Ratings based on 5,195 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Hotel near Magnificent Mile

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet except for a party on last night. Lots of restaurant choices nearby. Carpet in room was very worn at bathroom door. Furniture was a little dinged and nicked. We felt safe and room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by BenAFOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the magnificent review. Despite a few marks, its great to hear you had a great experience during your stay with us. We hope to see you back again soon. Thank you once again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Clean room, nice service, Like the historic value of the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by BenAFOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. We're glad you had an enjoyable experience with us and was able to appreciate the historic elements of the Knickerbocker. Thank you once again and hope to see you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and convenient

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: conviene to all areas
Location: Great shopping on I hogan Ave and easy Us connections to all museums
Staff was helpful. East access to shops and transportation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Been staying here for 20 years. Always a fantastic value for incredible location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by BenAFOM, Hotel Management
Thank you again for the great review. We are happy to hear you had a incredible experience, again. We appreciate the loyalty of guest like you and hope to see you for another 20 years at the Knickerbocker
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolute Dump

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location was Ok
Cons: The hotel needs to be renovated inside and out, its terrible.
Location: Location was good, close to Magnificent Mile.
The hotel itself is a dump, no way to sugar coat this one. Staff was friendly and the room was ok. Needs a MAJOR renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by BenAFOM, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear we did not meet expectations during your stay with us. We aim to create an amazing experience at the Knickerbocker. We invite to contact us to discuss your stay in more depth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel, not practical for > a night

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Hotel is certainly charming and historic, yet with that comes a complete sacrifice of any modern comforts. No place to store luggage or comfortably walk around in the room, doors are too heavy to pull open and take luggage out, and hotel staff during our stay was unaccomadating. All in all, I wouldn't recommend a stay for more than a night unless you're alone and a very light packer - just not enough space to stay comfortably.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Great location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Good hotel for Chicago sightseeing and close to Rush Street nightlife.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice modest hotel.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: charming traditional older style hotel.
Cons: Some facilities could be upgraded
Location: Absolutely great location, convenient to shopping, museums, the Lake, etc.
Good room; friendly staff. I would recommend. Excellent location. Convenient to Lakeshore Drive, good restaurants, the Magnificent Mile, and the Hancock Tower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mississippi

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Very friendly staff. Great location. The room was very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by Ben AFOM, Hotel Management
Will!! Thank you so much for the kind words. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our staff and the service they provide and we our happy to hear that had an impact on you. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

Posted Jun 23, 2017
So convenient! Perfect location! Quick check in and staff super helpful! Only issue was the bad lighting in our restroom. Beautiful hotel and nicely updated. Cozy and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by Ben AFOM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review. We perpetually attempt to make our guest welcomed and comfortable and it's great to hear we achieve that. And yes, we do have a perfect location and we are happy that you were able to take advantage of that. We hope to see you back soon.