Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oak Forest, Illinois

Under Construction

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything - as stated above
Location: Made reservations there because we stayed there in the past to be near the Arcada Theater - had no idea it was under construction.
Terrible experience. It is NOT the fault of the staff, however, this hotel should not be open during this construction period. Dry wall dust everywhere causing allergies to react/both of us coughing all night, folding table as a front desk, plastic hanging up in hallways and doorways, no hot water in shower, the pool is out of order, workers sanding and playing music in hallway outside our room. I booked and paid for the room months ago when I bought tickets for the Arcada. I feel I should have had an opportunity for a refund to be able to stay someplace else nearby. This is no way to do business.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Hotel under construction.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable.Staff was friendly.
Cons: Close the hotel until the construction work is complete.
We were not aware of the hotel's extensive remodeling going on. When we arrived, we thought it was closed. There was insulation stacked, visible through the bare windows, concrete broken outside the entry and a temporary wall closing off the lobby. Our reservation was made online, and was confirmed as "Country Inn and Suites by Carlson." The sign on the hotel read "Country Inn and Suites," and that was also reflected on the room keys. We thought we were staying in that hotel chain, but later found out it was now privately owned. The room was OK, except the roller shade was too narrow, leaving a gap around the window, so lack of privacy in our first floor room was a concern. The "full breakfast" fit into a small corner by the front desk. Obviously, no place to sit down since the lobby was closed. I do not understand why the hotel is operating under these conditions. Wouldn't it make more sense to close completely, finish the work on the lobby, and then open the rooms on one side at a time? At the very least, these inconveniences should be made crystal clear to potential guests at the time of the reservation. I will say that the staff was friendly and courteous, and seemed understanding of our concerns.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Our room! Perfect!
Cons: Once the construction is done, this will be a wonderful facility.
Location: Lots of shopping and restaurants.
They were as accommodating as possible. Major construction is happening in the main lobby and many rooms. Our room was wonderful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Under construction and not ready for customers

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Location near Pheasant Run Convention center and very close to shopping and dining facilities. Location is the ONLY thing that it has going for it. Very hidden from the road so keep an eye out for it or you will pass it by. Adequate parking and well lighted parking lot. This is all that I can say positive about this hotel. It needs a lot of work before booking customers.
Cons: Under construction, drywallers in the hallway playing radios at full blast all afternoon, impossible to take a nap. My room was not complete...no telephone, no toilet paper holder, no way to control heat or AC, complementary coffee pot broken. Was not able to call front desk for a wake up call. When I went to check out at 6:30 in the morning, there was no one at the front desk, so I just left.
Location: I chose this hotel because of location near Pheasant Run Convention facility. Will not make that mistake again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Big disappointment

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: I thought the beds were comfortable. The location to the restaurants, shopping and theater were good. I liked how close it was the the Steel hockey games
Cons: The remodeling huge mess, no gym to work out in, dirty sheets, smoke alarms going off in our room at 12:30 at night and switching rooms, the lack of s lobby, and the tiny breakfast room
Location: The location was good to many restaurants, shopping areas and movie theater
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi was spotty at best. The sign said the pool was closed for the whole 4 day stay but the front desk manager acted surprised it was closed when asked when it would open. Very disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Undergoing remodel. They are doing a good job of separating that from guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convient and close to resturants and shopping.

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Staff friendly and helpful, room newly renovated, adequately clean, housekeeping could pay more attention to details, which will keep the newly renovated room form deteriorating. ie. clean and wipe sink spigot, toilet handles and tub fixtures, dust top of refrigerator and coffee area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under rehab - stgay away.

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
The whole was under rehab. The elevator was dirty, no Wi-Fi, no pool and the shade over the window to keep lights out, DID NOT FIT. The hotel should not have been recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, I am very sorry for the condition of the property during your stay. Regardless of the renovations taking place our goal is for you to have a comfortable stay, I am sorry we fell short of our goal. We are looking forward to finishing the renovation project when our property will be clean and fully functional, hopefully you will give us a second chance! Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Place is a mess because of remodeling

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was nice but under heavy construction. There were bits of drywall everywhere. Even on the elevator! Also wifi was unavailable.