Ratings based on 4,524 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome...

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Excellent hotel...was central to everything, staff was friendly and room was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Nice hotel. No late night food sucked. Super small elevators.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by apedro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Raffaello Hotel. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the hotel. Although our in-room dining service does end at 10pm, you can certainly order delivery from many of the surrounding restaurants. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paxton IL

Nice, clean hotel with courteous staff

Posted Jul 14, 2017
We enjoyed our stay for 1 night. Clean room and good location. The downside - we were traveling with another couple and when I booked the rooms we thought it was nice that it had a rooftop bar, but when we checked in it said it was closed until 10:00 p.m. for a private party. When we got back after being out for the evening we thought we would go up to the bar and enjoy a drink since it was such a nice night and the sign had changed to "closed for the night, come back tomorrow", so we had to go elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Very large room but ready for a makeover

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Big room(one bedroom king suite) which is what I was looking for for my husband and I with two kids. We slept in bedroom, one kid pull out queen sofa bed and plenty of room for toddler blow up bed we brought. Maids put bedding out and made the toddler bed everyday which I thought was nice. Furniture was a bit stained and the room upon first entering smelled pretty musty but you got used to it. Employees there were great, small and slower older elevator bothered us not at all nor did the guests going to the fancy bar upstairs which was also very cool. They've added room service for breakfast since other reviews have been given and the really great donut shop is still in the lobby. We really liked the location also - downtown but also very residential. We took the kids to play at the neighborhood park every night which was great. I traded in Expedia points and got a good deal. Also as a gold member received two free drinks at the bar upstairs ($30ish value.). Again for me this hotel was worth the compromise on quality/renovated because i was going for square footage but if that wasn't your goal you might want to look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Hotel I definitely will go back

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Bell boy. The room. The hospitality everything
Cons: parking
Location: everything nearby. I mean everything
Very nice hotel . We came in from out of town did not like the hotel we were in and we had to find one quickly. Was afraid because the other hotel look nice on line but was a dump in person. When we got there we were very pleased. Excellent hotel for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by apedro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for this most rewarding feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to create fond memories for our guests, and we are truly delighted to learn that we have accomplished this with you. I look forward to sharing this incredible review with the entire team. We sincerely appreciate your flattering compliments and hope to see you again very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mi

Great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The hotel is right next to John Hancock and one block from lake shore, easy access to Michigan Ave and to stroll by the lake. It's an older hotel, the 2 elevators are small, sometimes need to wait in line. The room is spacious and clean, except the carpet looks dirty. Overall, I'd choose this hotel for its location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northville, MI

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Room was spacious. We had a separate living room and bedroom with was great for a family. Room Was clean, comfortable and quiet. Did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant. I recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Best kept secret hotel in Chicago.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, huge rooms and smiling people that are always helpful! What else could you ask for?
Cons: I can say that 18 floors with 2 elevators can make waits a little long if hotel is full. Staff always offers freight/employee elevator!!
Location: Walking distance to Michigan Avenue and great restaurants.
Have two kids living in downtown Chicago so we get up here a lot throughout the year. We have stayed at other north side hotels when the Raffaello was sold out but always come back here. Rooms are HUGE by Chicago standards and bathroom is great. Shower is large enough for two and always stocked with supplies. Always clean, always great service at the front desk. We checked in early at noon on a Wednesday and two people available on the front desk! Standing for 40 minutes to check-in at several other local hotels(who shall remain nameless) was ridiculous! If they have a room available, we are always here!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by apedro, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words about your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your returning to us when you visit Chicago and I'm glad to see that you continue to have wonderful experiences and that you enjoy our guests rooms and amenities. We sincerely look forward to continuing to have you as our guests!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Oh

Great hotel in the city

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Check in was a breeze. The staff was wonderful. Parking was expensive but that was expected. The room was a great fit for our family's needs & close to most things we wanted to do; just a quick Uber ride or walk to each attraction & restaurant & shopping. If I return to Chicago, I'll probably stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel, Good Location, bad wifi

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Solid rooms with lots of space and storage. Great location. Great view. Good rooftop bar.
Cons: Bad wifi. Weird plumbing issues. Inconsistent housekeeping. Slow elevators.
The Raffaello has an excellent location that's a little away from the craziness of the rest of the downtown area. The rooms are a good size and clean. The beds are comfy and the showers are nice. I ran into four issues while staying there, however: - The wifi was terrible to the point of being unusable. Half the time it couldn't be connected to. When a connection was made, it was incredibly slow. This was true across the 4 different devices I tried this on. Don't stay here if you need to work on wifi. - The toilet had an odd plumbing issue where, if other toilets in the hotel would flush, it would shoot water up out of the toilet. You could hear it spraying water all over the bathroom all night, and occasionally you'd have the unfortunate experience of sitting on it while this happened. I expect some quirks in older hotels, but this really was a new one for me. - One day housekeeping forgot to replace my water glasses. I called the front desk around 10 PM, and they told me that housekeeping and room service had left for the day, so they couldn't bring me any new ones. I'm not sure if this was because it was a holiday weekend or just the standard practice, but it seemed pretty unreasonable in either case. - The elevators were very slow and small; they were often full whenever you'd try to get on. I was on the forth floor, so I just took the stairs most of the time, but it would have really been a pain if I was staying on a higher floor.