Ratings based on 1,000 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Location and staff. rooms were nice
Cons: new elevators,coffee should be complimentery
Location: close to restaurants and subway
close to everything. took the subway to wrigley field, close to great restaurants, and a 10 minute cab ride to the navy pier.Hotel is clean and staff is very friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Very Nice and Unique Hotel!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Great location! Rooms were clean and quiet. Decor will give you a nostalgic feel of the 30's and 40's era.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Great hotel location, friendly staff. Rooms did not have a microwave or frig which I thought was a bit weird. Did have a fully stocked frig but obviously I wasn't about to pay for those snacks. But overall I was satisfied
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Nice neighborhood within walking distance of reasonable restaurant choices. Outside of the typical Chicago hustle radius. Clean, quaint hotel; very friendly staff; small bathrooms. Would recommend to those looking for a reasonably priced alternative to the main chain hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Gem in the Gold Coast

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Location Staff Style Room size
Location: It is within walking distance of MANY, MANY things!
Once upon a time, I lived at 1220 N State, and used to walk/park by this place (it was the Ambassador then) and watched all of the glamorous people go in and out and always wondered what it would be like to stay there... Fast forward to 2016, I have long since left the city, but had a business reason to be back in town and booked this hotel BASED on the location and my past desire to stay there. I LOVED it!! It had been renovated in a style I would describe as chic eclectic but comfortable. Great, friendly and helpful staff. Lively bar as well. I am a fan of the Gold Coast neighborhood. It is not hip or trendy. It is old money. BUT, located within in walking to MANY of the things you want to do when you visit Chicago. (and a short cab ride to Wrigley Field if you head that way). I HIGHLY recommend this hotel - get a classy neighborhood experience not a box of a room off of Michigan Avenue..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SW Missouri

Best of old and new

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Contemporary decor and good service, combined with great history. Very nice area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place.

Posted May 17, 2016
The Public is a very nice hotel. We only stayed one night but it was comfortable. My only complaint was that I wish the air conditioning made it colder but I'm kind of a polar bear. For most it would be fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Casper,WY

Bad Beds

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: The main floor bars and dining areas.
Cons: The beds
Location: The location is great for the theater district.
The atmosphere of the hotel was great, however the beds are so hard and low to the floor, it made for a very back breaking night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2016
My room must have had a street light outside, and no blackout curtains. It was somewhat light in the room all night and made it hard to sleep. However, aside from that, the room was very nice and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Chic hotel in Gold Coast

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Lobby decor, hotel staff, room decor, restaurant, bar, location.
Cons: Bathrooms were very basic & unimpressive. No counter space, simple bathroom. More luxurious bathroom would have been ideal and matched hotel overall.
Location: Go to dinner at the Pump Room! Jean George restaurant, make reservations, worth it! Sit at bar for drinks.
Beautiful updated hotel lobby, bar, lounge. Rooms were serene and modern with white palette and trendy lighting and drapes but mostly a paint job over what has been there. Bathroom was below par which was a disappointment. Small nicks and stains on furniture and walls was disappointing, when I realized hotel was painted over. Looking past that though, rooms were decorated nice. Beds and pillows comfortable. Staff was fantastic and very helpful and accommodating. Bar and restaurant were supreme.