Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Look, you get what you pay for...

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: cheap, close, convenient
Cons: nothing it's a hostel
Location: So much to do nearby...too many to list
All I wanted for me and my kid was to be close to the Copa America for one night and not pay $250 plus...It's a hostel and yes it was closer to a dorm than a hotel room, but again I wasn't looking for amenities, just a bed, toilet, and shower. I'm over 50 years old and I'd say the average age in the place was closer to 24 but it was a great teachable moment for my kid to show him how travelers all over the world can meet and experience life. Plus they has a modest breakfast buffet. The location is superb within easy walking distance to all the attractions in that area plus Chicago is easy to get around with the Metra red line anyway. We paid a little more for the private suite and had a bunk bed my kid loved it. Basically the private suite is a cluster of 4 private rooms that share one restroom, but the toilet and shower can be used in private. The sheets and bedding were clean as was the restroom. Our room was next to the loop train and yes we can hear it but if you travel all day and are tired trust me you won't hear a thing. Look, you get what you pay for and I'm easy. Would I take my wife here? No. But for a weekend with your 14 year old kid to watch a game at Soldier Field, heck yes!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Paul , Hotel Management
Tony: Happy we could be of assistance for accommodation. Thanks for the review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was a hostel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
This place was very nice for a hostel but the beds were worse than a college dorm
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
We try to maintain the property as nice and clean as possible. We are currently changing some of our beds and hopefully for your next visit you will be more comfortable. Thanks for the feedback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Best choice in downtown.

Posted May 12, 2016
Things were clean. The 8-bed room was not full the time i stayed so condition was ok. It might be a bit too crowded if fully occupied. Need to go to breakfast earlier. Many of the food were gone after 9am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear about the breakfast situation, I'll address with the staff. Our breakfast goes through 10:00am and even if you arrive later, we will accommodate you. Thanks for the review and pointing out this item.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hostel in Chicago

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great time at this hostel. Thank you....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for the opportunity to accommodate you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Better than I expected. Full kitchen, lounge, friendly people. Great place to stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review...
4 out of 5
by eduardo from Ciudad de México

Muy buena ubicaciòn

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Muy buena ubicación, pero sin estacionamiento
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We are currently working on a partnership for guest parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Very close to millennium park!

Posted Apr 21, 2016
I so much appreciate that this is non profit hostel to help traveler have a place to stay with decent price. There are 2 parking places nearby which when I was here, there were plenty of empty spots. The staff was excellent, breakfast was good, I love it that they have computer station, pool and ping pong table. The bathroom seems old, I was kind of scared to step on the shower floor without sandals. And I got itchy from the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review and for pointing out the areas for parking. We are trying new laundry detergents and this may be an unfortunate allergic reaction to the chemicals. Bathrooms are slowly been upgraded and will hopefully look better on your next trip. Thanks again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Urbana, IL

저렴하고, 위치좋은 호스텔

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: 침대마다 개인별 독서등, 전력공급장치(2구에 USB도 2구로 과도하게 충분함), 타월상태도 양호, 한번에 밀리는 시간을 감안하여 별도 샤워시설이 있는 점(다들 자는데 소리내야 할 때 미안하다면 공동샤워시설을 이용할수 있음), 미시간애비뉴 관광에 최적화된 위치
Cons: 룸정리를 매일 하시는 거 맞죠?제가 있을 때 뭔가 실수가 있었던 거겠죠?
Location: 위치는 아주, 매우 좋습니다. 몇발자국 나가면 밀레니엄 파크이고, 미술관도 있고, 빌딩 구경하면서 걷다보면 유람선 선착장도 나오며, 워터타워까지 죽 연결됩니다. 최고의 접근성을 가지고 있습니다.
8인실이었음에도 불구하고 이용객끼리 서로 조심하고 피해 안주려고 노력한다면 전혀 불편함이 없습니다. 2박을 하였는데, 호스텔 특성상 이용객이 계속 바뀌었어요. 그 중에는 눈살이 찌푸려지는 사람도 있었고, 서로 배려하며 따뜻하게 대화할 수 있는 사람도 있었고요. 시설 자체만 말한다면 아주 훌륭합니다. 다만, 2박째 방정리를 안하고 아침에 나온 그대로 침구가 방치되어 있었고, 타월도 새로 비치되지 않아서 의아했다는 것만 빼면요. 아, 그런데 어메니티가 너무 없습니다...일일이 다 챙겨가야 하는 게 불편했어요..샴푸, 린스, 샤워젤을 말이죠... 그렇지만 다음에 시카고를 방문한다면(혼자) 다시 이용할 생각이 있습니다. 잠은 정말 푹 잘수 있었어요. 이렇게 위치가 좋은 곳이 저렴하다는 것도 큰 장점입니다.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review
5 out of 5
by Yi-Lin from Taiwan

Fully Recommend

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
I visited Chicago many times and this time MUST be my BEST experience ever. The private room is big enough for three. The location is great (we went to magnificent mile, museums and every famous attractions by foot during our visit.) The shared bathroom is very clean and the breakfast is good. I cannot find any missing here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
Yi-Lin: Thanks for the recommendation and review.
5 out of 5
by jody from Minneapolis

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
We picked this hotel because it was close to a college we were visiting. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, all the rooms were very clean, beds were nice and comfortable and breakfast was good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thanks...