Ratings based on 2,306 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Feb 21, 2016
This hotel was great! It was centrally located to all the shops and restaurants. We only took a cab to and from the airport. It was clean. The bedding and room smelt very fresh. We will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2016 by Markus, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate you are taking the time to write a review and are very excited to read, that you enjoyed your visit. We welcome you to return soon. Yours sincerely, Markus Krebs Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top notch hotel in wonderful location

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Beautiful place! Great service, very nice rooms. The best part about this hotel was the wonderful doorman out on the sidewalk - hailing taxis, taking photos in bad weather, always a smile on his face. Great location, very walkable and not noisy
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2016 by Markus, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We love to read your post and you mentioning about our staff and the great location of our hotel. Hope to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Markus Krebs Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gurabo, Puerto Rico

Great location downtown for quick getaway.

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Proximity to everything Chicago. Bellmen and front desk staff upon check in were real nice and approachable.
Cons: Free internet access. Bathrooms could use better lighting, a little dark for our taste. Pillows were a little soft for my liking. Pool not in service.
Location: Withing a 10 minutes literally to anything and everything Chicago has to offer...food, shopping, transportation, candy bars, entertainment, etc.
We were allowed to check in about 1 hour early which was awesome. The room was clean and up to our expectations. Had a decent view onto some neighboring buildings and even the lake could be seen in between. Full amenities, including mini-bar in room, multiple plugs to charge electronics, additional pillows/shams, digital A/C, screen/black curtain combo, sofa, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2016 by Markus, Hotel Management
Dear CJ, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during your most recent stay. We like to read that you appreciated the location and the interaction with your staff. We hope you will visit us again. Yours sincerely, Markus Krebs Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Tired and Outdated Property.

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Too numerous to mention.
Location: Its Downtown Chicago...on Michigan Avenue.
I was really disappointed with this hotel. While the lobby is updated and nice looking, the hallway leading to our guest room and the actual guest room are several years beyond the need for updating. While it appears management has updated the furniture, the physical condition of the carpeting, bathrooms and lighting is lacking for a Michigan Avenue hotel. I'm not sure if this is an issue for the hotel or Expedia, but I'll mention it here nevertheless...we booked this hotel with the intention of using the pool with our two young children. To our disappointment, the pool was unavailable during our stay. Had I known the pool was unavailable, I would have stayed at another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2016 by Markus, Hotel Management
Dear Jerry, Thank you for your online review. We appreciate you are mentioning the location right on Magnificent Mile. However, we are very sorry we did not meet your full satisfaction and recommend, when returning next time, to book one of our premiere rooms in the Executive Tower, that have recently been renovated. We are also sorry, that you were not able to enjoy our pool due to necessary upgrades we had to perform, however, the beautification has been finished and we hope to welcome you back, so you can enjoy all we have to offer. Yours sincerely, Markus Krebs Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very accommodating and pleasant staff.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Perfect stay for a girl's weekend. Close to restaurants and Michigan Ave. shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2016 by Jacquelyn Jenke, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your girls weekend with us. Providing an outstanding experience for our guests is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Jacquelyn Jenke Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

It's nice, but manage your expectations

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Very nice staff and service.
Cons: Room service meals were not good. Pool is not at all kid-friendly.
Location: Great location for all shopping on Michigan avenue, museums, etc.
The staff was lovely, from the valet, front desk rep, housekeepers. However, the rooms as VERY small and cramped. I stayed in room 2056 and while the closet and bathroom were big, the room itself was very cramped and I could barely walk around the bed. The room service menu is very limited and frankly the food was unappealing. The breakfast buffet at the 2nd floor restaurant was nice. The classic pool - while the tilework, etc. is lovely, the pool really isn't. First off it was freezing. I realize it is an old pool but the pool area did not feel safe for my children. There is very limited walking space around the perimeter, it is very deep - 4 feet+ at the shallowest end so if you have smaller children the 'swimming space' is extremely limited due to the depth and the fact that the lap lane markers are always up. Also, the space between the pool floor and the actual water is about two feet so my kids were not comfortable jumping in - it was just too high for them. So this is definitely and Adult-only pool. If you are planning a fun downtown weekend with kids, I would not recommend this property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

OK, aber auch nicht mehr...

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Zentrale Lage, Starbucks direkt im Hotel, Möglichkeit zum kostenlosen Ausdrucken von Bordkarten an bereitgestellten Internet-Terminals in der Lobby.
Die Lage des Hotels ist gut und recht zentral, im Gebäude befindet sich ein Starbucks. Das ist leider das einzig Positive, das ich berichten kann: Preis-Leistung ist fraglich. Das Personal am Empfang war nicht unfreundlich, das Einchecken war aber mehr eine Verkaufsveranstaltung für Zimmerupgrades oder sonstige Extras. Das Zimmer war extrem klein, das Bad (fremde Haare am Boden...?!) mäßig, und die Klimaanlage war auch ausgeschaltet (!) so laut, als wäre ein Stromgenerator im Zimmer, der rund um die Uhr in Betrieb ist! Das Hotelpersonal schaute nur zu, wenn aggressive Bettler die Gäste direkt vor dem Hotel belästigten und so bedrängten, dass nur die "Flucht" in die Lobby blieb - aber am liebsten fürs Öffnen der Tür ein Trinkgeld haben wollen, das geht gar nicht! Insgesamt nicht empfehlenswert - höchstens noch wegen der Lage, aber es gibt noch jede Menge anderer Hotels in ähnlich guter Lage, da müsste sich bestimmt auch Besseres finden lassen...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: It was clean and and comfy
Cons: Not much!
Location: Enjoyed walking down the Mag Mile hand in hand with my wife on a cold night.
Loved the Pool Enjoyed the view of the City and the Lake. Enjoyed the stay. Will be coming back soon!
1 out of 5
by Oscar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mary Ann from Algonquin

Hotel Review

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice and right in the middle of everything you need downtown. I would recommend it to anyone. Only disappointment was no hot tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2016
Dear Mary Ann, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Jacquelyn Jenke Front Desk Manager