Ratings based on 3,529 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Loved the location!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This location was perfect for us. An easy walk to restaurants and the beach. Also, a plus that a CVC pharmacy is right across the street for water, snacks, beer...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear JMC, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially the convenient location. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorchester, On

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We were unfortunate enough to have had some problems with check-in- assigned room already "fully occupied" didn't complain but obviously needed help. After brief conversation we were whisked to 33rd floor Ambassador Suite with views of both park (south) and Lake (east). Fabulous. That is how you deal with an unfortunate situation. Professional and gracious. I thank you.We had the BEST weekend in your city. I will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. Although your stay did not begin as smoothly as we would like, I am thrilled that we were able to recover and exceed your expectations. I hope you can come back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avella, PA

Nice Hotel for the Active Lifestyle

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The hotel offered free use of exercise clothing so the guests can use the trail system in the nearby parks. Also provided water and towels.
Cons: Nothing. The hotel met or exceeded my expectations.
Location: Hotel is adjacent to the local parks and trail system. Great for runners, walkers and bikers. A short walk from Michigan Ave shopping and eating.
The hotel complex is very modern. Everything at the hotel facility (rooms, lobby, restaurant, etc..) were new or recently remodeled. Room was large and comfortable. We never had to wait on the cleaning staff to make up the room. The beds were made and the rooms were cleaned by the time we got back from breakfast. Lobby staff was always helpful if you needed anything. Hotel is close to Chicago Parks. You are only a few hundred feet away from great running, walking and biking. Hotel offered free exercise clothes and running shoes for guest to use. The bellmen provided you with free towels and water when you returned from your workout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Todd, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the parks as well as running along Lake Michigan. A sunrise run along the lake is one of my favorite things to do in Chicago. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Perfect location! Great hotel. Will stay there again...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially the location and I look forward to welcoming you back again to Chicago again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
This hotel is in a great location, as we were able to hit all the touristy spots that we had planned to within 2 days. The hotel staff are very nice and the rooms very well kept and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay and were able to hit all the touristy spots within 2 days. I look forward to welcoming you back again to the Windy City again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

nice location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: comfortable and clean room
Cons: room was nor soundproof, we could at times clearly hear conversation in adjacent room. Charges for valet parking at $ 71 per day are very high.
Location: location near park was perfect
we enjoyed our stay in this hotel, especially the location, close to everything downtown
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Rolf, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found your guestroom to be clean and comfortable. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Excellent service

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The service at the hotel was top notch, particularly the doormen and concierge. The stay was overall excellent. The only drawback is the amenities do not include a microwave and charge a one-time fee on $40 for use of one! All of our leftover Chicago food went to waste :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Melissa, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the service to be top notch. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Very nice hotel close to Millenium and Grant parks

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We liked our hotel very much with the exception of 2 things. The cleanliness of our room. We've found stuff on the floor on both days we were there and some hair on the bathroom floor. And the furniture needs to be upgraded
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Carolin, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your feedback and I will have the director of Housekeeping inspect your guestroom thoroughly. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Beautiful hotel in the middle of everything.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This was my first time at the fairmont and I must say I was very pleased with everything! The room, the staff, location, cleanliness, restaurant all excellent! I couldn't sum up how much I enjoyed my stay with one word, they provided above and beyond excellence. I would definitely return here every time I come to Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Marche, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your comments especially above and beyond excellence, a truly lovely compliment. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Overpriced Hotel Not worth $$

Posted Jul 9, 2017
I brought this room to Expedia for two double beds and a City View I was told when I got there that they don't guarantee the room type through a third party lesson learned for $225 you don't even get WiFi and they want $30 a person for breakfast this hotel is way overpriced for an average room and an unwillingness to accommodate to give you the room that you booked and paid this high-dollar for very disappointed carpet and room was coming up and they want to charge you $10 for a bottle of water ridiculous
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Bird, Thank you for taking the time to post review Expedia. As you know from your conversations with my colleagues Joseph and Colleen, we are trying to work with you to meet your expectations. I appreciate your candor about your stay and I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations