Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Hotel under construction.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable.Staff was friendly.
Cons: Close the hotel until the construction work is complete.
We were not aware of the hotel's extensive remodeling going on. When we arrived, we thought it was closed. There was insulation stacked, visible through the bare windows, concrete broken outside the entry and a temporary wall closing off the lobby. Our reservation was made online, and was confirmed as "Country Inn and Suites by Carlson." The sign on the hotel read "Country Inn and Suites," and that was also reflected on the room keys. We thought we were staying in that hotel chain, but later found out it was now privately owned. The room was OK, except the roller shade was too narrow, leaving a gap around the window, so lack of privacy in our first floor room was a concern. The "full breakfast" fit into a small corner by the front desk. Obviously, no place to sit down since the lobby was closed. I do not understand why the hotel is operating under these conditions. Wouldn't it make more sense to close completely, finish the work on the lobby, and then open the rooms on one side at a time? At the very least, these inconveniences should be made crystal clear to potential guests at the time of the reservation. I will say that the staff was friendly and courteous, and seemed understanding of our concerns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Our room! Perfect!
Cons: Once the construction is done, this will be a wonderful facility.
Location: Lots of shopping and restaurants.
They were as accommodating as possible. Major construction is happening in the main lobby and many rooms. Our room was wonderful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Under construction and not ready for customers

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Location near Pheasant Run Convention center and very close to shopping and dining facilities. Location is the ONLY thing that it has going for it. Very hidden from the road so keep an eye out for it or you will pass it by. Adequate parking and well lighted parking lot. This is all that I can say positive about this hotel. It needs a lot of work before booking customers.
Cons: Under construction, drywallers in the hallway playing radios at full blast all afternoon, impossible to take a nap. My room was not complete...no telephone, no toilet paper holder, no way to control heat or AC, complementary coffee pot broken. Was not able to call front desk for a wake up call. When I went to check out at 6:30 in the morning, there was no one at the front desk, so I just left.
Location: I chose this hotel because of location near Pheasant Run Convention facility. Will not make that mistake again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Big disappointment

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: I thought the beds were comfortable. The location to the restaurants, shopping and theater were good. I liked how close it was the the Steel hockey games
Cons: The remodeling huge mess, no gym to work out in, dirty sheets, smoke alarms going off in our room at 12:30 at night and switching rooms, the lack of s lobby, and the tiny breakfast room
Location: The location was good to many restaurants, shopping areas and movie theater
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel as soon as remodeling is done

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Staff is great, the remodeled side of the hotel is great. Nice location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

We could not and did not stay there.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Nothjing
Cons: Close it until renovation is completed.
It was under renovation construction. A complete mess and the room looked and smelled bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Jeff J, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for providing a review from your recent attempt to stay with us. I would like to apologize for the renovations taking place and the unsatisfactory conditions. Please consider us in the future when our changes have been made. Best regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is under construction!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Hotel was under construction was not aware of this when I booked the hotel decided to say somewhere else after seeing the place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Jeff J, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for offering a review of your attempt to stay with us, I am extremely sorry you were not informed of the renovations taking place prior to your arrival. Please consider us in the future when your travels bring you back to the St. Charles area. Best regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

STAY AWAY

Posted Sep 10, 2016
It would've been nice to know that the hotel was under construction. The TV Didn't work and there was a huge section of wallpaper missing. The staff was indifferent and uncaring. Not friendly at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Jeff J, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced while staying with us. You should have been notified of the renovations taking place when making your reservations, I am sorry that did not happen. I am very sorry to hear the staff was indifferent and uncaring, I can assure you I will be speaking with our staff about your comments. Thank you for your business. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Never again!

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was being renovated. We were not told about this during reserving the room. This should have been posted on hotel.com. The pool was closed, no pop machines, one ice machine that barely worked. There was an odd smell, like apoxy, in the room and on the floor. The room was dirty and the phone didn't work. The staff was rude and didn't care about our comfort or apologetic about the inconvenience. We will never stay at this location again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay, we will take this information moving forward to improve ourselves. You should have been properly notified of the renovations taking place, I am very sorry the information was not respectfully provided to you. I would like to apologize for the staff not being more apologetic about you displeasure, I will make sure this is not the case in the future. Best regards