Ratings based on 1,367 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Fair price for what was provided. Dated. Lifts intermittent. Info material out of date. Comfortable room That's all I have to say
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Looks nice on the outside but terrible inside

Posted May 21, 2017
First of all, you can tell that it's just a old hotel remodeled to look like a fancy, new hotel. I was first alluded by the interior of the room but I was dissapointed soon after I found out the old facilities here and there (slow and small elevator, and small bathroom) In the bathtub, you cannot even stretch your arms, the hair dryer is so old and small, and everything is not user friendly. The worst thing I experienced was the cleanliness of towels, which came with the whole false lashes. I was disgusted by the towels and called the room service for new one. However, I could not hear a single apology then I made thr call, which Im even more dissapointed at. The next day, the tiny hair dryer stopped functioning, of course. Overall, what I want to say is save your money and go to holiday express or othet inns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Good location, needs improvement

Posted May 16, 2017
You can hear next room's TV and conversations! They "changed" our sheets but mine had blood spots..from menses maybe..?, unfortunately I didn't notice until next day when it was time to check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to everything

Posted May 12, 2017
We spent 3 nights here in May. We took the train from the O'Hare airport for $5, it took about 40 minutes and then we took an Uber from the train station to the hotel for about $9 which was only another 10 minutes. A cab or shuttle service will cost you $50-$100 and 1-2 hours with traffic. The Hotel was very nice, bed was comfortable, room was nicely decorated. Bathtub faucet leaked constantly and there wasn't a lot of room to store bathroom belongings-in fact housekeeping mistook a bag of toiletries I had under the sink for garbage and threw them away, but the Manager reimbursed me. We discovered a black out shade after being woken by bright light for 2 mornings. The location was great. We walked everywhere. Beautiful neighborhood. Enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in a wonderful location

Posted May 9, 2017
The Public Hotel is in the perfect location for experiencing the best of Chicago. Close to the loop, but in an old residential area we were within walking distance of many activities and fine dining. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Nice staff. My room had a wet floor with a huge stain. Looked like blood at first, but was red wine. Desk staff knew exactly what room when I came down to mention it, but didn't say anything when I checked in. I was surprised by that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Clean, friendly staff. Central location. Close to everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
In walking distance of great food & tourists attractions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hip Hostel with bed bugs

Posted Apr 25, 2017
I had the worst experience here. In a nutshell, it was the most uncomfortable bed I ever slept in, I woke up to a construction worker drilling right outside my window and wound up covered in bed bug bites. The hotel refused to steam my bed OR, initially, to send me the report that they claimed cleared the room for bed bugs. By the time they decided to forward a "report", I could hardly believe that it was believable, covered as I Was by itchy bites. Not that I was after it, but the hotel didn't even offer to cover the one horrible stay. Finally, after the headache and stress, I felt compelled to stay at the amazing Four Seasons since I was so traumatized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Loved the location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: LOcation
Cons: Bathrooms are fine.....but could be updated a little
Location: Great location
I loved out king bed...,,need to call PUBLIC Chicago and see if they can tell me the brand.