Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We enjoyed the Orrington very much. The location was great - only drawback was the small bathrooms. Staff was excellent!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is biggest plus.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Bistro, restaurant, fitness room, room (overall), location.
Cons: Breakfast should be included in the cost of the room; valet price ($23.00/day) is outrageous ... there should be discounted parking for hotel guests.
Location: Le Peep, Farmhouse, Davis St. subway station, Northwestern U.
First room was big and quiet but smelled like mold/mildew so I was moved to another room at the same rate that was about half the size. Luckily they discounted the cost of their (very expensive) valet parking as a courtesy. The second room was missing coffee so I had to get it from the lobby. But the most frustrating/upsetting incident was when housekeeping came into my room at 8:20 a.m. while I was in the bathroom! I was furious. The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to the subway, Northwestern U., shops and restaurants. They have a nice bistro bar and their restaurant, Farmhouse, is very good. Unfortunately Evanston isn't the bustling town it used to be and there are many empty store fronts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Great, except...

Posted Dec 21, 2016
The time to get a car from the parking lot takes too long. Made me 15 minutes late the first time I needed the car. From that point on I allowed extra time, but hotel needs to do a better job of informing travelers of this subject.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Didn't have the room I booked.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The room was clean, and staff was nice, however wouldn't work with me.
Cons: My room was not the room I requested. I ordered a king size bed and got two twin sized beds in return.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and things to do nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Great location. Close to Northwestern University and also the L. Hotel was excellent.
Cons: The only thing bad about our entire visit was the view! We were right over all of the air-conditioning equipment etc. it was pretty ugly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good location, adequate hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Only place available for that weekend.
Location: Since it is located near downtown and Northwestern, there are many good restaurants, such as Clarke's for a great breakfast and Barcelona Tapas.
This Hilton has been here for awhile and is in need of refurbishing. The restaurant was empty when we returned on a Saturday night but we couldn't find anything else nearby for a party of 6 so we tried it. The service was good but the food was mediocre. Our room was adequate but could have been more thoroughly cleaned. The bathroom was tiny with no room for toiletries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's alright but nothing to get excited about

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Good location in the centre of Evanston and close to shops and restaurants
Hotel is ok and the location is good. The rooms are a bit tired and could do with updating. Room service burger is excellent! Front desk staff could do with some service training.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star hotel.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
We booked a room with a king bed and a view. We got one double bed for 2 adults and no view. The sheets were clean but the carpet was stained and baseboards were dirty. The tempurature in the room was either too warm or too cold. We were unable to sleep in a hard, uncomfortable bed with no air blowing or with freezing air blowing from the window unit. The valet staff did not have our car ready when we came down even though we gave them a 20 minute notice before getting our car. The ticket said to allow 15 minutes. They couldn't even find our car keys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga.

Nice hotel close to campus. Paying for location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
A nice stay. But I fell hotel was overrated. Rooms are smaller for the price you pay, especially the bathrooms. And no hook on the bathroom door. I like the little extras. Renovated older rooms. Though Libby and restaurants were very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with paper thin bedroom walls

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Most things.
Location: Fab location in the centre of Evanston with all itsbuzzing restaurants and very close to the beach.
I asked for a room with a view. I did get one but not the one I expected. I was given a room with windows at two sides of the back of the building. Just beneath the windows in both places were massive turbines. Not only did this make a terrible view but the noise from all of them was so loud it was impossible to sleep and left me with a bad headache. The staff were accommodating and changed the room for me the next day when I complained. On my second night in the new room I was kept awake by a couple loudly hanving sex. There was an interconnecting door to theirs and my bedroom and the noise carried straight through. They may as well have been in the same room for all that I heard. On the third night a man with a bad cough was in the room next to me and he coughed most of th night which meant yet another night without a decent sleep for me. You could hear voices talking in the next room. You could hear every time the toilet was flushed. I thought the bedrooms were drab. There was dirt on the skirting boards and the walls had marks on them. The windows were very dirty on the outside.