Ratings based on 830 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice trip to Chicago

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Well located and the breakfast was great.
Cons: Air conditioner maintenance. We had to call the technician twice to get our AC up and running.
Overall experience at the hotel OK. The place was clean and staff very helpful. Air conditioner was a problem the two night we were there. We have to call twice and wait for the technician to come.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tennessee

convenient. Easy walk to beach, restaurants,etc

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Wonderful experience. Concierge very helpful. Staff very friendly. Would recommend. Easy walk to numerous places
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Fabulous front desk staff. Every time we went by the front desk, they were busy and always extremely pleasant to people.
Cons: Elevator operation needs serious work. The excuse of the hotel being fully booked doesn't fully explain the issue of the elevators.
Location: Centrally located to a lot of touristy things. Great location.
Front desk staff was wonderful. We were on the 19th floor and were only able to use the elevator one time during our 3 day stay. Repeatedly waited 20-30 minutes before opting to take the stairs. Room was very comfortable. Bathtub did not drain properly. Even when taking a very fast shower, the water was several inches about the ankle. Room was not cleaned the second day. Typically stay at Hampton Inns when travelling so was disheartened at our experience. I won't stay here next time I'm in Chicago.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good Hotel, Can't Go during Busy Time

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Hampton Inn has a reputation of being a very clean and well kept hotel for an affordable price. Although I am not terribly disappointed, I am not sure I will stay again. Our shower was pretty dirty, it was impossible to find someone to get extra towels, and most importantly you had to wait for an elevator for about 15 minutes each time you wanted to go down the lobby or back up to your room. The down button also didn't work, so we would have to go all the way up to the 40th floor to go down to the lobby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Friendly staff, clean rooms, great location and awesome pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel tres bien situé

Posted Aug 9, 2016
hotel tres bien situé (proche métro ligne rouge) et calme. Chambre propre et spacieuse. Petit déjeuner copieux.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Elevators the WORST!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Clean hotel. Attentive staff.
Cons: FIX THE ELEVATORS!!!!
Location: 1 block from Michigan Ave. Need I say more.
Stayed here over a very busy weekend in August. We usually don't stay here when we come to Chicago, but we like the Hamptons, so we thought we would give it a try. This is a nice hotel. It is clean. Nice staff. Well located. One HUGE PROBLEM! The elevators do not stop on floors when they are going down. If you are waiting to go down, you have to wait on an elevator that is going up. Then ride up to what ever floor the elevator has been called to, then you will go down to what ever floor you need to go to. Another words if you are on floor 14, and you need to go to the lobby, no elevator going down will stop for you. An elevator going up will stop for you, then take you up as far as it needs to, THEN will take you to the lobby. it will not stop on the way down on any floors. We waited in the hall, no lie, 25 minutes one time on Saturday. 20 minutes one time on Friday. We finally found out from an employee, that the elevators don't stop for people on their way down. Saturday and Sunday they had employees riding the elevators, with radios, to stop the elevators so people could get on. We wasted a lot of time waiting for these elevators. They told us nothing about the problem when we first got there. If you want a nice place to stay, go some where else, and spend your time in Chicago and not in the halls waiting on their elevators.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit, mi

Posted Jul 30, 2016
No complaints. Excellent location. Staff very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great rating, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Elevators could be improved but I don't see how you could add additional elevators, wait time was a little long some days.
Location: Central location close to everything.
Great place to stay, close to shops, restaurants and a 14 min walk to the beach. Would stay here again. 10 out of 10 overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great rating, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

WILL DEFINITELY BOOK BACK WITH HAMPTON INN

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Spacious and comfortable room. Had amenities available in the lobby, staff was courteous and porter's were acc
Cons: Not that I can think of.
Location: Minutes from shopping and coffee shops. You're in the heart of downtown so most places were in walking distance.
No complaints. I will book back with Hampton when I return to Chicago.