Ratings based on 1,395 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Beautiful hotel, close to lake, shopping

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Great public spaces, location.
Cons: Housekeeping towel supply, wine glasses, wine opener
Location: Walking to Rush street, beach and Magnificent Mile shopping.
The hotel is gorgeous and has 2 great bars and a beautiful restaurant. Room was very comfortable and well appointed. I was traveling with my husband and 2 children and the television in the living area did not work. I had hoped it would be fixed or replaced before our stay was up, but it wasn't addressed. I also had a bit of trouble with house keeping leaving us enough towels. We kept getting only 2 bath towels for the 4 of us and had to ask for more every day. Rooms could also use a set of wine glasses and wine opener.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted May 30, 2017
Air conditioning was not working and had to open windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

In beautiful neighborhood

Posted May 30, 2017
Walking distance to everything but not in the tourist hot spots, which is a good thing. I wanted to stay somewhere a little more low key but near everything, and this place was great for that.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Horrible experience

Posted May 25, 2017
The front desk person was abrupt, yet it was my most positive experience of the trip. The tub was blocked and I watched an engineer pull out hair and sewage and transfer it to the toliet. Housekeeping came to clean but did not address the horrific odor. I was informed that this happens all the time. I hope no one has a situation like this in the future. Let people know that the hotel is old and dirty. The website pictures are not accurate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Fair price for what was provided. Dated. Lifts intermittent. Info material out of date. Comfortable room That's all I have to say
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Looks nice on the outside but terrible inside

Posted May 21, 2017
First of all, you can tell that it's just a old hotel remodeled to look like a fancy, new hotel. I was first alluded by the interior of the room but I was dissapointed soon after I found out the old facilities here and there (slow and small elevator, and small bathroom) In the bathtub, you cannot even stretch your arms, the hair dryer is so old and small, and everything is not user friendly. The worst thing I experienced was the cleanliness of towels, which came with the whole false lashes. I was disgusted by the towels and called the room service for new one. However, I could not hear a single apology then I made thr call, which Im even more dissapointed at. The next day, the tiny hair dryer stopped functioning, of course. Overall, what I want to say is save your money and go to holiday express or othet inns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Good location, needs improvement

Posted May 16, 2017
You can hear next room's TV and conversations! They "changed" our sheets but mine had blood spots..from menses maybe..?, unfortunately I didn't notice until next day when it was time to check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to everything

Posted May 12, 2017
We spent 3 nights here in May. We took the train from the O'Hare airport for $5, it took about 40 minutes and then we took an Uber from the train station to the hotel for about $9 which was only another 10 minutes. A cab or shuttle service will cost you $50-$100 and 1-2 hours with traffic. The Hotel was very nice, bed was comfortable, room was nicely decorated. Bathtub faucet leaked constantly and there wasn't a lot of room to store bathroom belongings-in fact housekeeping mistook a bag of toiletries I had under the sink for garbage and threw them away, but the Manager reimbursed me. We discovered a black out shade after being woken by bright light for 2 mornings. The location was great. We walked everywhere. Beautiful neighborhood. Enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in a wonderful location

Posted May 9, 2017
The Public Hotel is in the perfect location for experiencing the best of Chicago. Close to the loop, but in an old residential area we were within walking distance of many activities and fine dining. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Nice staff. My room had a wet floor with a huge stain. Looked like blood at first, but was red wine. Desk staff knew exactly what room when I came down to mention it, but didn't say anything when I checked in. I was surprised by that.