Ratings based on 1,066 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great central location for downtown Chicago!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Cons: The rooms were pretty small, almost made me feel like I was in NY rather than Chicago. Also the sheets on the bed weren't fitted, so they came up.
This is a great boutique hotel for a short stay, say a long weekend, in Chicago. Very close to Millennium Park, River North, Michigan Ave, etc. Hotel staff was very sweet and helpful, and the wine happy hour is always a great addition!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Loved the architecture, staff, location and comfort of room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Great location. Very clean room and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso,TX

Nice hotel close to sights and shopping

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Very comfortable hotel with great staff and good location. Would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Broken amenities and bad management

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Make sure your appliances & amenities are working properly.
The TV in my room was broken and all the staff did was ask me to unplug it 3 times then when it still didn't work they said sorry engineers are out for the day. The next morning my bathtub was clogged and they just said sorry. No measures were taken to fix the broken stuff and the staff didn't even offer any solution or any comp to make it up to me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Gorgeous. Everything is within walking distance.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere was a great combination of old Chicago and modern elegance. Very beautiful. Plus the hotel staff was great!
Cons: I valet parked my car. Took a lot longer than 15-20 minutes to get my car and there wasn't a line.
Location: Within walking distance of everything: the Mile, Art Museum, Millennium Park, dining, shopping and Columbia College Chicago's campus.
Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, they had asked if we were there for business or pleasure -I told them it was my daughter's 18th birthday and they sent two beautifully decorated cupcakes up to our room. It was a nice surprise. As a frequent Chicago traveler - this will be the first hotel I will check for availability.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmette,IL

Great Location

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: We loved the location and the personal touch to the service.
Location: The location is right in the heart of the city. Close to shopping, theaters, etc. I highly recommend Chicago Architectural Foundation Tours.
The Burnham is a lovely, small hotel right in the heart of the city. It is close to shopping, right across the street from Macy's, the former site of Marshall Field's, close to theaters, and many great restaurants. We were greeted cordially and able to check in early. This made it easy to leave our luggage before going on a Chicago Architectural Foundation tour. When we returned later that day, we received a nice hand written note with a bottle of champagne. We mentioned that it was our anniversary. The next day they were very accommodating in taking our luggage after we checked out so that we could do some more tours. We also enjoyed our breakfast in the Café Atwood which is in the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Beautiful hotel, close to everything

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Close to all amenities. Staff was friendly and helpful. Greeted us by name each day.
Location: Situated in a perfect location. You can easily walk to great shopping and dining and the subway/bus stop is directly across the street.
Friendly staff, beautiful rooms. Surrounded by shopping. Across the street from a bus stop and subway station which made getting around town super easy. Would return in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Tres bel hôtel , au cœur de Chicago.

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Très bel hôtel bien situé, tout près du metro souterrain.
Location: Musées, parc,
Très bonne impression de cet bel hôtel bien situé, à quelques pas du Millenium Park, des musées, du théâtre et des grands magasins comme Macy. Beau restaurant et excellente cuisine . Personnel attentionné. Je retourne au Burnham l'année prochaine !
5 out of 5
by Mary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels