Ratings based on 4,755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, size. Room was nice but is on the small side.
Cons: The lighting in the room & bathroom is poor. Bathroom needs a light up magnifying mirror to solve that problem.
Location: Lots of shopping & great restaurants.
In Chicago just for one night. Room was perfect for that. Maybe a little small for an extended stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I mistakenly booked this room on September 13th

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: nothing to say.
I tried several times to cancel and get a refund immediately after booking this room on September 13th. I was on hold for more than 30 minutes and tried both expedia and the hotel itself. The hotel could not help since it was booked through expedia. It was a non refundable reservation even though I booked another room for September 13th through expedia, the day I was actually in Chicago. I immediately tried contacting expedia to cancel the TUESDAY October room mistakenly booked (I thought I clicked September), only to get put on hold and nobody returning to the phone. Even after trying online to get a response, I gave up. ALSO, the room I ended up getting on September 13th was a nightmare too. It was not published, but the room was a dorm, shared with 3 others. When I got on the elevator for THAT room, 5 drugged looking gang banging HUGE guys wanted to know if I was going to the dorm. I said NO, went to the lobby and ended up paying $500.00 for a hole in the wall room. This was by far the WORST experience in my many years of travel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Great Stay in a Historic Hotel!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: This hotel is right in the heart of the Magnificent Mile so there are tons of stores, restaurants and things to do nearby. We walked everywhere.
Beautiful historic hotel. Had the opportunity to wander around just to look around. The Crystal Ballroom is absolutely stunning. The Standard King room was comfy but a little small however we didn't spend a lot of time in our room so it was not an issue. The fridge was very handy although we had to move some of the mini bar items around so we could fit anything inside. The bathroom was effective however there should be a fan or a thicker door because you can hear everything that's going on in there. Overall a great stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Quiet Location Clean Professional staff
Excellent experience; not bothered at all. Chose this hotel because of its location to the famous mile and during this weekend was close to the Chicago Marathon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Prime location, excellent staff. I would definitely reccomend it to anyone stating in Chicago
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from green bay wi

Business stay. Nice location.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Great location just off Michigan avenue. Self park across the street to save $.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, iL

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Needed a few more food locations to select from
Room very nice, hotel overall great place to stay. Beautiful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Girls having fun

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Bathroom lighting
Location: Walking distance to just about anywhere on a nice day.
Great location. Good size rooms very comfortable staff very accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k.s, phoenix, az

Small room with no view

Posted Sep 27, 2016
I was very excited when booking my room because the picture looked beautiful. One that really stood out to me when I booked the "superior double room" was the soaker tub. When we checked into our room it was small and we were staring at another wall, and not only did the tub not look like in the pictures the tub wouldn't stay plugged while I took a bath. Overall would probably not stay at this hotel again for the price it was.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a nice historic hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The people are very friendly and it's a lovely old hotel. Bathrooms are updated and mine had a jacuzzi. Rooms are nice but the bed a little worn. Fairly intimate lobby, which I like. I hope the owners will restore the hotel further as time goes on, but worth the stay.