Ratings based on 1,496 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Ick

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The staff were very nice.
Cons: They need to look at a more efficient cleaning staff.
The table was so sticky we had to clean it before using it. There was no remote for the television and the room smelled like stale cigarettes. I dropped a piece of paper on the floor and when I went to pick it up I noticed nail clippings all over the floor as well as multiple pieces of dried up food. The pool was clean but there were ants all over the tables. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We are sorry for the lack of overall cleanliness during your stay. We have taken the proper steps to make sure this does not occur again.We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Ideally located for different food options

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Was a business trip. Ideally located for different food options and close to O'Hare airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible. Would not recommend!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We were staying for 2 night. Thankfully we were spending most of our time away from the hotel. Our room had a bad odor. Our shower door would not stay shut, which resulted in our bathroom floor being flooded every time someone showered. The hot tub was drained and out of order. The hotel is currently under some sort of construction that is separated by nothing more than a bed sheet. At breakfast the hot food was fine, but I was scared to eat it after I noticed rotten apples in the fruit bowl. I would not say here again or recommend it to anyone else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We apologize that you were not pleased with the condition of the hotel during your stay due to the renovation. Also, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with the accommodations/ cleanliness of your room at that time, such as the bathroom amenities. Moreover, we regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. This is not the kind of experience we wan tour valued guests to have. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. We will make sure that your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management for further actions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Excellent value vis a vis quality, location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Value for the quality, location
Cons: Maybe extend the breakfast one hour for sleep in travelers, those not on early to rise schedule
Location: Choice of excellent restaurants like PAPS or Kampai, !/2 block N & S. Metra train 15 min to Bensenville
Since last stay over a year ago, noticed hotel has been upgrading facilities, morning breakfast options. Room was comfortable, clean, quiet and kept spot on refreshed by a friendly service staff every morning. Given the excellent value for such a central location near the expressway, trains, bus line, air port, and restaurants, will definitely rank among first choices every trip I make to Chicago area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Feb 16, 2017
old carpet smells like old yellow both chlorine baths
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Selma, IN

Close to airport

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: everything was great
Location: awesome that is was near eatery's for the night before.... within walking distance
Loved the accommodations... we were flying out early the next day and they even opened the breakfast early. Recently remodeled. Easy to get to airport. Very friendly staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Manager is good hotel not so much

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I picked this hotel for my 4 day stay because it rated very highly on cleanliness. After a 7 hour drive and unpacking my husband and our son get ready for bed. Pull down the duvet and little black hairs all over both beds and all 8 pillowcases. I call the front desk and was told no other rooms available and no housekeeping staff. I ended up changing all of the linens myself so much fun after driving all day. The manager was very apologetic and did give me a 50% discount on our first night. There is no microwave or mini fridge in the room. Our second to last day there regardless of the do not disturb sign on our door housekeeping came in and cleaned the room. They put the duvets back on the bed which made me angry as those are rarely cleaned. Breakfast was really gross too. Not somewhere I would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We have brought your this to the housekeeping supervisor's attention and she is making sure that this does not occur again. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Should you have any concerns during or after your stay, please reach out to any of our employees directly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Perfect weekend getaway with the family.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The staff was excellent! They went above and beyond for myself and my family. The cleaning staff was excellent and friendly. The Jacuzzi was under construction though, however we had one in our room. Everything was wonderful including the breakfast and the round the clock coffee bar. Thank you for everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deltona, Fl.

Nice hotel close to the expressway.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Very good breakfast and clean
Cons: They need A refrigerator and microwave
Location: Was not there long enough to look over location
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were big and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but dumpy

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The staff was very nice.
Cons: This hotel needs to be renovated or deeply cleaned.
Location: Lou Malnati's delivery zone, Mitsuwa, near ORD (free airport shuttle)
This hotel is overpriced for what you get. Its very old and needs a total renovation, if not a deep deep cleaning. However, we were looking for a hotel to stay one night between flights. There is a free airport shuttle that runs every hour. It is in the delivery zone for Lou Malnati's pizza. It is free from bed bugs on the bed bug registry. We did not have any problems with critters. And there was pool so we had something to do with our kid to kill the time. So it was not the worst stay in the world. It was just the dumpiest hotel we have stayed in for quite some time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by tsullivan@carlsonrezidor.com, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.