Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sturgeon Bay

a little variable, recommend with cautions

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: location, price
Cons: front desk help (and customer service training) ie: Will you want coffee, utensils, cup today?..... would have made a nice impression. turn AC on!
Location: Oakbrook mall, Fidelity, all the suburban sprawl stores.
stayed 3 times in last few weeks, they were having some staffing issues so our room was not ready on arrival once. (VERY helpful/nice front desk) You have to ask for every kitchen item - coffee pot given had not been washed. Next time, room was "ready", but NO a/c on (it was 90) and not even a single paper cup in the room. In all three cases the vinyl floor was sticky. It's just not super customer service at checkin (except first visit) HOWEVER, the beds are very very comfortable, the location is great for our need, the expedia price was fair. The kind folks at Trader Joe's down the street gave me one paper coffee filter, and with their blend, good coffee was had. (DON"T even bother with the offered brand) SO, as long as you want a reasonable place to sleep, I think this is ok.... not great... but safe, and quiet, and easy on/off to hwy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Please know that we are sincerely sorry that we failed to communicate the amenities we offer at the hotel. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will make sure to follow up with all of our guests in an ample amount of time to make sure your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Less than expected

Posted Jul 30, 2016
At check in, the front desk person was unfriendly, even rude to those waiting to check in or check out. In the room, used plastic bottles filled with water were left in the refrigerator freezer, the lights beside the bed were burned out and the drain in the bathroom sink did not have a pop-up drain plug to allow water to be filled in the sink.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The front desk lack of customer service you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are retraining on our customer service and communication with guests. I also do apologize for the condition of the room you received during your stay. We strive to give every guest the best "home away from home" experience and I apologized we failed at this for you stay with us. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. . I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never come back

Posted Jul 25, 2016
As many customers wrote, the receptionist was working very very slow. It was frustrating. Even though we arrived on check in time (3PM), the receptionist told us that the 2 twin bed room was already full. We talked to a manager, then she gave us a deluxe king bed room. But the room had not finished to clean yet, so we were waiting for 30 minutes at the front. Finally, we could enter the room around 4PM, the bathroom was obviously not clean up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Experience

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
I am booking rooms over hotel.com from past 2 years, this is the 1st time I faced so much of issues due to this hotel. I am still not aware the reason behind the issues. My booking was for 2 people for 2 nights in 2 different rooms, it was clearly printed against each guest name still they refused to give another room as their inventory person did the entries wrongly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any confusion or inconvenience you experienced regarding the reservation bookings. To ensure that a situation like yours doesn't happen again, my team is has been coached to better properly handle third party bookings. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
3 out of 5
by Charlene from Oklahoma City

Pure honesty

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel isn't bad per se, it's just very dated. If they did some updates in the rooms and made a few little changes, the prices they charge would be justified. Good things: decent location, quiet neighborhood, not too far from the city. Annoying things: the wifi is pretty bad during the day, the rooms are dated, the bed was pretty darn bad, their version of a "continental breakfast" consists of low-grade muffins and coffee, and they make you check out at 11am and don't allow late check-outs. I called for an extension I was willing to pay for and they said no. I travel a lot, and that was a first. This place advertises dishes and cutlery for your room (they have kitchens), but none was supplied. In my opinion, all those things arent too bad, but more so inconveniences. That's all I have. But on a side note, James at the front desk is amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments about the location of our property as well as our friendly staff; however, we apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are going to take necessary steps to provide enhanced quality and service, especially in accommodating guest requests. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
2 out of 5
by Steven Montgomery from Chicago Westmont, Oak Brook, Illinois

Over booked

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Not good. Did not get the room I booked. Hotel was over booked. I ended up with a handicap room instead of the original room I booked. Will not use Extended Stay American again....
Comment from Hotel Management
by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you were not provided with the correct room type upon your arrival. I met with the staff, and we will closely monitor our room inventory and make sure we are accommodating guest requests whenever possible. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
1 out of 5
by Neil from Charlotte

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Must be honest. Horrible hotel . Dirty sheet with hair, toilet had feces stain all over it. Bad decision to stay it's a low low low price for a horrible room. The hotel stinks of cigarette smoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The room conditions you described are unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I will be retraining our housekeeping staff to ensure rooms are cleaned to our company’s high standards. I will also make sure we are thoroughly inspecting rooms prior to guest arrivals. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
4 out of 5
by John from Kansas City

quiet & relaxing Chicago Suburb

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice to go back to my Chicago Suburb Hotel after spend the day in Downtown Chicago. Westmont is quiet in comparison.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs with a quiet and relaxing stay! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2016
Old bedding, like from the 70s. Dirty and smelly. Good location. Lots of restaurants nearby. Poorly insulated room - could hear all rooms all around us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible hotel service. I booked through hotels.com and when I got to the hotel, the guy at desk said that the rooms were sold out. Then when customer service called him for a refund, the guy was nowhere to be found. Terrible service. Will not go to this location again.