Ratings based on 1,578 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Loved the cleaness and great atmosphere everyone was very nice and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Embassy Suites , Hotel Management
Good afternoon and thank you for your kind comment. We are happy to know that from the lobby to your suite that our hotel provided you with a great atmosphere and that our staff could help accommodate you! Thank you again for this wonderful comment!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel and great breakfast

Posted Jan 3, 2017
We loved this hotel! Excellent location, clean rooms, great views of the city and great breakfast. The only 2 problems I had was the mandatory $90 per night deposit that wasn't stated when booking and the parking for the hotel which is not in the parking garage attached to the hotel but a parking garage across the street which was also not stated when booking. Not being from Chicago and being my first time staying at this hotel, I parked in the parking garage attached to the hotel. At check in is when I found out that I parked in the wrong parking garage and I would get charged $45 a night. I was then informed on the correct parking garage but when leaving the incorrect parking garage, I was charged $23 just for parking there for 20 mins when I checked in and took my bags to the room...so although the hotel was very nice, where to park and the $90 per night deposit should be stated when booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Embassy Suites , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in regards to your most recent stay. We understand that there are many options when selecting a hotel in downtown Chicago and we are very appreciative that you chose to stay with us. It is our goal to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable experience during their stay. Should your travels bring you back to Chicago please allow us another chance to provide the experience you have come to expect from the Embassy Suites Downtown Magnificent Mile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but loud

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Hotel staff was excellent. Very noisy at night. Walls of rooms seemed very thin and made it hard to sleep at times. Also vents in room allowed noise from other rooms to travel through them. This also made it hard to sleep. Otherwise, great location. Easy walk to Navy Pier and any area of Michigan Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Embassy Suites , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for writing a review in regards to your most recent stay with us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We would like to apologize that you were unable to have a restful nights sleep during your time with us. We hope that when you travel back to Chicago you will consider choosing us again, we see that you enjoyed our location very much for all your traveling needs. Until next time take care!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Comfortable Clean Excellent Location Good Food. The only problem is the parking rate $43 daily its too expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Embassy Suites , Hotel Management
Good morning and thank you for your most recent review in regards to your reservation. We're glad you choose the Embassy Suites Downtown/Magnificent Mile and we're happy to have you as our guest. Next time your travels bring you back to Chicago please be advised that the hotel does offer discounted parking located at Ogden Plaza. Ogden Plaza is located one block south of our hotel at 300 E. North Water Street. It's $37 per/night with in/out privileges. Just take your ticket that you received from the garage to the front desk and we will validate it for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

A great Chicago location for families.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: If you are going to charge for internet, it needs to not be terrible. This applies to basically 90% of hotels in US cities.
Location: great location - near Navy Pier and Michigan Ave but with less crowds.
We have stayed at this hotel probably 5 times in past 10 years, most recently this week. It is usually our first choice in Chicago with some other suite hotels also on our list. Pros - I love the skylobby setup with lobby being 5 stories up. It just makes it more quiet and isolated from the city. Also, in the dead of winter it is very nice as there is not a stream of cold air coming in. Basically this lobby and atrium are the same in summer as winter. Rooms are nice for families. Free breakfast is also nice for families, with the caveat that it is a cutthroat free for all trying to get a table and very middle of the road food. But it can save a lot of money. Pool is nice, but like many hotels it is about 100 degrees inside the room. The internet, even with the upgraded $15/day premium is terrible, but that is sadly just the norm in US hotels. 3MB is normal with the upgraded plan. Self park is in concept only - it has been full 100% of the times we have gone there and every time I look at any hour - so if you think you will save a few buck, you will not. You will valet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Embassy Suites , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that the premium wi-fi purchase was not to your liking. We understand that there are many options when selecting a hotel in downtown Chicago and we are very appreciative that you chose to stay with us. It is our goal to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable experience during their stay. Should your travels bring you back to Chicago please allow us another chance to provide the experience you have come to expect from the Embassy Suites Downtown Magnificent Mile.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Found dirty underwear from the previous guest in my bathroom. Gross.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Embassy Suites , Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing impression we have made. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments for our housekeeping department to ensure that this does not happen again. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Christmas in Chicago

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Location and room size and inclusive breakfast.
Cons: Evening Reception not very good.
Location: Shopping close by, Navy Pier walking distance and AMC theater with bowling alley and video arcade there also.
Spent 5 nights at the Embassy Suites Magnificent Mile in Chicago over the Christmas holidays. Overall, the hotel was great. The rooms spacious, the breakfast choice wonderful, but the lines were very long and took a while to get through, probably due to holidays. There was not enough seating to accomodate all the travelers. Went once to the afternoon happy hour event, a guess I should not complain about free alcohol, but did not have what I usually drink (bloody mary) and the snacks were pitiful. The housekeeping staff were very nice as were the car attendents. The reception staff not as much. I would have expected better. Room clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Embassy Suites , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than you expected. We will be using your comments as a training opportunity to ensure we improve upon our standards and service levels during the holiday season. We hope you will give us another chance, so we can provide you with the services you deserve as our guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Perfect location for our needs and enjoyment.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Right away we were treated with respect. The staff was very nice. We received an immediate upgrade when our room was not ready. My only downfall was that the kids dominated the pool leaving little room for adult swimming. Great rooms and breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Embassy Suites , Hotel Management
Good morning! We appreciate your review on how we provided a good first impression right away. Happy to hear upon your arrival that our staff was able to make accommodations into a suite for you since the one you originally had was not ready. Next time you're in the Windy City we look forward to having you stay with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Michigan Avenue & the lake.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Staff was very helpful. Cleaning staff very friendly & accomodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Embassy Suites , Hotel Management
Good morning and thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that our hotel staff could help you out during your stay and that our housekeepers provided a clean suite to return too! Thank you again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but a lil rude

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Check out wAs a bite early. Breakfast was cold room service was expensive 10 bucks for ice cream
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Embassy Suites , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I'm extremely sorry to hear our services did not leave a good impression on your most recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will give us a second chance..