Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Best choice in downtown.

Posted May 12, 2016
Things were clean. The 8-bed room was not full the time i stayed so condition was ok. It might be a bit too crowded if fully occupied. Need to go to breakfast earlier. Many of the food were gone after 9am.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Better than I expected. Full kitchen, lounge, friendly people. Great place to stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Very close to millennium park!

Posted Apr 21, 2016
I so much appreciate that this is non profit hostel to help traveler have a place to stay with decent price. There are 2 parking places nearby which when I was here, there were plenty of empty spots. The staff was excellent, breakfast was good, I love it that they have computer station, pool and ping pong table. The bathroom seems old, I was kind of scared to step on the shower floor without sandals. And I got itchy from the bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Urbana, IL

저렴하고, 위치좋은 호스텔

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: 침대마다 개인별 독서등, 전력공급장치(2구에 USB도 2구로 과도하게 충분함), 타월상태도 양호, 한번에 밀리는 시간을 감안하여 별도 샤워시설이 있는 점(다들 자는데 소리내야 할 때 미안하다면 공동샤워시설을 이용할수 있음), 미시간애비뉴 관광에 최적화된 위치
Cons: 룸정리를 매일 하시는 거 맞죠?제가 있을 때 뭔가 실수가 있었던 거겠죠?
Location: 위치는 아주, 매우 좋습니다. 몇발자국 나가면 밀레니엄 파크이고, 미술관도 있고, 빌딩 구경하면서 걷다보면 유람선 선착장도 나오며, 워터타워까지 죽 연결됩니다. 최고의 접근성을 가지고 있습니다.
8인실이었음에도 불구하고 이용객끼리 서로 조심하고 피해 안주려고 노력한다면 전혀 불편함이 없습니다. 2박을 하였는데, 호스텔 특성상 이용객이 계속 바뀌었어요. 그 중에는 눈살이 찌푸려지는 사람도 있었고, 서로 배려하며 따뜻하게 대화할 수 있는 사람도 있었고요. 시설 자체만 말한다면 아주 훌륭합니다. 다만, 2박째 방정리를 안하고 아침에 나온 그대로 침구가 방치되어 있었고, 타월도 새로 비치되지 않아서 의아했다는 것만 빼면요. 아, 그런데 어메니티가 너무 없습니다...일일이 다 챙겨가야 하는 게 불편했어요..샴푸, 린스, 샤워젤을 말이죠... 그렇지만 다음에 시카고를 방문한다면(혼자) 다시 이용할 생각이 있습니다. 잠은 정말 푹 잘수 있었어요. 이렇게 위치가 좋은 곳이 저렴하다는 것도 큰 장점입니다.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016
it's quite clean and comfy, despite it's a shared room, but anything else has nothing to complain about
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: We had a private room on a floor with little noise. Could easily join in whenever.
Cons: There could be more variety in the breakfast.
The hostel was clean and the staff were friendly. The location was GREAT for downtown activities and sight seeing. There was lots of space to do your own thing, but also opportunities to get involved and meet new people. An affordable, pleasant stay in downtown Chicago!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hostel, GREAT location

Posted Mar 22, 2016
The HI Chicago is ideally situated in downtown Chicago - you can walk to a lot of great attractions, and there are several train stations really close by (for instance, Union Station is an easy 20-minute walk away, and Jackson is even closer). The atmosphere at the hostel was great, the staff was friendly, and the room was more spacious than I expected it would be, with large windows and clean bathroom facilities. I would definitely stay here again when I go back to Chicago. One last thing: I cannot recommend Cafecito downstairs highly enough. They have EXCELLENT sandwiches, and I swear I could live off their Cuban coffee.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to major tourist attraction.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Inexpensive, close to tourist spots, friendly hotel staff
Cons: Would be glad if they can improve room cleanliness.
Location: The Loop, The Art Institute of Chicago, the "L" train
Everything is perfect. Would be glad if they can improve room cleanliness.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Great hostel in heart of downtown Chicago

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Just about everything.
A cheerful place to stay, with friendly staff and visitors. The breakfasts are varied and good. The Hostel is close to most of the facilities one would like to visit amd also to the Loop, Subway and Busses. much more pleasnt than a normal hotel, which all to often I find depressing.
5 out of 5
by hary from Vaucresson, France

séjour agréable

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
une excellente impression, le staff était très pro, aucune surprise, hostel près de tous à pied....