Posted Feb 6, 2017
Strike 1.Upon arrival to room, noticed no bathtub. Called down to front desk to inquire if there were other rooms available with a tub. I was told only in the penthouse which is an increased fee. Strike 2. Ordered food from Ashbury bar: pizza tastes better cold, Chix had good flavor but pale hospital appeal, short ribs and fried mac n cheese - bland. Strike 3. Shower has no doors and shower head unmovable which means you are forced to stand in one position to keep warm or you freeze. Strike 4. Ordered again from same place and this time buffalo wings requested extra crispy/well done were instead bland and soft. Parmesan wings bland. Spicy spinach dip mediocre. Salad was edible. Strike 5. Artwork on wall in front of bed is creepy. Artwork on walls in hallway near meeting rooms are crooked, peeling/falling off.
Strike 6. Requested late check out and was first told 1pm is latest without $50 additional fee but at my request possibly 2. I was assured that the front desk would call me back to confirm latest check out time. After waiting 45 minutes, I initiated a call to front desk and spoke with a woman who said no notes in system regarding late checkout and $50 fee after 12:30. At this point I begin detailing the list of complaints and the woman tells me that their are in fact other rooms w bath tubs and I should have requested a tub during reservation. How did I know to request a basic amenity, until now? Hsekpg and waitstaff were polite and prof. Comp'd breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Paul Ohm, General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry to hear of your discrepancies with the food you had ordered. I trust that you were able to relay this information to the restaurant or front desk manager so that we could have the opportunity to make it right for you and remake the food. We do offer guestrooms with bathtubs, upon request. As this should have been relayed to you at the time of booking with Expedia. All in all I am sorry that your experience was only one star worthy. Please trust that we continuously work on improvements where needed and appreciate all guest feedback in order to bring this to our attention. Thanks for choosing Loews and we hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Chicago.