Ratings based on 1,612 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: ok
Cons: ok
Location: ok
ok...................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olathe, KS

Near Union Station and the L

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We checked in late on a weekday night and had no issues. Front staff was very friendly and knowledgeable on the area. We were there to explore the city and visit colleges for my son. My wife and I will return to this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good central hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Stayed there for one night on a business trip. Nice, modern hotel. Some 300 meters from the subway station that gets you to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

very convenient for a meeting at the Merchandise M

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, location
Cons: the bar could stay open a little later
Location: restaurants, the train
Only stayed overnight, but it was very convenient and clean. I will stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

gross and old rooms

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The water pressure is horrible, the toilet didn't flush, there was no view other than a brick wall full of other hotel rooms. The front desk didn't have my king room when I arrived so I had to take a double bed room. When I did complain the next day, the front desk was very sorry and acceptable. Because I booked through Expedia however, they could not do anything in terms of crediting me back anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Nice hotel and location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Nice hotel priced well. It is between several universities we were visiting. There's a lot of restaurants and shopping and close to public transportation. We've stayed there twice due to the convievient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by MartPlaza, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza’s central downtown location affords guests convenient access to public transportation, countless dining options, shopping, and of course, scenic skyline views all at a great value! Thank you for continuing to choose the Mart Plaza and we look forward to your next stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Perfect for my weekend trip

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Everyone was friendly and curious, the cityscape bar was great. I didn't want to leave
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by MartPlaza, Hotel Management
Dear Destinee, Thank you for being our guest at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North! We appreciate the 5-star review and recommendation on Expedia!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Tired and dated

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Very dated hotel room. Drain was broken in bathtub. Water pressure low. Pool was fairly nice but ran out of towels both days. I tried calling front desk from pool and my room but no one ever answered
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by MartPlaza, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We appreciate you taking a moment to share your honest feedback and it is with great regret to learn your stay was anything less than a 5-star experience. Within the last few years, all 521 guestrooms have been completely renovated to the hotel’s contemporary Premium guestroom décor with new, upgraded mattresses being installed in each room these past two months. Your review has been shared with our management team and we will use your comments to further improve our services and offerings to our guests. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Great stay, and a great value. Was on the 23rd floor, and overlooking the indoor pool, so room was very quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by MartPlaza, Hotel Management
Dear Andrea, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North! We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again and experience one of our River or City-view guestrooms, the views overlooking the Chicago skyline are magnificent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Great location great view

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Downtown Chicago is a great place and this hotel is right on the river within walking distance to so much. Views from our room were great of downtown and the rivers and bridges. It's not too expensive and room was fine with comfortable beds. Good restaurant and bar plus store. Two things to know: lobby is on 15th floor then other elevators to rooms (if that os a concern) and if you drive know that parking is across the street underground and is a painful $39 USD a day! That was an unwelcome surprise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by MartPlaza, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you for sharing your review and recommendation on Expedia! The hotel’s convenient River North location and scenic views truly are hard to beat and we’re delighted you were able to explore downtown Chicago while being our guest. Parking in Chicago can no doubt be expensive, but at $39 per day with in-and-out parking privileges is among the cheapest hotel parking in downtown Chicago. Especially considering some hotels charge upwards of $74 per night for valet!