Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unique Evanston treasure

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The reason why it was originally built and the way it was funded - to the decor, comfortable bed, staff, delicious breakfast, and above all quiet.
Location: Five minutes walk to Creperie Germain, yum!
My favorite hotel - ever. Unique, charming. Quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Like going to Europe without paying airfare.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The location is ideal, close to restaurants, trains, and in a beautiful neighborhood. This is not a shiny, corporate cookie cutter hotel.
Room was very comfortable and quiet. Bathroom was large and nicely equipped. Loved the breakfast which is served in a relaxing setting. Every staff person we met seemed to love their jobs and they couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool little boutique hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Love this place. Don't go expecting a lot of modern plushness. It's an old, charming place with lots of character nestled into a neighborhood and close to lots of cool stuff in Evanston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic building in a lovely town.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Staff was amazing, like family. Breakfast was perfect, in a beautiful room, I could have sat in there a sipped coffee all day. Bed was very comfortable and shower was great. I will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel near Northwestern University

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Each year I travel to Evanston to meet with my oncologist. I can't begin to you what a comfort staying at the Margarita European Inn brings me. The rooms are lovely...and the bathrooms are so modern and tastefully done! The breakfast that is included in your stay is set in a beautiful parlor...and the pastries are magnificent! Treat yourself to a stay at the Margarita European Inm...you will not be disappointed!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Not as nice as expected based on other reviews

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Parking was off site. No elevator access to ground floor which was a problem for my wife who has some mobility issues. Ancient elevator with manual screen and door. Room had stains on the floor. No room service. My wife took one look at the room and said "no way" so we stayed at the Hilton Orrington instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location to walking along the lake.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and friendliness of the staff
We stayed for four night. Breakfast was good, enjoyed the large comfortable sitting area and short distance to the lake. The manager was helpful in printing our boarding passes for our return. The room was clean and service was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Charm

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Charm and friendliness.
Location: There were several restaurants within walking distance, including Blind Faith, an excellent vegetarian place.
It had old-world European charm and the very best yogurt. Staff were wonderful and very helpful. I was disappointed that we had to pay extra for parking. There was only one small desk for two writers so we set up the ironing board. However, there were enough electrical outlets and this was great. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evanston, Ill

Charming hotel with nice updates.

Posted Nov 2, 2015
The elevator was not working for part of our stay so we had to carry our luggage up to the fourth floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Charming

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: I felt a part of history; loved the parlour area
Cons: Accessability
Location: Evanston has changed; it is a total college town....little shopping and minimal upscale restaurants
I loved the hotel; location was excellent. However, the elevator does not get you to the lobby, making it difficult for some people, me included. The mandatory stairs should be noted on the hotel description