Ratings based on 1,179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with paper thin bedroom walls

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Most things.
Location: Fab location in the centre of Evanston with all itsbuzzing restaurants and very close to the beach.
I asked for a room with a view. I did get one but not the one I expected. I was given a room with windows at two sides of the back of the building. Just beneath the windows in both places were massive turbines. Not only did this make a terrible view but the noise from all of them was so loud it was impossible to sleep and left me with a bad headache. The staff were accommodating and changed the room for me the next day when I complained. On my second night in the new room I was kept awake by a couple loudly hanving sex. There was an interconnecting door to theirs and my bedroom and the noise carried straight through. They may as well have been in the same room for all that I heard. On the third night a man with a bad cough was in the room next to me and he coughed most of th night which meant yet another night without a decent sleep for me. You could hear voices talking in the next room. You could hear every time the toilet was flushed. I thought the bedrooms were drab. There was dirt on the skirting boards and the walls had marks on them. The windows were very dirty on the outside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Nice Hotel but

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Clean
Cons: Bathroom sink too small in a very tight space too - not friendly to people with disability.
Location: no idea.
Metered parking on the street or be obligated to go for valet at $23 per day. No free breakfast. Wi-fi is for a fee, complimentary does not work. Rooms are very decent, beds are well kept, very clean. But the bathroom is so small, hard to accommodate you and a kid or you and a disabled child.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Very noisy... all night long in the summertime

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The close proximity to the downtown Evanston area was great. Plenty of great shops and restaurants within hundreds of feet from the front door.
Cons: Something should be done about the roar of the air conditioners on the west side of the building.
Location: The close proximity to the downtown Evanston area was great. Plenty of great shops and restaurants within hundreds of feet from the front door.
The rooms on the west side are constantly bombarded by the noise of the air conditioners for the main part of the hotel. When you add that noise to the need to run the AC in the room due to the sun exposure it was too noisy to relax and even too noisy to sleep. The room was clean but small. The building was old but well maintained. The staff was cheerful and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and a great location in Evanston.
Cons: The parking situation could be improved.
Location: Very vibrant neighborhood a block away. Lots of restaurants, a movie theater, Starbucks, Barnes & Noble. All are within walking distance.
I stayed here for two nights. It was a very pleasant experience. Comfortable room, if the bathroom was a bit small. Good food. Great neighborhood. Parking could be improved. I brought my ticket down to the valet after the first night and he asked if I had called down. I said, "No, was I supposed to?" He said its faster that way. It then took almost 15 minutes for me to get my car. The next morning I called down about 20 minutes before I was ready to leave. My car was there when I exited the hotel but I did have to wait a few minutes for the valet to return from helping another customer before I got my key. The latter situation was okay but I think they should let you know that you have to call down in advance to get your car when you want it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Community feel

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We loved the location and the surrounding shops. It was close to the L so we could hop on the train to downtown for more shopping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Really comfortable beds and beautiful decor.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: The decor, comfort of the rooms, and the lobby were lovely. Staff were very helpful.
Cons: Parking should be included for the price. And I think breakfast was a little overpriced.
Location: Tons of walkable shopping, great restaurants, grocery stores, lake nearby, etc.
We stayed one night and the staff were very kind and helpful. The room was very clean and the beds were like heaven. We slept very comfortably.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Nice place, nice hotel. Supersmall room

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Enjoyable, Relaxing, dinning good.. Perfecti for visitining Kellogg Scholl of Management. Walking distance, academic enviroment. Just a bit more room space would be desireble. Staff people never answer phone calls.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location close to downtown Evanston

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Great location. Rooms clean and spacious. Can walk to the Lake, Northwestern University, and many restaurants and shops
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to Chicago/2 blocks from Lake Michigan

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Lake Michigan and shops/restaurants nearby
This hotel is next to Northwestern, 2 blocks from the train station and 2 blocks from Lake Michigan. It is a great place to stay if you want to visit Chicago but not pay the high hotel rates. The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating especially the valets as my father has a wheelchair and they were very patient. There are plenty of restaurants and shops around plus you can walk over to the lake and enjoy the beach and water. I only gave the room comfort a 4 because the bathroom was small but the hotel was built in the 20's so it is older but has been renovated. My parents handicap accessible room had a shower and a sitting area as well as the bedroom and was quite spacious. It is a pet friendly hotel but you would never know except when you see the pets as there is no odor and the hotel is completely clean. I will definitely stay here again when I come back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Good clean hotel. Great location in Evanston

Posted Jun 29, 2016
The hotel is very clean and great staff. Location was very good as everything was around here and since we did not have a car it worked out well. Very close to Northwestern University