Ratings based on 1,250 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel close to Northwestern campus

Posted Feb 24, 2017
If you need to visit Northwestern university campus in Evanston, this hotel is within walking distance. If you have a car, be prepared to pay for overnight parking. There is a cheaper option down the street in the garage. There was one minor issue with the room. We had handicap accessible room and for some reason there weren't enough shelves in the bathroom to put anything. Otherwise it's a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel and Fantastic Staff

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The hotel is centrally located within walking distance to Northwestern. The rooms were very comfortable, if on the small side, and the bathroom is only big enough to turn around in. If I'd been a big woman, I'd have been uncomfortable. Having said that, we ran out of hot water on the first morning of our stay, but without even asking, the staff took that night off our room. This is the kind of service that tells me I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Excellent service from the staff.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Old and dated bathroom; needs updating. The room smelled and the heater was loud and annoying. But the staff was caring and considerate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastern PA

Great location..right near Northwestern

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Front staff was friendly. Gym had nice quality machines. the room was well decorated and furnished with comfortable beds. Hotel was easily walkable to shops, restaurants, Northwestern, and the L.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great location!

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Especially good for those visiting Northwestern. Staff is great - valet particularly friendly. Close to anything you'll need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We enjoyed the Orrington very much. The location was great - only drawback was the small bathrooms. Staff was excellent!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is biggest plus.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Bistro, restaurant, fitness room, room (overall), location.
Cons: Breakfast should be included in the cost of the room; valet price ($23.00/day) is outrageous ... there should be discounted parking for hotel guests.
Location: Le Peep, Farmhouse, Davis St. subway station, Northwestern U.
First room was big and quiet but smelled like mold/mildew so I was moved to another room at the same rate that was about half the size. Luckily they discounted the cost of their (very expensive) valet parking as a courtesy. The second room was missing coffee so I had to get it from the lobby. But the most frustrating/upsetting incident was when housekeeping came into my room at 8:20 a.m. while I was in the bathroom! I was furious. The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to the subway, Northwestern U., shops and restaurants. They have a nice bistro bar and their restaurant, Farmhouse, is very good. Unfortunately Evanston isn't the bustling town it used to be and there are many empty store fronts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Great, except...

Posted Dec 21, 2016
The time to get a car from the parking lot takes too long. Made me 15 minutes late the first time I needed the car. From that point on I allowed extra time, but hotel needs to do a better job of informing travelers of this subject.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
No amenities included except low speed wireless- no breakfast incl with high room cost. Bedding & room decor not impressive. I've stayed there 3 times for the excellent proximity to Northwestern but 2 out of 3 times I stayed there the bathroom was airplane sized.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels