was completely normal. When getting to our room it was extremely old and outdated very very very small huge gaps under the door and the air conditioning barely worked I was not able to sleep a wink that night. Then waking up at 6 a.m. to check out and go deal with the parking manager and try to get my money back they told me there was nothing I could do and that the manager would not be there until in fact 8 a.m. instead of 6 but I had to get on the road I spent just as much on parking as I did for the room neither of them were worth any of this headache.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Athens, Greece

Location location location. Not much beyond that.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The location and the large size of the room, facing the lake.
Cons: Air circulation in the room. It was stuffy and apparently dusty (both of us suffered allergies in the room but not outside). Housekeeping.
Location: Miller's pub. The Walnut Room and Tiffany mosaic, Marshall Field's/Macy's. Route 66. The Art Institute, Tiffany dome in The Cultural Center.
Located on Michigan ave is clearly a plus for a short 8 day visit. Everything nearby that a first time visitor wants to do and see. Chicago is a fabulous city and the hotel concierge(s) were more than helpful sharing their own experiences and pointing out sites not normally on the tourist route. We stayed in the old tower of the hotel and perhaps that contributed to the disappointing aspects of service and room. Small bathroom, fixtures falling off the wall, telephone not in service, not good coffee and limited breakfast choices (for a price), housekeeping not up to standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville Kentucky

Celebrate. 30th anniversary

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Returned to the Congress Hotel after about 20 years loved it then loved it now! Perfect location in downtown close to everything reasonably priced beautiful history
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The building is old and obviously need to be remodeled but the room we had was very spacious with 2 king size beds in separate rooms. The hotel location is very good; closed walking distance to many downtown point of interests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by shaq, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLP Mexico

Excelent location, old hotel.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Rooms are big, the sheets and towels are impeccable clean, and the centralized heating system works great. Cleaning of the rooms is OK.
Cons: This hotel needs a major renovation urgently. The attitude of the desk people is not the best.
Location: The location is excellent, in Michigan street. From there you can/must walk a few blocks with plenty of options for dining and amusement.
Historic hotel, which best years passed some decades ago. Even when several renovations and refurbishing have been made, you can notice the passed time in every corner. The attitude of the people in the front desk is impersonal and far from kind. Cleaning of the rooms is excellent. New carpet in the alleys and in the rooms, but still the doors and furniture remind us how old this place is. Elevator works fine and fast. Restaurant is just OK. Parking is very expensive as it is in all downtown Chicago, so be prepared. Some restaurants around, but not many. The beds are little hard, but the sheets are immaculate which is an unexpected plus. Safe in the room OK, bathroom facilities are not very fancy, but operate well, and the area is roomy. Expect no more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by shaq, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time for deatiled feed back .