Ratings based on 716 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great place to stay

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Great place to stay. Restaurant/bar is a good place to hang if it is 10 below and you don't want to venture outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the great review! We don't love the cold weather, but if it keeps you coming back, we'll take it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We really appreciated how dog friendly they were. We will be staying at Kimptons with our puppy whenever possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks for bringing the pup to stay with us, we love our four-legged guests just as much as our others! We appreciate you checking out the Monaco, and hope that you'll come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great location downtown

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Excellent stay from start to finish. The staff are amazingly friendly and go out of their way to help. Comfortable, clean, and the little touches make it feel just like home. The kids LOVED the bay windows, where they could sit and enjoy the views while relaxing and reading in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks K! We're so happy to hear that you and the kids loved it! The window seats are definitely one of our best features, and we're glad you got to enjoy them. Come see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but noisy

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Beginning at 5 am we could hear the L making its turn a block away. Every few minutes we would hear it. Not as bad as being right across from it, but still very noisy. Advice - ask for a room facing away from the L.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We don't often have noise issues with the L, but every so often in the cold it's extra squeaky! We're sorry you had to hear that in the morning, and will gladly get you a room away on your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What matters

Posted Dec 22, 2016
So this hotel may not look impressive from either the outside or on the inside, but it delivers in all the important ways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. We're happy to hear that the heart & soul of the hotel staff came through and made you feel welcome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Excellent hotel! Great location, walking distance to all the main spots.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the great review!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Wouldn't be my first choice. Should spend extra money elsewhere and treat yourself
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Michael, We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as all the other guests that have left us great reviews. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback though, if there was anything specific that you'd like to address to improve in your opinion, please feel free to reach out to the hotel directly. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago suburb

Nice hotel in convenient location in Chicago

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Cute boutique hotel with friendly staff , nice valets & bellmen !we
Location: We walked to our evening dinner restaurant as well as spending time at Eataly with our son and his girlfriend ... it was cold outside but , manageable
We have previously stayed at Hotel Monaco , it's a friendly hotel with a location that allows us to be in location that is central to interesting theaters and restaurants and shops . We have always enjoyed staying here , their staff is super friendly and the restaurant attached to the hotel has a great breakfast !
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Hi Sherri! Thanks for taking the time to leave such a helpful review for guests. We're very glad to hear that our location allowed you to explore the city but still stay warm! We hope you'll come see us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Champaign, IL

Great Hotel close to Magnificent Mile

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The staff were most impressive.
Cons: Only issue was the window had a bit of a draft, but we closed the heavy curtain and things were fine.
Location: Could hardly do better to see the "mile" as well as Millennium Park and the Christmas Tree!
Getting to the hotel was super easy. Staff from parking to check in, to concierge, to door men were amazing. The restaurant was great for the breakfasts we had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Hi Michael - Thanks for leaving such a nice note about our amazing staff. We're happy you enjoyed the location, and that the blackout curtains were able to stave off the Chicago chill. We would love to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location for decent value

Posted Dec 8, 2016
A basic 4 star hotel (I stayed at nicer 3 stars than this) in great central location. Nothing fancy about the hotel other than its name. Room was clean and spacious but felt outdated and old even by French standard. Bathroom is average at best. Lobby is nice but really small. Did not try their restaurant and gym.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving your candid review of your recent stay. We're sorry that we disappointed on some fronts, but happy that you enjoyed our location. We'd love for you to give us another shot!