Ratings based on 819 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Adequate Accomodations

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: We were there to visit our son and watch our grandson play soccer. The hotel location was about three miles from the park, so perfect.
The hotel is older but well maintained. Our room and bathroom were clean. The hotel has wifi and free parking. The room lacked the usual amenities like a coffee maker and a hair dryer. There was soap in the bathroom but no shampoo or lotion. I am not complaining, just want people to be prepared. As the name indicates, it is in the middle of the City on a busy street. We were concerned that it may be too noisy but it didn't bother us at all. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. The continental breakfast was simple but adequate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: good access to public transport and take away, breakfast included was simple but ok
Cons: beds uncomfortable pillows were flat and lot of traffic nose day and night
Location: good takeaway and public transport all within walking distant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Retro, Very Yellow

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Price and location were the main reasons we stayed here. It was clean. The beds were fine for sleeping on.
This is an old motel with the original fixtures. Ours had yellow everything in the bathroom. The room key was an actual key. We went to Chicago for a concert at the Aragon ballroom and this hotel was fairly close to that, which was what we wanted, while still being budget friendly. We went on our trip with an attitude that we were going to have an adventure and this motel certainly played into that. I would stay there again if I had to be in that part of Chicago.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Worst place ever. Terribly unfriendly staff.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
When I checked in the guy in front desk didn't even try to stand front and speak to me. They claim continental breakfast, but it is just coffee and snacks. Very old building and AC is not working properly. No lotions or shower gel are offered, only cheap hand soaps.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cheap clean motel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: cost/cleanliness
Cons: shampoo would be nice, upgraded bedding
Location: 10$ uber to wrigleyville
great hotel for the cost, appeared clean, didn't try the free breakfast, free patrking
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A step back in time.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
It's a MOTEL, people. So there's soap, but no shampoo or hair dryers. It still has the 1950-70's decor, but our room was clean, and the grounds were clean with no trash. We stayed just one night for a Cub game, and VERY convenient to catch the bus at the corner, and head down Clark to Wrigley. The front desk man, Javi, was also very helpful to us. It was great for the price and convenience. We would definitely stay again. If someone wants posh and frills, stay downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
I was visiting Northwestern University. It is close to campus and convenient. Decent hotel for the price! Friendly staff, free parking and continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

For bargain hunters

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Spotless room, mattress a little soft but slept well. Breakfast enough to get us going. Good, pleasant walk to Red Line. Museum quality TV set but who's gonna watch with so much to do outside?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Affordable hotel conveniently located

Posted Sep 1, 2016
I've stayed at Heart O'Chicago a couple times and it is my hotel of choice for staying in Chicago. Far enough out of the city that it doesn't cost a lot but close to the train to get downtown easily. Also close to several of the colleges in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great no frills Motel transports you back in time!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Everything! Location, comfort and price!
Cons: Cable for the TV. But not necessary.
Location: We got up and took the bus to Wrigleyville. We did not hang out in this neighborhood.
This place is great! Looks like a 1959 Motel that is as great as it was in 1959! Clean, comfortable and easy to get to where you want to go in the Heart of Chicago! The staff was great. The bed was comfortable. The shower was like a well maintained '59 Cadillac, full of power and solid!