Ratings based on 4,015 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Incredibly kind staff, perfect location. Russell, the concierge made our stay perfect in so many ways ... kindness, professionalism, small gestures which made huge differences. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clarkston, MI

Good Service, Decent View

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, Decor, Comfortable Bed, View
Cons: Not much! The hotel provided body wash, shampoo, and conditioner being terrible is about the only complaint I have.
Location: Harry Carry's (fantastic restaurant), Corner Bakery Cafe, House of Blues, State/Lake L station.
The hotel was a great experience, anything that we had questions about were promptly answered by the staff in a satisfying way. One night we asked for a dinner restaurant, they suggested a fantastic place and we were very pleased with their suggestion. The only downside for this hotel is that there is a ~5-7 minute walk to the State/Lake L station, and maybe next time I'd like to stay somewhere even closer given how much you are on the L in downtown Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Blown away by the rooms here! Very spacious and the bathrooms are a dream come true!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

all good

Posted Feb 13, 2017
one night was fine.. that's all. nothing more to say
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conditions Lackluster

Posted Feb 13, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel several times before. This time it appeared that the hotel is not being maintained. It is a nice looking renovated hotel, but the rooms and conditions are becoming a little worned. The main issue was the lack of towels in the bathroom and that he shower backed up. I hate taking a shower in a pool of water. The minibar was also not full. Other than that it was a fine stay. Lobby is beautiful and people are great. Workout room is sufficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Hotel Chicago , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us. We are truly sorry and disappointed to hear about the perception you are left with about our accommodations. This does not come anywhere close to the high standards we usually adhere to, and we have already begun taking action to remedy the problem. On a more positive note, we are glad to know that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to gain your trust and show you the outstanding service we normally provide. Best Regards, Hotel Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Damn fine

Posted Feb 12, 2017
You walk in, greeted with a smile and told about the surrounding area. I don't like big cities but to be able to come into a safe and clean hotel was welcomed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All the staff was amazing

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Everything was amazing about this hotel. Would definitely stay there again when I visit Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Stay was just like the reviews said!

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Clean, modern, helpful staff.
Cons: Not much, but maybe offer coffee all day in the lobby? Maybe forget the stocked bar fridge - too expensive!
Location: Doesn't get any better than this location. Near bars, restaurants, liquor store, and only a couple min walk to the L train.
Had a really nice stay in this hotel. Staff upgraded our room and comped us breakfast for two days after they inadvertently gave us keys to a room that was not cleaned yet. We didn't expect that at all, but it was an excellent response to the situation. Concierge was also really helpful in finding places to go - Howl at the Moon was awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, LA

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Chicago!

Posted Jan 26, 2017
It was incredibly clean and the staff were all very pleasant! My room was very comfortable and the view was wonderful. I especially enjoyed being able to crack one of the windows to let the cool air in. I will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern , IL

Hotel is best up, not well maintained.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Staff is vary professional. Hotel is simply in need of a face lift. The cleaning staff dose not seem to have an eye for detail. I'd say it's a training issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Hotel Chicago , Hotel Management
Dear Cb, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with your fellow travelers. I can assure you that we have addressed your valued feedback with our Housekeeping team, who will look to provide a much higher level of service in the future. We hope to welcome you back for a much better experience on your next visit to Chicago. Best Regards, The Hotel Chicago