Ratings based on 919 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great location

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Nice hotel right on Michigan Ave. Rooms are a little tight but comfortable and quite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Fantastic location right on Mag. mile!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
My friends and I ended up here last minute, we had booked a different hotel that ended up being terrible, and decided we needed something we know would be nice and the Intercontinental came through. Very clean, kind staff and a Starbucks in the lobby. Just be aware there are multiple towers, so be aware of which elevators you go to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your kind words. I am glad to hear you trusted your stay to us and knew you would not be let down. We hope you join us again soon. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
They allowed me to check in early which is always a plus. Very courteous staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the 5 star feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and felt right at home. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great location ! All the great stores are walking distance. You can walk to Millenium Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Please do not hesitate to let us know how we can provide an even better experience. We aim for a 5 star stay for all of our guests. We hope you visit us again soon. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Lobby was absolutely beautiful at Christmas time!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Everything was beautiful!
Cons: Not much. I was very happy.
Location: Lots to do nearby. Movies, shopping and restaurants right out the door.
Lobby was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Rooms were very nice. Updated and clean! Pool area is amazing! Just watch that you do not move any of the items available for in room purchase. We lifted the can of Pringles up and moved a Redbull in the refrigerator to make room for a container of leftovers and we were charged for these extremely overpriced items because they are all on sensors. The front desk removed the charges for me, no problem but had I not paid attention to my bill, I would have been charged for things I did not eat/drink. Location was great! Right by shopping/restaurants and the movie theatre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Kim, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star feedback. We do listen when our guests make valid observations and we are definitely looking into ways of improving the mini-bar sensitivity. Again, We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again in the new year! Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
It was a beautiful hotel! very clean and a great location. Would stay here again for sure!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay as well as the location. I hope we made your Holidays in Chicago a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Location: There are many restaurants and shopping close by.
We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We would stay here again. It was very close to many restaurants and bus and subway. On one our nights we were awoken at 3:30 a.m. by music in the room next door. We called down to the front desk and said they would send security. Security came immediately and took care of the problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Joanne, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We very much appreciate hearing that you had an enjoyable stay and that any disruptions were handled promptly for your comfort. I'm glad to hear you were able to explore Chicago and taste the local flavors. Please visit us again in the New Year. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

avoid this hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Cons: be nice to people
1. We booked 2 rooms - it's not peak season in Chicago but we were not allowed to check in until 4 pm and the other room was not available until 5 pm. Front desk were rude about this and did not even apologize. Initially they said, someone will text us once the rooms are available but we received the text when we are already in the room. 2. Housekeeper was knocking at 8:30 in the morning in one of the rooms and woke us up, asking if we are checking that day 3. I received a text after we checked out asking for feedback regarding our stay, I texted back about the above complaints. They reply by saying someone will get back to me in minutes but no calls or text back. 4. I believed this hotel discriminates against Expedia travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Cathy, I would first like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. I have discussed your concerns with the proper departments so that we can continue improving our services. Secondly I would like to assure you that our staff takes great pride in providing each guest with a pleasant experience. I am truly sorry we fell short of our promise during your visit. We are happy to accommodate for an early check in when available. However, this can be difficult if there is no prior notice given during the reservation process. Again, we do aim to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible and are happy to accommodate special needs. We thank you for your feedback. I hope you will consider giving us another chance. We would love the opportunity to provide you with the 5 star service we are known for worldwide. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Nice hotel in a great location.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The hotel was beautiful. The location was excellent. The hotel was walking distance to many restaurants, great shopping and scenic views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear KVS, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you were most satisfied with our prime location within walking distance of all of Chicago's best attractions. We take great pride in providing each guest with a pleasant experience so your kind compliments are appreciated. We hope you will be visiting us again soon. Happy New Year! Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Love this hotel. Great location, rooms are nice and staff is helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Heather, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your feedback with our team. We take great pride in providing each guest with a pleasant experience so your kind compliments are appreciated. We hope you will be visiting us again in 2017. Happy New Year! Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager