Ratings based on 5,708 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Very close to Michigan Ave.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Location and affordability.
Location: Close to Michigan Ave. Great shopping and sightseeing.
Excellent hotel for the price. The room was clean and the staff responsive. The whole hotel is non-smoking, but when we checked into our room, I could smell cigarette smoke. I immediately called the front desk and asked for another room. They gladly found me an alternate room. The bathroom is a little bit small, but given the price, I had no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two amazing nights in Chicago

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Just a quick trip with my daughter to see Hamilton! The hotel was perfectly located! Very comfortable, quiet and clean! Would definitely stay there again! Love Chicago!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is dated but clean, comfortable & safe

Posted Jun 23, 2017
No fridge, no in-room safe. Otherwise, clean, comfortable and in a safe neighbourhood. Price point was great compared to other hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON.

Was looking for somewhere safe.

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Excellent location. Easy to walk around. Elevators were very busy in the early morning and late afternoon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Don't stay here

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.
Location: It's an excellent location but it's not worth my money
I paid over $400 Dlls per night for this hotel and in my standards, it is not even worth $50 dlls per night. It was very disappointing. I changed hotels to stay at the Thompson so I ended up spending $950 Dlls per night. I believe that there should be limits to pricing for certain hotels that just don't meet standards like this one. You cannot be in downtown Chicago on Ohio street and offer such poor facilities and service. They don't even have service to send water to your room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from champaign

AVOID THIS HOTEL

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Worst hotel I've ever stayed at, uncomfortable beds, dirty bathrooms and it looks like it's a 1000 years old
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2017
The location is very convenient. Staff is very friendly and accommodating
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Jeff Brown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I will certainly share your sentiment with the staff. Thank you again. Jeff Brown General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Images are VERY misleading

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Don't let the online images and lobby fool you. I rarely write reviews, very rarely write bad reviews - but the state of this hotel room was just unacceptable. It is in such bad need of renovation, the carpets stunk and were almost comically dirty and worn. As were the walls. There are many places in downtown Chicago for a comparable price. I'm just so surprised this place stays in business, and the 3.7 stars is beyond me. Yes the location is good and the staff was nice - but man the room was so small and old, with how much they are charging I can't believe they couldn't afford to put some new carpet in and clean up the walls... Not kidding the room smelled like feet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Jeff Brown, Hotel Management
Dear Becca, Thank you for your feedback. I would certainly love the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future. The staff and location are top notch and we are working hard to improve the physical condition of the hotel. I think you will notice a considerable change upon your next visit. Please feel free to let me know if your travels bring you back through Chicago. I will personally assist you in making your reservations. Thank you. Jeff Brown General Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Traveled for 43rd anniversary

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location and Lobby bar. Usually the rooms but not this time.
Traveled for 43rd anniversary since used to love the hotel. Check in and found the room very small, no extra receptacles for cell phones and SINK WATER COULD NOT BE TURNED ON. How can this be??????? Handle on SINK broken. Hotel engineer could not find parts to repair. Asked for different room, NO! Finally at 11:45 PM my wife complained in the lobby about not water in the room. Inn of Chicago moved us to a better room at Mid-Night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location old hotel

Posted May 31, 2017
The only downside whenever my daughter went to the room she starts caughing like crazy ! They need better ventilation and renew at least the carpets
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about your daughters cough. I hope she is feeling better and we appreciate you staying with us.