Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from clearwater fla

Great time in Chicago

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Reasonable rate and convenience to everything
Location: The inn is one block from the subway and bus lines. The Cubs ball park is roughly four blocks away and shopping and restaurants are all around.
The B & B is a converted three flat in a fantastic area. Its close to the subway, Cubs ballpark, shopping, restaurants and the lake front. David the manager is really nice and makes a great breakfast. The lower level has a speakeasy bar that is open Wed thru Sat. My room was on the third floor and had private bath across the hall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location--mediocre facilities

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The room and bathroom were disappointing. Only one small window, too high to reach, and the room was small and dark. The shower curtain had spots of mold and a large chunk of plaster was missing from a section of the wall. On the positive side, the complimentary breakfast was lovely and the staff is very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Ontario

Fun stay in Chicago

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Sense of security. Efforts to give it a period look and feel without making it pretentious.
Cons: Door to room was hard to close without locking. But this is a minor cavil.
Location: Great location! An easy walk to Wrigley Field. Great restaurants, bars and coffee shops on Sheffield and Belmont Avenue.
We felt safe and comfortable in the Old Chicago Inn. Our 3rd floor room & bath were small, but had all the comforts we needed. Even with air conditioning, the overhead fan in the bedroom was welcome. We really appreciated the common area on the 3rd floor, which is outfitted with couches, coffee table books and a communal fridge. It meant we could leave the confines of our small room and spread out a bit when we felt like it. David, the innkeeper, was friendly and attentive. He welcomed us with coffee and cookies and happily carried our luggage upstairs and offered to bring it down as well. The inn is just blocks away from Wrigley Field, making it an easy walk to catch a Cubs game.. There are also lots of fun coffee shops and restaurants on both North Sheffield St and Belmont Avenue. We would happily book another stay at the Inn anytime.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indy

Close to Wrigley

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: nothing
Location: close to wrigley and El
This quaint B and B was less than a mile south of Wrigley. Room size was tight. Stayed in 2E w private bath, was basically just a bed and bathroom. TV as far as we could tell just had local channels=not a huge deal since not in Chicago to watch TV. Bfast was quick muffins, fruit, and coffee. Host Dave was friendly and helpful w city suggestions. El station around the corner so residential street parking pass was key. Was able to park on friday and not drive/move car again until left on Sunday. Would definitely stay again due to location. Nothing fancy, but again, didnt go to Chicago to spend time in room. This place fit the bill cost and location wise. Did not do the speak easy in basement but loved the old time decor and feel.
5 out of 5
by Arturo from San diego

Arts review

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at this hotel was great, the room is small but the bed was very comfortable,i have never stayed in a place where you have a shared bathroom so it was a first for me, bathrooms were clean and maintained so it wasn't a big deal, i was half a block away from the subway and it was great, neighborhood was goid with good restaurants and bars all around, my innkeeper was great also, friendly and always asking if i needed anything else,building is old and squeaky as you walk but it was a great experience and a good stay, i would definitely recommend this place to friends.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

아주 불편한 호텔

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: 좋은 점 없었습니다.
Cons: 개선해야할 점이 너무 많습니다. 방이 너무 좁고 낡았으며 화장실이 별도로 있고 공동으로 사용해야 했습니다.
Location: 지하철이 가까운 것은 장점입니다.
방이 너무 좁아 두사람이 겨우 움직일 정도였습니다. 방도 낡고 TV위치도 낮아 보기가 불편했습니다. 옷장도 매우 적었고요. 화장실이 별도로 떨어져 있어 매우 불편했습니다. 또 화장실을 다른 사람과 공동으로 사용해야 했습니다. 아침식사도 건강에 좋은 식단은 아니었습니다. 값에 비해 너무 불편하고 비싼 호텔이었다고 생각합니다.
2 out of 5
by kirk from Cincinnati

Huge disappointment.

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Huge disappointment. The throw rug in the room was filthy. There was an odor everywhere. The best they could do in the shared bathroom was a folded towel on the floor for a bathmat, cheap single ply toilet paper, and a sign hidden away in the medicine cabinet asking folks to clean up after themselves because no one would be cleaning it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Unique and charming

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: The Old Chicago Inn is inviting and loaded with history. Each room is different, which makes it more interesting and fun to stay there.
Location: We enjoyed walking along the lakefront and eating at Ann Sather's and the Home Run Inn.
We needed an affordable place to stay in Chicago and were happy to find the Old Chicago Inn. Our room was small but comfortable, and the bathroom (across the hall) was clean and attractive. We enjoyed relaxing in the sitting room on the third floor. Continental breakfasts included fresh fruit, cereal, and yogurt as well as coffeecake and quiche. The front desk employee (David) was welcoming and helpful.
1 out of 5
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
隣の部屋の音が、歩く音までまる聞こえです。 ロケーションとホテルの人の対応はとても良いです。