Ratings based on 1,113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, Michigan

Historic Chicago building nicely restored.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Location: Chicago Loop. Marshall Fields building (now Macy's), classic Chicago restaurants Berghoff , Millers Pub and Al's Beef are all near by.
This hotel is housed in one of the first Chicago "skyscrapers" and is a beautiful example of what became known as the Chicago school of architecture. Built in the 19th century, it was one of the first buildings to use steel framing that allowed for building higher than 6 to 8 stories. Originally built as an office building, it was converted into a hotel in the 1990s. During conversion they were able to preserve most of the beautiful original indoor and outdoor architectural features such as the glazed terracotta exterior, wrought iron stairways, terrazzo hallway floors, marble hallway walls, large picture windows in the bedroom etc. My room on the 10th floor had a beautiful view down State Street which was particularly pretty at night when it was all lit up. I was able to see into the practice rooms of the Joffrey Ballet one block away so I was able to lie in my bed watch dancers practice their leaps and twirls. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again next time I come to Chicago.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

We really enjoyed our stay. The view was amazing

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Our room was spectacular along with the accommodations that came with it. The hotel is in the middle of the loop which made everywhere we wanted to go super accessible.
Cons: We liked everything about our stay. The view was amazing and so relaxing to wake up to Lake Michigan looking back at us
Location: It was located right in the middle of downtown which made it very easy to get a cab (the hotel offered to get us one as well)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old fashioned Chicago elegance.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: the vibe of the hotel, the staff, the location
Cons: for me--nothing
Location: EVERYthing in the loop, the lake, the mag mile is just a few steps away.
Wonderful location--yocan (and I did) walk for miles. Staff very aware and incredibly helpful. Not super modern harkens back to a previous era without looking down at the heel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Big Rapids MI

The only hotel to stay at in the Loop

Posted Sep 20, 2016
This was our second visit this year. We checked in a little early with no problems. Hotel staff was great, very helpful. The rooms were very quiet and the view from the room was awesome. Easy check-in and checkout. I would live there if I could.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

historic building, small rooms

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
I'm a big fan the Kimpton brand of hotels and have always had a pleasant experience anytime I've stayed at one. My partner and I appreciate how pet-friendly they are during the times we choose to travel with out pet and thus are usually on the lookout for a Kimpton hotel when we are booking our travel plans. That being said, our stay at the Burnham was somewhat underwhelming. The staff was very gracious and friendly and the location was great: close to the park and easily walkable to Michigan Ave and other places we wanted to see. But our room was very small and uncomfortable, especially given that we were traveling with out pet as I mentioned. we were barely able to navigate from the door to the bed or the bathroom without crawling over our luggage, dog, or each other given the size of our room. Other than this slight, I have nothing bad to say about our stay but when we return we will likely look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin

Best Stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing!! The best people ever who are kind and happy!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield

Great theater getaway

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great overnite stay to see Kinky Boots
5 out of 5
by Carlos

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Get rid of need to create an access account for wifi, just give free wifi like every other hotel in America. But ither than tbat, our stay was wonderful
4 out of 5
by Joshua

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfact!

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Super friendly staff, Convenient for sighseeing, shopping, food, subway. Everything was by the Hotel. Room was small but high ceiling makes it feels bigger. Would definitely stay again!