Ratings based on 2,091 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
All the staff were very inviting and friendly. They made the experience as stress-free as possible. I was traveling for work and had a meeting in the morning. They held my bags so I could check out of my room, and when I returned they brought around my car and loaded up my bags for me. I know a lot of hotels do things like this, but it was the friendly staff that made the whole experience that much better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks for leaving the great review! I'm so happy to hear that the staff made your stay feel effortless, sometimes it is the little things that matter! We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of premises, comfort of the room, nice restaurant. Excellent value!
Location: Ideal Loop location, short walk to Millennium Park, Art Institute, or if you want to go north of the river, short walk to Michigan Ave shops.
I live in the suburbs and came downtown to spend a weekend with an out of town friend. The location of this hotel was perfect for all the things we wanted to do. The staff was extremely helpful, the property is very well kept and decor is lovely. Not too big but very nice, cozy lobby. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Joanne, So glad to hear that you and your friend had a great time at the Monaco! We can't wait to host you both again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great place to stay

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Great place to stay. Restaurant/bar is a good place to hang if it is 10 below and you don't want to venture outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the great review! We don't love the cold weather, but if it keeps you coming back, we'll take it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We really appreciated how dog friendly they were. We will be staying at Kimptons with our puppy whenever possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks for bringing the pup to stay with us, we love our four-legged guests just as much as our others! We appreciate you checking out the Monaco, and hope that you'll come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great location downtown

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Excellent stay from start to finish. The staff are amazingly friendly and go out of their way to help. Comfortable, clean, and the little touches make it feel just like home. The kids LOVED the bay windows, where they could sit and enjoy the views while relaxing and reading in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks K! We're so happy to hear that you and the kids loved it! The window seats are definitely one of our best features, and we're glad you got to enjoy them. Come see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but noisy

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Beginning at 5 am we could hear the L making its turn a block away. Every few minutes we would hear it. Not as bad as being right across from it, but still very noisy. Advice - ask for a room facing away from the L.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We don't often have noise issues with the L, but every so often in the cold it's extra squeaky! We're sorry you had to hear that in the morning, and will gladly get you a room away on your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What matters

Posted Dec 22, 2016
So this hotel may not look impressive from either the outside or on the inside, but it delivers in all the important ways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. We're happy to hear that the heart & soul of the hotel staff came through and made you feel welcome!
5 out of 5
by Mariann

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, our stay was really good apart from the fact that you had to give a lot of personal information to them to just get hooked up to the so called free wifi. You had no choice either. If you didn't give this info, you didn't get wifi. I would never again stay there because of that. Also, house keeping staff were not informed that we were checking out and came to the room twice and woke us up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our loyalty program really only requires basic information like your address & email, and has a TON of great added benefits in joining. We're sorry if you felt this was an inconvenience. Our apologies if the housekeeping team disturbed you on your date of check-out. If you would prefer not to have the room attendants knock for service, we recommend that you use the 'do not disturb' sign located on the back of your door. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Excellent hotel! Great location, walking distance to all the main spots.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the great review!