Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Like going to Europe without paying airfare.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The location is ideal, close to restaurants, trains, and in a beautiful neighborhood. This is not a shiny, corporate cookie cutter hotel.
Room was very comfortable and quiet. Bathroom was large and nicely equipped. Loved the breakfast which is served in a relaxing setting. Every staff person we met seemed to love their jobs and they couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool little boutique hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Love this place. Don't go expecting a lot of modern plushness. It's an old, charming place with lots of character nestled into a neighborhood and close to lots of cool stuff in Evanston.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic building in a lovely town.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Staff was amazing, like family. Breakfast was perfect, in a beautiful room, I could have sat in there a sipped coffee all day. Bed was very comfortable and shower was great. I will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel near Northwestern University

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Each year I travel to Evanston to meet with my oncologist. I can't begin to you what a comfort staying at the Margarita European Inn brings me. The rooms are lovely...and the bathrooms are so modern and tastefully done! The breakfast that is included in your stay is set in a beautiful parlor...and the pastries are magnificent! Treat yourself to a stay at the Margarita European Inm...you will not be disappointed!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Not as nice as expected based on other reviews

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Parking was off site. No elevator access to ground floor which was a problem for my wife who has some mobility issues. Ancient elevator with manual screen and door. Room had stains on the floor. No room service. My wife took one look at the room and said "no way" so we stayed at the Hilton Orrington instead.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Breakfast

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Pastry chef bakes fresh every day. Worth the effort for that alone!
5 out of 5
by Pamela

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great love everything about the hotel
4 out of 5
by michael from Buffalo

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect place for family on a college visit
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is too dark and appears a little wore out even though it's old and that is the ambience it could use a better elevator. Breakfast is great