Ratings based on 634 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Review

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Reserved the hotel through Expedia, only to find that either Expedia or DeWitt dropped the ball. No reservation when we got there. Were able to get the room at the same price, no harm no foul. Could have had a different outcome tho.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NWSuburbs

Nice place, close to great shopping.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very nice staff. Close to Fantastic shopping, beach, historical sites. Good value and comfortable! Kitchen fully equipt for extended stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Jeffrey Kramer, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Geri, Thank you very much for the feedback you provided regarding your stay. I am happy that you enjoyed the location and full kitchen in the guest room. I hope you will consider staying with us again and we will do our best to ensure you have a great experience. Sincerely, Jeffrey Kramer General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

disappointing hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: locations friendly staff
Cons: physical conditions of hotel
Location: well located near lots of tourist attractions.
I found this hotel dirty, dilapidated and in dire need of an overhaul. When I walked barefoot in my room, the soles of my feet were filthy. The linoleum(supposed to look like hardwood) was torn. The bed was horrible. When I asked to change rooms, I was advised all the beds in the hotel were the same. The room was very dark, with one overheard light(missing one bulb)and one small table lamp. I think the hotel was overpriced for the conditions it presented. The only redeeming quality was the new bathroom in the lobby. As well, the staff was helpful. I would not recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Jeffrey Kramer, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, I am so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. I apologize that your room was not cleaned properly and the bed was uncomfortable. We our doing our best to make changes as needed prior to our total renovation next year so we appreciate the feedback, we will use it to improve our guests' experience. Sincerely, Jeffrey Kramer General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Floor was sticky, talked to the front desk said they would get someone to clean it but never happened. Old old old building and TINY bathroom. Location is OKAY if you are mainly going for the beach and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Jeffrey Kramer, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I am so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. I apologize that your room was not cleaned properly and the floors were sticky. We hope to have an opportunity to recoup your confidence in us. Thank you again for the feedback so we may use it to improve our guests' experience. Sincerely, Jeffrey Kramer General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice great location.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Great only complaint watch your step going into bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Jeffrey Kramer, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your kind words. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Jeffrey Kramer General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Functional but dirty

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Functional and decent location but dirty, poor/no personnel service, old, and uncomfortable bed. They didn't take out the previous visitor's trash, there were some stray pubic hairs on the toilet, and there were uncleaned lipstick marks on some of the glasses. WiFi was spotty and inconsistent. While the staff I interacted with were nice, my wife had a terrible check in experience, including the fact that she was 8.5 months pregnant with a 2 year old and the gentleman at the front didn't have the decency to help her lift heavy luggage into the cart or move it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Jeffrey Kramer, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I am so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. I apologize that our staff was not helpful at check in with your wife and the room was not clean properly. We hope to have an opportunity to recoup your confidence in us. Thank you again for the feedback so we may use it to improve our guests' experience. Sincerely, Jeffrey Kramer General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heredia, Costa Rica

Great location!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The hotel is perfectly located near to a lot of attractions and at walking distance to shopping stores, restaurants, public transportation.
Cons: Ensure there are no water leaks in bathroom and during check-in, ensure customers are aware of charges for packages being delivered to the hotel.
Location: Navy Pier, 360 observation deck, shopping malls, river walk, restaurants, museums.
This hotel is perfectly located in downtown, near to may attractions in the city, walking distance to nice restaurants, shopping malls, bus stops and metro stations. Breakfast is not included, but they have coffee in the lobby. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are very nice places to go for breakfast, lunch or dinner just around the corner. If your looking for a place to sleep, take a shower and have access to the city, this hotel might be a good choice. One thing to notice is that they will charge you if you ship more than four packages to the hotel and keep in mind that this is an old building, but the room was clean, though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Jeffrey Kramer, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Randall, Thank you very much for the feedback you provided regarding your stay. I am happy that you enjoyed the location. I apologize that you were unaware of the shipping fees and you had some water leaks in the bathroom, we will look into this. I hope you will consider staying with us again and we will do our best to ensure you have a great experience. Sincerely, Jeffrey Kramer General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Exceeded our expections

Posted Jun 22, 2017
PROS- Very close walking distance to many tourist attractions, bus stops, shopping, and even Walgreens (for convenience items like food & snacks, drinks, personal hygiene items, etc.) Everything was clean, modern (Ikea furniture) and in working condition; you would never guess this hotel was built in 1924! No pitter-patter of footsteps from the neighbors above, no voices or laughter echoing throughout the hallways, and no doors heard being slammed from the room next door. Nestled on a quiet street, you will not be bothered by rowdy tourists walking during the night (our window was facing Dewitt Place). What once was an apartment building has now been converted to a "hotel & suites", so you have all the amenities from a full service kitchen in your room (including cookware, silverware, dishes, and soap & sponge), to a fitness room complete with private bathroom & shower/steambath, and a guest lounge which offers complimentary water and coffee throughout the day. The staff is like no other! Here you are treated like you are a friend, not just a guest. They are polite and always smiling, ready to assist in whatever you need. CONS- Slow internet (but you're not here to sit in your room all day and watch Netflix! So get out there and enjoy Chicago!!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Dear Tony Jae, Thank you for your kind words. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Jeffrey Kramer General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Very loud window AC unit. Cleanliness could be better. BUT, you can see the lake from the room I was in. Easy walk to magnificent mile. a block from john hancock and their 96th floor bar (free to go up there). Would stay there again if I needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Jeffrey Kramer, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the feedback you provided regarding your stay. I am happy that you enjoyed the location. I apologize that the bathroom and facilities are outdated. We will be making a lot of changes this next year with our new ownership including a full multi million dollar renovation within 2018. I hope you will come back and see us soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Nice place to stay

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The proximity to so many things.
Location: Navy Pier, bus routes, shopping, the Hancock Building, Lake Michigan
Nothing fancy, just a good place to stay for a reasonable price. It is right off the Magnificent Mile and walking distance to Navy Pier and many other things.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Jeffrey Kramer, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, This is such a wonderful review to read. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Jeffrey Kramer General Manager