Ratings based on 4,117 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick business trip

Posted May 25, 2017
I only stayed one night, but found the Kinzie to be a nice place overall. The complimentary evening drinks/snacks was just average. Very limited offerings as far as food, drinks were standard. The complimentary continental breakfast in the elevator lobby of each floor was a nice touch. Basic muffins, bagels, coffee, tea. It worked well for a quick business trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

great boutique hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
very well maintained smaller hotel close to everything, very close to the chicago river & magnificent mile. The cocktail hour is very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Great staffs and great service :) I have enjoyed my stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Convenient River North location

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: More receptionists to speed check-in
Location: Museum of Broadcast Communication, Andy's Jazz Club, the River, Maggianos, Tortoise Club
Excellent - enjoyed the happy hour and all the amenities in the room and the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gem of a hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
This hotel is really special. Great location, incredible staff (every person!), very comfortable. It is a 5 star hotel without the 5 star price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpected, Wonderful Extras

Posted May 17, 2017
Not only is the Kenzie Hotel comfortable and immaculately clean, it has lovely extra care like a cocktail lounge with free tapas and drinks each afternoon. I would certainly come here again if I were in Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Nice hotel in downtown Chicago

Posted May 15, 2017
Since the hotel is located in downtown Chicago, it is very much close to all the landmarks and sight-seeing locations like the Navy pier, Cloud gate (bean) and other attractions. The staff is pleasant and the rooms are very comfortable. The city-view is also great. Would definitely recommend this to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and a great location.

Posted May 9, 2017
A young lady at the front desk was very helpful. My mom who had allergy issues needed help with the a/c system. She immediately radioed the maintenance crew who was equally nice and showed up immediately to attend the issue. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were spacious and chic. We would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Hotel with problem room setup & bad last charge

Posted May 5, 2017
I was looking forward to my stay at the Kinzie. But the room was really disappointing. There were large windows opening straight onto someone's office windows about 12 feet away across an alley-- and no window-dressing options except blackout blinds and full-frontal exposure. There was no mirror allowing anything close to a complete check-up on my outfit. The bathroom had no active air-extraction so bathroom smells just hung around. It seemed whoever designed the rooms went for all-glossy new "design" but gave little thought to what actual customers would want/need in a hotel room. Then they also featured some kind of a historical book there that they were trying to sell people that was full of truly terrible, racist, anti-Native American ranting from the mid-19th century-- that they seemed to be "celebrating" as part of the Kinzie's heritage??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Welcoming Valet - Check in - Not So Great

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The rooms are comfy, breakfast and happy hour are great. A great touch.
Cons: The check in staff should be warmer. They were working hard to be cool.
Location: Great location. Easy to get to my meetings.
I was welcomed by a wonderful valet -- so warm, got me a bottle of water. Check in staff was way too cool. The first desk said she was busy - no smile, the next guy smiled, but still way cool. Got to my room, key card worked, and there was luggage there. I went back to the desk, and they said that had never happened before. No alarm. No profuse apologies. I told them perhaps I should be fearful for my safety since I was able to get in someone's room. They said that would never happen. Shocked that I never heard from the manager. Shocked that they never checked in again. Fine stay, but totally unsettling to have this happen.