Ratings based on 3,717 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel in middle of Downtown Chicago

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel is perfect, loved the look of the room modern / clean look and staff service was great. My complain is regarding the room noise. I stayed 2 nights and I was annoyed by the noise of the rooms. You can hear the people from other room as if they where in my room and the hallway is even worst I could hear everyone passing by. Or even talking like if they where in my room. I was mad because I wanted to sleep in and I was awakened by the hallway people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Amber B., Hotel Management
Thanks for taking time to provide feedback from your stay. We're sorry to see you experienced issues with noise from a nearby room as well as in the hallway. Should your travels bring you back to Chicago, feel free to reach out and we'll get you blocked in a quieter corner room! Amber Bertsch Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Good location for downtown explorers. Hotel is very classy and looks great. Need to open bar on weekends after 11pm Need to have food avaialable after hrs Need complementary bite breakfast It was cool to have a comp wine hr by the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Amber B., Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review! We’re pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Amber Bertsch Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near work

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Nice Art Deco furnishings. Small rooms but comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Amber , Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review! We’re pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Amber Bertsch Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Very cute and vintage feeling. Modern updates, love al the white marble and gold accents. Comfy bed and snacks in room. I would stay here again even though the bathroom sink and toilet were really close together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Amber B., Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review! We’re pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Amber Bertsch Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Mar 11, 2017
All Staff members hospitality was wonderful, personable and helpful. Everyone made my stay so easy whether it be hailing a taxi, providing directions or giving input on the best donut shop in close proximity to bring to my a.m. appointment, etc. I'd forgotten my hairspray, the staff was there to help and they honored my request for a 1 pm check out to allow me time after my luncheon to change, grab my items and then check out. Even at that the cleaning staff was so kind and told me to take the time I needed. Thank you Kimpton Staff members. Excellent stay as always.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Amber B., Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review and kind words about our staff! We’re pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Amber Bertsch Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Loop Hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The Allegro as always, is a welcome home. Kimpton rewards offers free internet access, and awesome welcome cocktail hour/reception in the lobby with free Prosecco is a great touch. The VIP perks are pretty good too - got a nice upper floor room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Amber B., Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review! We’re pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Amber Bertsch Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel nearby shopping and fine dining

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Checking in & out was smooth and easy, the room was beautifully decorated, tidy and toiletries were always well stocked thanks to our lovely housekeeper. I was only dissatisfied with the door man service as I received no assistance whilst unloading or loading my luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Amber B., Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review! We're pleased to see you enjoyed your overall stay and rest assured we will address the issue you mentioned with our doormen. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Amber Bertsch Guest Experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Unique hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Price and location were unbeatable. Lobby and lobby bar were great. 42" TV and Mini bar/frig were nice to have. WiFi free 2 Kimpton Rewards member
Cons: Room décor was edgy/art deco. Not my taste, and not relaxing to be around. Bathroom was very nice & clean but tiny. Closet was tiny.
Hotel met my needs and the price was right, but it was not a "normal' hotel experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Amber B., Hotel Management
Thanks for taking time to review your experience with us. We're happy to see there were several aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, but were sorry to see your guest room wasn't to your liking. Should your travels bring you back to Chicago, our sister properties have different aesthetics that may be more to your liking. Amber Bertsch Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small rooms

Posted Feb 28, 2017
This is a boutique hotel so the decorations of course were very good. There is a nice cocktail reception in the evening and the location is great. With all of that said the big negative of the hotel is room size. Our room which was a standard hotel room not an upgrade was very very small. I was told by the front desk and the manager that this is a historic hotel meaning it was built along time ago and I should expect the rooms to be small. I feel that if I am staying at a boutique hotel it would offer more than what I was given. The other big negatives were no in room coffee or free Internet come out I can get this at a much lower level hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Amber B., Hotel Management
Thanks for taking time to provide feedback from your recent stay. We're sorry to see you weren't satisfied with your entire stay and found the room to be a bit tight for your liking. Should your travels bring you back to Chicago, we suggest taking a look at our larger King Premier rooms. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we hope to have you back for an improved stay in the future! Amber Bertsch Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We really like the hotel the room seems a little bit crowded and small the hotel it's beautiful over all we had a good time
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Amber , Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review! Should your travels bring you back to our hotel, we suggest looking at our King Premier rooms as they will have the space you are looking for. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future! Amber Bertsch Guest Experience Manager