Ratings based on 3,191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Welcoming staff Great location. Reasonable (for big city) overnight parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a central location to city amenities

Posted Aug 26, 2016
The hotel staff is very accommodating to guest needs. I've stayed a few times and always receive the same level of service. The only down side is that rooms are very small which is fine for me. In addition the elevators are old and very slow. I stay would consider this location for future visits to the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Nice staff, but not as updated as I had thought. The overall feel felt a little dirty. Wasn't worth the high price I paid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Our place to stay in Chicago...

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Location: Perfect location for walking the "Magnificent Mile.....walking to the Art Institute....and close to Lake for riding our bikes.
Excellent staff, accommodations and location. We brought our bikes and they stored and retrieved them easily and timely. Can't say enough positive about The River Hotel. Pedro, Diego and Nikallette were especially helpful, courteous and professional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st louis

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Great place to stay close to everything wonderful staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The location is great walking distance to everywhere.. We stayed in a standard room small but cozy.. The view from our room was great.. The hotel staff are helpful.. The coffee maker in our room is not working my husband left a note on the desk but they didn't change it until we check out we let them know..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentrale Lage mit Flair

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Die Lage des Hotels.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich mitten in der City. Hier kann man fast alles unternehmen.
Mitten in der City, Geschäfte, Bars, Restaurants, alles gut zu Fuß zu erreichen. Großartiger Blick aus dem Zimmerfenster über Chicago River und Innenstadt. Zwar ein altes Gebäude mit Charakter aber alles gut in Schuss.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location. Easy walk to many spots

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Neat, modern room in a beautiful building. Good service and great location. Only drawback to room is no refrigerator. But lounge with free flowing coffee/tea, chilled water as well as desktop, printing makes up for that
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cooper City, FL

Great Location, Nice Views, and Friendly Staff!

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, and room comfort.
Cons: Pay more attention to guests requests when a room is booked and acknowledge it when they show up.
Location: You name it...there's architectural boat tours, river walk with bunch of restaurants right across the street.
(+) The room was clean and the bed....oh my, the bed was super comfortable with clean sheets. The pillows are life! :) I had a nice view of the river, bridges, Trump tower...etc. I highly recommend this hotel if you're into the city life. The hotel is centrally located, I mean you can walk to ANYWHERE. There are plenty of tourist attractions, rooftop restaurants, lounges, museum within walking distance from you. I spent 4 nights with my fiancee over there and we only used uber twice (because we walked roughly 6 miles a day). There is a gym, and a business center with free use of the printer. You can also get a loaner iPad for your stay, I loved that! (-) Check-in time could have been better; we had to wait a little longer than expected for a specific room I requested while booking my trip (upper floor with a view and sort of early check in). Honestly, 8 out of 10 hotels will have you wait if you have a specific room request and you want to check in early even if you tell them that while booking your stay. The TV in the room was very small but I wasn't there to sit and watch TV. If I ever comeback to Chi-town anytime soon, I'll definitely consider staying there a second time for sure. The staff was very professional and courteous, kudos to Pedro and Tony!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico,DF

Hotel muy bien situado, cerca de todop

Posted Aug 9, 2016
La relación costo / calidad / ubicación de este hotel es excelente