Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: The kitchenette was nice to have. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Cons: There were dirt clods in the hallway for three days that didn't get vacuumed. The pan they gave me had burned plastic on the outside and wasn't very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to see you valued the fully equipped kitchen in your room, but disappointed there were multiple cleaning issues which have been addressed to our staff. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good place to stay

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Good and very clean. Great coffee!!! Room was comfortable good location.
Cons: Not a thing Only problem was finding it. Location was a bit out of the way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your feedback is important. Thank you for sharing. It is good to see you really liked the coffee we provided ad well as the clean, comfortable accommodations. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Amazing Hotel to stay at!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Everything! The room and breakfast especially.
Cons: Maybe the A/C settings, it turns off pretty quickly and requires you to manually start it again.
Location: Schaumburg is about 40 mins to an hour outside of Chicago, the city of Schamburg is nice - great local food!
Great hotel, polite and pleasant staff. The breakfast provided was amazing! Great variety of food and it was nice that there was a whole section reserved for breakfast with great seats and food options. The room was simply amazing, very spacious and comfortable and it was beautiful. The A/C, televisions, bed, space, kitchen, safe in the closet, and the bathroom were all exceptional. Hotel was quiet and quaint, my boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I am more than pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and favored the room and the amenities that came with it such as the fully equipped kitchen and spaciousness of the room. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly and Burnmarks

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Cons: Odor
I could not follow-through on my stay at this hotel. I chose to leave due to the terrible conditions. Luckily American Express helped to get us out of our reservation. I will never use expedia again!! And, of course, I would never choose Extended Stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Extended Stay America Schaumburg I90. I am sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience that you did not feel we could accommodate you by moving you to another room. Please be assured that this is not the type of experience that we strive for and we will look to make sure the room you were in was cleaned appropriately after your stay. Thank you again for the review and I hope that you will give Extended Stay America an opportunity to show you that this is not a normal experience we provide.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

OK for my one night stay

Posted Nov 10, 2015
I had never stayed at an Extended Stay before it was OK. Big room, clean nothing fancy very limited breakfast priced right and OK for one night
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to exceed your expectations. Still, I am glad to read that we were able to accommodate your needs with a satisfactory stay overall. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Schaumburg IL

Not staying here again

Posted Oct 31, 2015
If you like cold showers and boogers on the walls then this is the place for you! My first room had a shower that went from warm to ice cold over and over so I requested another room. The second room had snot on the walls by the entry door and window, three of the tiniest and most useless pillows I've ever seen and a shower that was slightly warmer than the other with a tub that barely drained. Walking down the hallway all you could smell was curry. The "breakfast" was tiny prepackaged muffins. And $2 water bottles in the vending machine?? Seriously?
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for the room conditions you experienced. To uphold our company’s high standards, I will be reviewing our cleaning and room inspection procedures with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bradley Beach, NJ

Only stay if it's your last possible option

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: absolutely nothing.
Cons: new linens, new staff
I travel to Schaumburg for business often and this trip, all my go-to hotels were booked, so I ended up here. For starters, I paid more for this room than I have ever paid for any hotel in the area, even the nicest ones. I arrived late due to my flight and the hotel door was locked. There was a hand-written sign on the front desk, telling me to call a specific number. I called, explained I needed to check in, and the woman hung up on me. I stood there for 10 minutes thinking she was going to open the door. Nothing. Called again. Again she hung up on me and failed to open the door. Finally, a guest let me in. The woman was sitting in the office behind the front desk the whole time, and appeared extremely annoyed with me...for wanting to check in. Instead of greeting me, she says "what do you need?" This pretty much set the tone for this hotel. The rooms are dated. The "fully-equipped" kitchen did not have a single utensil or even as much as a paper towel. The bed linens were clearly from the 90s, uncomfortable and stained from use. The bathroom towels were sandpaper and also at least a decade old. I couldn't get out of there fast enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. The check-in experience you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To uphold our company’s high standards, I will be retraining our night staff on our check-in procedures to prevent your experience from happening again. Additionally, while we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items are available at the front desk for no additional fee. I will be coaching our staff to ensure we are clearly communicating our amenities during guest arrivals. I really appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate place to stay if no other options

Posted Jul 19, 2015
The room was adequate but the level of service was disappointing. No room cleaning for stays of under a week--we stayed six days and had to trudge down to the front desk to get additional toilet paper and soap. Our room was missing bedspreads and a hair dryer--staff eventually brought them when the missing items were brought to their attention. Several phone calls to the front desk went unanswered. For the price--no cheaper than other options in the area--it wasn't worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the service issues you experienced. To uphold our company’s high standards, I will be making sure we are responding to guest requests in a timely manner as well as thoroughly inspecting rooms to make sure they are properly stocked. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit MI

Outskirts of Chicago

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Hotel was nice. Only issue was we had a late check-in and the sign said to call for late check-in and we had to call 4 times to be let in. Other than that it was a great stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Room smelled like old food

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Room smelled like old food. Window wouldn't shut. The refrigerator did not work but the freezer did so that that was weird.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you had cleanliness and maintenance issues in your room. In response to your feedback, I am making sure that our staff is reporting any issues with windows and refrigerators directly to me as well as making sure they are getting any odors out of the room. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.