Ratings based on 1,272 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Fine. And Forgettable

Posted May 23, 2017
This hotel is fine. Rooms and general facilities decent and well maintained. Supposedly the most upscale but lacks any flair. Nuts and bolts service inside a fancy shell. At the risk of sounding like a snob, went in search of a Wall Street Journal or New York Times to read over breakfast. If you've seen what's left of The Chicago Tribune after Sam Zell gutted it, you'd understand. Any event, after searching high and low to no avail, the guy at the Front Desk told me people always ask but the Manager won't do it because it's a hassle. Go figure, too much a hassle for management to have a few out of town papers for out of town guests. The lobby is fine but dead dead dead. No energy in the place. Kind of sums up The Orrington "experience". Forgettable. Water comes out of the faucets, the toilets flush, and there are clean sheets on the bed. But, don't expect much beyond that. Hilton could do far better. Seems like they put their name on the place and immediately realized was a dead-end decision.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The gentlemen parking vehicles and opening doors - they were so courteous and made us feel special.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We loved that we were in walking distance of everything we needed. We parked the vehicle and walked to everything!
From the wonderful greeting, opening of doors, parking of vehicle, beautiful room, comfortable bed, to the help putting our bags in the vehicle to leave - it was perfect! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evanston

Thank You

Posted Apr 20, 2017
My grandmother passed away two days ago before our Stay. I wanted the opportunity to give my mom a different environment while in her time of need. Nicholas was amazing at the front desk. I can't thank him enough for his amazing service. He sent a sympathy card and provided excellent service. Thank you so much Nicholas, those small things went a long way for us. My family needed that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel steps from Northwestern

Posted Apr 12, 2017
My goal was to book a hotel that was within walking distance of Northwestern, for a recent college visit. I am so glad I booked the Hilton Orrington. The location was perfect for our needs. We had a short, beautiful walk to the campus, and were steps from a nice selection of restaurants and shops. Our room was clean, comfortable, and spacious, too. That said, an in-room microwave and safe, would be a nice touch, as would additional shelving in the bathroom--counter space is very limited. At times, I could also hear some of the street traffic from below, but nothing that would keep me from staying again at the Hilton Orrington the next time I am in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Posted Apr 9, 2017
I stay often at the Orrington Hilton for work & the staff is always welcoming & friendly & the rooms are kept nicely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Location: close to everything in Evanston. If you are visiting someone at Northwestern you are right next to the campus. Everything is within walking distance
The staff was very friendly. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miller wedding

Great experience

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Staff were very welcoming. valet staff was great and very helpful. Room was great, worth the price, we will definitely be back. Thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern Virginia

Each time my room seems to get worse

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Cons: See above.
Location: Everything is near by, basically. That's the main reason to stay at this hotel.
I've stayed at the Orrington several times as it's located close to my elderly parents and in the heart of Evanston. Each time I stay it seems like the room gets smaller and less appealing. This time around, the "closet" was the backside of an electrical storage room, with an immovable curtain for a door. There was maybe 10 inches of space between the end of the bed and the television stand and the bathroom was so small you nearly had to reach over the toilet to turn on the shower. And this was a "superior king room???" And of course there's the ridiculous cost for valet parking, which is basically required because Evanston prohibits parking in metered spaces between 3-6 a.m. every day. *SIGH*
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel close to Northwestern campus

Posted Feb 24, 2017
If you need to visit Northwestern university campus in Evanston, this hotel is within walking distance. If you have a car, be prepared to pay for overnight parking. There is a cheaper option down the street in the garage. There was one minor issue with the room. We had handicap accessible room and for some reason there weren't enough shelves in the bathroom to put anything. Otherwise it's a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
We were not offered water when we checked in, but the couple in front of us were.