Ratings based on 1,101 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very great hotel except small bathroom

Posted Jan 10, 2017
This was a great hotel. It's close to a lot of good places, such as the theaters, Macy's on State Street, good restaurants, etc. The only complaint I have is the bathrooms are tiny, which made it hard for me to get ready in the morning. I would stay here again, though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Nice location, great price, free coffee in the morning, good restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Great location, awesome bar and restaurant. Nice room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Really nice hotel close to the theater

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Reserved the room at this hotel because it was right next to the theatre so it was very convenient for me. the restaurant at the hotel was amazing but expensive. definitely would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Addition to my previous review

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Noticed several people complained about the steep price for the Allegro's valet parking. We went to SpotHero.com and booked our parking in advance. We paid $50 (total) for 2 night, which is a bargain for Chicago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Fun & Comfortable Hotel in Chicago's Loop

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Coffee Bar, location, Lobby, Restaurant
Cons: Extra blankets and pillows in room
Location: Theatre district location, but a short cab/uber ride to anywhere in the downtown area. Close to Soldier Field.
Hotel was very close to theatre district and parking. The doormen were friendly and helpful. We used uber for all of our travel and a driver was never more than 2 mins away. The room was comfortable and clean. Amenities were plentiful as well. The lobby is HUGE! There is a very nice bar and plenty of seating areas and alcoves for drinks and conversation. The morning coffee bar was amazing! My sister and I stayed here for my Birthday and to attend the Packers/Bears game at Soldier Field. It was very close and a convenient 10 min uber ride in traffic to the game. One of the doormen had a small cake sent up to our room for my Birthday, just because, which was a nice surprise. Checkout was easy. I didn't see it listed, but wanted to mention that our king room had a safe, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and robes. We had a corner room. The hotel is surrounded by larger buildings, so there is t much of a view. Be aware that the loop is essentially trains running overhead, or below, depending on your floor level. It wasn't bothersome to us, but could be to others. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

The rooms are nice but

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We really like the hotel's decor it's places you in a modern American Horror Story Hotel but we really didn't love how thin the walls were. We clearly can hear people in the hall and even in their rooms. So you may not get a good nights rest if you have party neighbors, crying baby and barking dog all on the same floor. The location great for theater folks but not of late night eats around. You may have to walk few blocks over to Gold Coast area for those options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot for Theatre District

Posted Dec 4, 2016
We had a short but terrific stay at the Kimpton Hotel Allegro. The hotel is literally right next door to the Cadillac Palace Theatre, so awesome location. We had dinner at Trattoria No. 10 (highly recommended), and then an easy walk to the Cadillac Theatre for a 7:30pm show and steps back to the hotel. The hotel is decorated nicely, very clean and surprisingly quiet (we were on the 10th Floor). My only gripe is the overnight valet parking is $60, which is steep even for downtown Chicago. That said, the nightly rate at the Allegro was very reasonable and more than offset the parking. The hotel also had a very nice coffee, tea and hot cocoa bar in the morning, and our kids loved the toppings (marshmallows, crushed candy canes, chocolate flakes, caramel syrup, whipped cream, etc.). We'll definitely make this our "go to" hotel for overnight or weekend stays in the Theatre District.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance to Michigan Ave

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The experience was good and they are dog friendly. The bad thing is the hotel doesn't have free parking. You would need to pay $69 for valet parking per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

city fun, small rooms

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: lobby and bar very cool, nice exercise facility
Cons: cramped rooms, exorbitant parking rates
If you want a loop experience, this is a good place. Rooms with double beds are cramped but neat. close to el, petrov's restaurant across the street is great (we had lunch). Was a good place for kids, they had fun, was able to educate them about the stinkiness of a blue-run city.