Ratings based on 3,507 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great view with lots of room for one

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Room has lots of space with great view
Cons: Expecting customers to pay for TV has pros and cons. While hotel can earn more revenue, for those who have better technologies they would compare.
The hotel is close to the conference I was attending. I thought I have to take a cab to Hyatt to attend the MongoDB conference, but it turns out there is underground access just the next block. Hyatt is too large and needs time to find out where I am, but Fairmont, with the right size, does not add such anxiety to guests who spend only a couple of days in the city. On the other hand, room size of Fairmont is much larger than I expected (which probably is not a good thing to profitability from hotel's perspective).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Andy, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope your conference was succesful. I hope you can come back to Chicago again soon, maybe for pleasure next time. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Nice hotel, great location (centric)

Posted May 24, 2017
Good hotel, but furniture's a bit run down. Staff is super amicable and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Fred Pare , Hotel Management
Dear Alexandra, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially the friendly and helpful service. I appreciate your feedback on your guestroom. Comments like yours help us to know where we have opportunities for growth. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Hotel conveniently located downtown, close to Architectural Foundation boat tour, good for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be conveniently located to the attractions that you wanted to see. The Architectural Boat Cruise is amazing, I hope you liked it as much as I did. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Canada

Great location but dated, overpriced hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Our family stayed in two rooms on the Gold floor. As a Premier President's Club member, I have had many Fairmont Gold stays, and this was definitely our least favourite. Views from the rooms were lovely though & Chicago is a beautiful city - so the excellent location is a plus point! On the down side, the rooms are small and really dated - we had to change one room because it was noisy & dingy and the other had missing furniture. We paid a huge amount extra for the comfort of the Gold level & it's concierge, but there was no personal touch and we really weren't made to feel welcome at all. No one was particularly helpful even when enquiries were made to plan activities. There was nothing to say this was not a family-friendly hotel before we arrived, but we were made to feel uncomfortable for having young children with us. Finally, there is a nice spa with steam-room, fitness & treatment facilities but no swimming pool. This was a big disappointment for our kids. We won't be staying here again but it may be fine for older couples who like absolute quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am disappointed that your stay on Fairmont Gold did not live up to your expectations. I appreciate your feedback and I hope your travels bring you back to Chicago soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

good stay

Posted May 11, 2017
room was very spacious. nice facility. bed is comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay especially your guestroom accommodations. I agree, a good bed is the foundation of a great stay. I hope to welcome you back to Chicago again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted May 10, 2017
Excellent hotel. Great location. Close to Michigan Ave, but far enough to keep the noise level down.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel convenient to your 'must see' attractions. I hope to welcome you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Not What I Needed

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the park.
Cons: The general decor needs an update.
I desperately needed to remove myself from reality one weekend, so I looked for a hotel with a soaking tub to make a champagne bubble bath all the sweeter. Based on the description and pictures of a king room at The Fairmont, I was sold. Unfortunately, the tub didn't come close to what I was hoping for. Truly, my tub at home was better. In addition to breaking my world-weary heart, the bed frame was beat up (normal wear and tear, but I would expect more from a four star hotel) and the hallways noisy. I also booked a pedicure at the spa that was so bad my next pedicure tech asked me where I got it and why I didn't complain. Needless to say, my next staycation will take place at a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Kaitlin, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am so disappointed that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Our goal is to exceed every guests' expectations. I value your feedback. Comments like yours help us to grow to be that hotel. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Posted May 8, 2017
Perfect location close to Millinium Park . The staff was very nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and were able to wander through Millennium Park. Fairmont has a century long legacy of service and I am glad that you got a little taste of that history. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Spectacular stay at the Fairmont! Start to finish!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you can return to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, security and very clean
Location: excellent location
I was very pleased sin the moment I arrived until I made my check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Jeanne, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliments about the Fairmont Chicago Team. I hope to welcome you back to the Windy City again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations