Ratings based on 4,058 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location. Stayed here before and was nice.
Location: Everything within walking distance.
Nice hotel, clean. Friendly staff. Only bad thing was we wanted a cab at 6:00 a.m., two cabs parked outside but nobody inside the cars and no one around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
The hotel was very nice & the location was perfect! My only complaint was the food that we ordered from room service wasn't very good. The chicken on my salad was burnt. Wish we had a fridge in the room! Overall a very nice hotel & very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to the major attractions

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: The rooms were large and very modern.
Cons: During our stay there were carpenters protesting outside on the sidewalk. It would have been nice if they weren't blocking the sidewalk.
My wife and I stayed here for an extended weekend to see all the attractions in Chicago and we were within walking distance to everything we wanted to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth Dorset UK

Good location near river

Posted Mar 28, 2017
We booked this hotel with no idea what we had booked there was so much choice. We were certainly not disappointed it is a lovely hotel, very clean, very spacious rooms and lovely comfortable bed. The location was ideal making it easily walkable to everything in downtown Chicago that a visitor to the city would want. The staff were very friendly and helpful we can't rate it highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Loved it! Close to everything we needed for a quick weekend getaway. We will be back for sure!!! 👍👍👍
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL

Perfect when seeing a show at House of Blues

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: I loved the view of the river. Not the best view but for the price and location, you can't beat it.
Cons: nothing! loved our stay
Location: Restaurant located in the lobby called Yolk.... delicious and highly recommended!
The Hotel Chicago was the perfect place to stay at when going to a show at the House of Blues. Located right next to the venue, no need to stress over rides when it is two steps from the hotel lobby!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Good location, nice hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location, Updates, cleanliness
Cons: Don't put a headboard a few inches away from the elevator gears.
Location: Walking distance to an unlimited amount of things to do. 2 blocks to Hubbard street with restaurants and bars. 10 minute walk to Millennium Park
The staff upgraded me to a Junior Suite, room 1819. I was very excited happy with the room, until I went to bed and realized the headboard was about 12 inches away from the elevator motors and gears. It was the worst night of sleep in my life! I recommend the Hotel for its location, updates, cleanliness, and amenities, but don't stay in this room. I assume the other room 19's aren't as bad since 18 was the top floor, but you still have 5 elevators right behind the headboard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great property and perfect location.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The staff were exceedingly helpful and genuinely pleasant.
Cons: Disappointments were few but included additional high daily charges for WiFi (this should be a thing of the past and create "nickel & diming" feeling)
Excellent choice for enjoying downtown entertainment and nightlife. Highly recommend this hotel. An easy choice that meets the high expectations for a 4-star hotel. However, given the choice between this and an equal hotel, I'd take the one with WiFi included at no charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good location in the center of Chicago

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location and intimate design of the main lobby.
Cons: Temperature controls...
Location: Walking distance to many Chicago's architectural landmarks and museums.
My husband stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. Overall the experience was good. The main lobby is very tastefully redecorated and provides all services in a small, intimate space. The hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant; the food in the bar tasty; the bartender friendly; and there was very convenient set up for printing boarding passes. We had some problems setting up proper temperature in the room... it was cold. The room we had has a long wide hallway and huge bathroom as it was set up for ADA compliance, but for whatever reason it didn't have grab bars...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Nice Hotel, Bad Cleaning Service.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The hotel itself was great but unfortunately we did not receive cleaning service the entire three days we were there. The maid would knock on our door and we would explain that we would be leaving shortly and to come back to clean our room. They always agreed but every single day we would come back and our room would still be dirty. The maid would still be down the hallway but would leave before ever coming back to clean our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection, Hotel Management
Dear Mary Beth, First and foremost, please accept my sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your time with us. Please know that what you describe here is not the level of service expected of our employees and our product. We have shared your valued feedback with our Housekeeping team for their review and follow-up. I apologize again for the issues that you encountered with our Housekeeping Staff and hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate the high level of service our guests have come to expect from Hotel Chicago. Best Regards, Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection