Ratings based on 3,552 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Older hotel, need cleaning, old smal elevators, bathroom need to be cleaner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Close to Magnificent Mile

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Very basic hotel, staff don't have the usual courtesy and masters of Chicago people. You don't get a proper room service unless you PRE tip! Lifts are exceptionally slow and the place needs a serious refurbishment and update as it's rather tatty looking. Our daughter's backpackers place down the road was a much nicer place.. And cheaper!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible stay

Posted Jul 27, 2016
I was completely disappointed. Very dirty, small room, unpleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Decent hotel for the price.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs a little updating
Location: Michigan Ave is one block away - you can walk to shopping and restaurants.
Great location. Carpets are dingy, bathrooms are run down, and they need new elevators - but you shouldn't spend time in your room anyway when there is so much to see and do in the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jul 25, 2016
We stayed two nights, could be a very neat old hotel, just needs new carpet, paint, and cleaned better. Beds were very comfortable. Nice location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Location was the key with this hotel....

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location and beds.
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Location: 1 block from the magnificent mile, so that was great. Walking distance from lots of places to eat.
The hotel is pretty shabby....HOWEVER the beds were surprisingly comfortable. The location couldn't be beat, but it wasn't the cleanest and or nicest place I've stayed. If I stayed again, it would only be for the location. The carpets were disgusting, room tiny, and bathrooms need a GOOD cleaning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The hotel location was within walking distance to everything.
Cons: Facilities could use an upgrade from floor to ceiling.
Visiting Chicago for a 3-day training. Musty smelling and worn-out hotel. Pricing was right.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ontario, Canada

Great central location

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Central location Air conditioning Comfy Beds
Cons: Bathrooms could be cleaner/updated
Location: Great location in the heart of the Magnificent Mile. Lots of shops, restaurants, pubs and convenience stores nearby within walking distance.
My friends and I booked this hotel hoping to save money and explore the city from a central location. A lot of the reviews weren't promising, but we decided to go ahead. The lobby was busy and there was a distinct smell in the stairwells, and the halls were VERY narrow. Our room was extremely spacious with a great view and comfy beds. Our bathroom was very no frills, tub/shower combo and sink. Everything was clean. The light switch for the overhead light didn't work, but the above bed lighting was adequate. Air conditioning was fantastic! Overall, you get what you pay for. We had a no frills room that offered the necessities for a reasonable price, right in the core of the Magnificent Mile. I'd definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples,Fl

Excellent Location

Posted Jul 24, 2016
This hotel is in a great location. Close to everything and all transportation. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was nice bathroom was pretty rough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

I thought I might need vaccinations after my visit

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Cons: Clean/wash your sheets
For starters, I called to ask about early check in and the staff on the other line was very rude and condescending. Took the approach of basically just deal with it. When we did arrive early, to our surprise our room was actually ready. The staff at the front counter was friendly there however the elevator took forever and 3 staff members pushed their way in front of us when it finally opened and then went down. Very Rude. Our room wasn't too terribly small for being off the mag mile but gross soo dirty. There were hairs all over the bathroom and our sheets were inside out with a quarter sized blood stain at the bottom of the bed which made me grossed out to have to sleep on, but since they were sold out we had no other options. The biggest joke of the stay came when I found a tip envelope the next morning next to our coffee pot for the maid who was to be cleaning our room. My tip to that made cleaning the 7th floor: how about actually removing and washing the soiled bloodied sheets and rinsing the previous guests hair down the drain.