Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for large families.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great hotel for large families. We had a family of 6 and we all fir comfortably. With a suite there were 2 TVs so there wasn't fighting over a station. It was also a very quiet room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommend but beware--Huge renovations

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Free Breakfast!
We had a spacious renovated room. However hotel is undergoing massive renovations. Entire Floors are under construction including lobby. Breakfast is great. One of the main reasons we stay at embassy suites. We travel as a family of five and free breakfast is worthwhile. One negative-beautiful renovated room but still no exhaust fan in bathroom. Who designs this? It's a necessary, missing feature in Hampton inns and embassy suites. Why? It's like a sauna in there after a shower w/o Windows. What are they thinking?
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoy our wonderful cooked to order breakfast and our newly renovated suites. I do apologize though for the renovation taking place as I know it can be challenging. I would like to assure you that your concerns about the exhaust in our bathrooms has been passed on to our Engineering department. Thank you again for your comments and I do hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

The visit became increasingly frustrating

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel itself is a mess because of construction: dust to inhale everywhere, make shift walls, front desk, entry way and eating areas. The morning breakfast line took 45 minutes to get through the omelette line and another 45 plus minutes to get through the buffet line. Gave up and bought breakfast somewhere else. Bathrooms had peeling paint and I could hear the conversations/tv of my neighbors. Truly was one of the worst experiences in a hotel. Either stay another embassy or wait until they are done with construction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by Sarah Lewis Director of Operations, Hotel Management
We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. We have been working very hard to make this renovation as easy on our guests as possible. We understand that construction can be a frustrating time and we appreciate your patience as we work to improve our hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peoria, Il

Needs improvement

Posted Jul 11, 2016
First thing I'm asked is to sign a form not to have a pool party yet my kids couldn't swim because what seemed like a pool party was going on. When they got in the pool they were looked at as if they were not allowed to be there. They felt uncomfortable and went back to the room. From 10 pm til around 2am the lobby area and some of the people on the floors were so loud that we could not sleep. We were not asked upon checkout how things were so I was not able to share with them our horrible experience. We will not come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by Sarah Lewis, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your candid feedback. Each weekend, we employ additional security staff to patrol our lobby, halls and parking lot to ensure the safety and satisfaction of all guests. I have shared your comments with our security staff to help improve their approach on weekends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safe and convenient location

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Hotel provides free shuttle to Metra train to ride into the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2016 by Sarah L, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We hope you had a great time in our city
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle Wa.

Terrible Room Cleaniness

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: That it was close to the job site.
Cons: Having clean towels in the room.
Location: The location was nice and had a really good restaurant next door.
I have been traveling for work for the past 10 years and this is the first time I have encountered something like this. One of the towels in the bathroom had feces and blood. Not something you would like to had picked up after taking a nice shower before going to bed. This experience will take awhile to get over as for the rest of my trip I doubled and tripled checked all the towels at every hotel I stayed at. This was a big disappointment as i had stayed at this hotel for my previous work trip to this area. I will never stay at this hotel again and I will be out to this area again in a few months.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2016 by Sarah L, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review out hotel. I am so sorry that you experience with anything but exceptional. We pride ourselves on a service oriented staff and clean and comfortable accommodations. This is certainly not a typical representation of our hotel and I truly hope that you will give us another chance to WOW you in the future. We are in the process of a renovation a hope you will check out the new and improved product.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IA

Dirty and poor food

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Jacuzzi had a black film over the water. Food was very poor more like a 2 star hotel with continental breakfast. Staff at check in was rude and during happy hour. The bathroom in the room was dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2016 by David D, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting a review and letting us know of your experience. None of the things you described are typical of our hotel or our staff. Please let me apologize for any disappointments you experienced and I hope you'll give us another chance if you are in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

should have paid more attention to recent reviews

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: staff
Location: Go to Claim Jumpers!
I should have paid more attention to the previous reviews of this hotel. My wife and I used to go here a lot for a weekend getaway to relax - but never again. The hotel is close to a lot of shopping and many activities. The check in was pleasant and hotel staff were friendly. Room was clean. Everything seemed the same as we always had before. But then things changed. We noticed a LOT of kids running the halls. It was very noisy but we thought it might be a convention or event going on. However nothing seemed organized and the adults just didn't care - just a bunch of kids out of control. You need to wait longer to get an elevator - Kids jammed in elevators stopping on each floor. Don't even think of swimming before "adult" hours - Kids load the pool and hot tub. Sleep before 1am is useless as the kids are still running and screaming without supervision. Wake to cooked to order breakfast? LOL kids to adult ratio is 6 to 1, butt in line, etc - expect to stand in line for 45 minutes if you want something hot. IT WAS SO BAD WE LEFT ONE NIGHT EARLY AND WE WILL NEVER BE BACK TO THIS HOTEL AGAIN. It is evident that this hotel has been taken over by the locals where it is common knowledge that this is where to take your kids for the weekend. (we picked that up from riding in the elevators) Read the other reviews - STAY AWAY!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry that your experience was anything but exceptional this time. We tend to attract large families to the hotel on weekends because of our complimentary breakfast, evening reception and indoor pool. For this reason, we employ additional security and management staff to help maintain an enjoyable environment. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future, since this is certainly not a typical occurrence for us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from davenport

awful

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: Millers Alehouse was the only thing within walking distance
SO I walk in - after waiting 30 minutes to check in - I see signs all over that say "absolutely no hotel parties" these signs are ALL OVER so I am like "here we go" - if its posted it must be a problem, not only was it a problem it wasn't addressed. This place scary - It was awful - they had free drinks from 5-7, no thanks and free breakfast, went down for orange juice - this place was a trashed. Pool had literally 45 kids running around in and out. 5 AM wake call to rap music that had to have awaken the entire hotel even myself after a late night, but NOPE - it stayed on until I left at 11AM! What a nightmare. Staff was just as bad. The room was nice but if you plan on leaving your room look elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
I want to sincerely apologize for your experience over the weekend of your stay. Our weekends do tend to be busy, especially on Saturdays, which is why we employ additional personnel to help with the crowds. I am sorry for the noise and condition of pool you experienced, but I hope that this did not ruin your otherwise pleasant experience. Most of all though, I want to thank you for staying with us at Embassy Suites Lombard and I hope you will continue to stay with our family of brands. Your loyalty to Embassy and the Hilton Family of hotels continues to make us the first choice among world travelers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dacula GA

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The garden atrium area was very pretty.
Cons: Inconvenient when you park in the back and there is no way to enter building there.
Location: Good location to the interstate and quick to the airport
Gentleman who checked us in was very helpful. There was a large group there (girls group of young tweens) and it was very noisy when we got there around 9:00pm. I asked him if he had a room that was somewhat away from all that since we wanted to rest as we had a long day. He did and it was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2016 by Sarah Lewis, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy that our front desk staff was able to take care of your needs and assist in getting you a room that met your needs. Thank you for your valuable comments and for your business. We hope to host you again soon