Ratings based on 2,862 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesterton, IN

Great Hotel to Stay At For Auto Show

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We stayed at the Hyatt/ McCormick Place for the Auto Show. We visited the Auto Show on Friday and when done, walked right next door to the hotel and checked in for the night. Room was very nice and quiet. Only issue was parking. If you stay at this hotel, make sure you park in the hotel garage NOT parking lot A for McCormick Place! It is a VERY long walk to the hotel is you use PL A. Overall though, hotel was great! Would definitely stay here again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Elyse, Hotel Management
Dear Kajenk, Thank you for staying with us for your trip to the Auto Show! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the connection to the Convention Center during your stay. We're sorry to hear about the walk to Parking Lot A and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly staff
Cons: All the pillows were soft which I don't like but my husband does. It would be nice to have a couple of soft and couple firm pillows in each room
Location: Great if you are attending a event at McCormick place or Soldier Field. A little far from shopping On Michigan ave. but easy to get a cab ride there
We have stayed here few times. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The rooms Are always very clean..we were there for the auto show which makes it a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Elyse, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and found it convenient for the Auto Show. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and hope to welcome you back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Great staff, clean accommodations, reasonable overnight parking fee
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Elyse, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed our accommodations and found the parking reasonable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Security improvements needed

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Security
Location: Downtown, lakefront, plenty
Nice hotel but security improvements and response need improvement. Awakened about 6am by loud persistent knocking by someone claiming to be housekeeping. I go to the door to tell them that I don't need service. The do not disturb sign that I placed on the door is now under the door in the room. The knocking is now a pounding on the door and the person is now saying that maintenance was called to the room and they need to get in. I said that they must have the wrong room. In the meantime, my friend calls the front desk to ask someone to send security. They seemed unconcerned even though they could hear the loud pounding on the door. What sounds like 2 possibly 3 women start kicking the door very hard. I run back to the door to make sure the security latch is on and try and brace the door. My friend made me move away from the door in case they had a gun. My friend calls back to the front desk to report that someone is trying to kick the door in. Front desk asks if we still need assistance so apparently they never sent security the first time. Eventually they left. We called back and asked what happened. They said security escorted them out of the building. No one ever checked to see if we were ok. Thank goodness my bff was there. I don't know what I would have done if I were there alone. I travel alone quite a bit internationally and have never encountered such nonchalance and unconcern from hotel staff. Common occurrence her maybe?
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Elyse, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear about your experience and take matters like this very seriously. I believe a Manager has already reached out to you to address this further. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CHICAGO

NICE HOTEL AND GORGEOUS VIEWS

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The hotel lobby was my favorite.
Cons: It would be nice if the vents in the room were cleaned. Also, maybe updated mattresses for more comfort.
Location: EXCELLENT LOCATION! It is not in the heart of the gold coast or downtown, but the location was perfect and the view from the rooms gorgeous!
The Hotel location was perfect and the staff wonderfully friendly. The rooms could be slightly updated (and vents cleaned - too much dust), but overall, the hotel was comfortable and clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Elyse, Hotel Management
Dear Ross, Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and location. We are sorry to hear about the vent in your guestroom and will share this with our Housekeeping Team. We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskegon, MI

Only one complaint

Posted Jan 30, 2017
This hotel was without a doubt a pleasure to stay at. The room was beautiful and the staff was incredibly hospitable and kind. My only complaint was that there was no free breakfast. Their resteraunts are fabulous, granted, but I have never stayed at that expensive of a hotel without a free breakfast before, so it was unexpected. I am a food fanatic, so I have always looked forward to the free breakfast... lol... I would gladly recommend this hotel to any of my friends that travel to Chicago!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Elyse, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, guestroom, and restaurants. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Good hotel, but a bit expensive for the overall experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Elyse, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A+

Posted Jan 25, 2017
I would highly recommend staying here. I have nothing more to say.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Elyse, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and took the time to share your experience. We appreciate your recommendation and would love to welcome you back for future visits to Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Aurora, IL

Perfect for an event at McCormick Place

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect for an event at McCormick Place, because you are already in the building so I did not have to walk outside in the rain.
Cons: It was not made clear that the hotel had its own garage separate from McCormick Place. That would have helped to know ahead of time.
Location: Like I said it's perfect for attending a conference or event at McCormick. Other than that it's not really close to anything else walking distance.
The hotel is very clean and modern, and everything worked as it should. I had a very nice experience overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Elyse, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our connection to the convention center during your stay. We apologize for the confusion with the parking garage and will review this information with our teams. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Excellent hotel- with exceptions

Posted Jan 17, 2017
This hotel is great, except for two things: distance from O'hare and the room service. It is an hour taxi ride from O'hare, so keep that in mind. The room service is basically only available when they want to make it so. Three times I called and was told room service was not available that day, despite it being completely within the advertised hours. This is incredibly disruptive and annoying, and I have never encountered it at any other hotel in the world. Aside from these two points, the hotel is great. Clean, lovely, comfortable beds, wonderful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Elyse, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. We're sorry to hear about your experience with Rooms Service during your visit. We recently adjusted our Room Service hours to reflect our business levels. We appreciate your feedback and will make adjustments to how our hours are being advertised. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and show you a better stay.