Ratings based on 4,821 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel close to millennial park.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Staff was great, helped me clear up a billing issue with Expedia. Loved the hotel decor. Room was comfortable, but could have been cleaner- hairs in shower stall and floss-pick (used?) in drawer. Construction on the outside of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great boutique hotel in Downtown!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The hotel was great. Very comfortable, visited for a business trip and the room was great to work in. The only issues were a in room dining charge but it was quickly fixed. We stored our bags after check out, when we came to get the bags we gave in our tickets waited about 10mins, still no bags so we asked again and they completely forgot to get them. But beside those two minor things everyhing else was freat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Wow! - I'll go back

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The rooms are like concrete vaults -- I heard no noise -- no slamming doors, no elevators or ice machines, no talking. -- Old buildings are great.
Cons: A better/broader kitchen menu would be nice.
Location: This location is close to everything and there's a little pull-off area for Uber pick-ups.
I stay in hotels all around the country for business and it seems like the same generic experience time after time.. but this place is different. I had a deluxe room for four days.. cheaper than the convention room rate down the street (I had Room 711; I believe any room ending in an "11" is deluxe) and it was wonderful. It's not the fanciest place.. but it's very "homey" -- and I found myself wanting to get back to the hotel to hang out between events. The staff (especially Ms. Avaya at the front desk) was warm and inviting. And for some odd reason they seem to have the best coffee I had in Chicago. The bartender heard I didn't drink alcohol, but provided me a free beverage while conducting a meeting at the bar. The maintenance guy also actually asked me if I was comfortable while I working in the lobby late one night -- go figure. It seems like they actually care about their customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Racine, WI

Great Location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We loved the location. The staff was very small and busy but friendly. The room was big and very clean. The bed was not the most comfortable, and our bathroom door wouldn't stay shut. The hotel did say it would deal with my initial check in issues when I rated my check-in with Expedia, but they didn't.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel at excellent location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room, bathroom
Nice stay in a hotel that is close to everything. The staff were nice, check in was fast and efficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Frank Leone, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five-star review of Silversmith Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our prime location, friendly associates and seamless check-in service. We hope that you will join us again the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City! Best regards, Frank Leone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Great downtown location with fabulous staff

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: First, the staff; also the location; plus it's a really nice hotel. We liked the two TVs, one in front of the sofa and one in front of the bed.
Cons: Towel bars in the bathroom would be nice
Location: Lots of restaurants, historic Miller Pub, shopping - just ask the folks at the Front Desk - they have lots of info
We were in Chicago to celebrate our 51st wedding anniversary and everyone treated us like royalty, from the front desk to the bar to the restaurant, the staff couldn't have been nicer. The hotel itself was just updated not long ago so it was beautiful. Despite the construction outside the hotel was quiet, and the noise from the El was muffled. We were super impressed with the security, especially when we had a pizza delivered and a security officer accompanied the pizza man to our room. We loved the location and being able to walk everywhere, and when we had to taxi, the ride was always short.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Frank Leone, Hotel Management
Thank you, Lynda, for kindly reviewing Silversmith Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that our associates left a lasting impression on you with their personable and attentive service. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our in-room amenities and convenient location in the Loop. Wishing you a very happy anniversary and we hope that you will join us again for the next one! Best regards, Frank Leone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Beautiful hotel and staff were very nice. I would stay there again on my next visit to Chitown
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Frank Leone, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five-star review of Silversmith Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our artful design complete with friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Best regards, Frank Leone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from puebla, mexico

great staff, great location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
we were close to everything, the staff was always corteous, helpful and friendly, the rooms were huge, the bathrooms great. A comfortable medium size hotel easy to access. we will definiyely go back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Frank Leone, Hotel Management
Ricardo, thank you for kindly reviewing Silversmith Hotel. We too love our convenient location within walking distance of Chicago's most popular attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future! Best regards, Frank Leone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from memphis, TN

Nice hotel. Very friendly staff.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Very nice hotel and very friendly staff. This is the only place we stay when coming to Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Frank Leone, Hotel Management
Thank you, Ellen, for choosing Silversmith Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our associates' attention to detail, as customer service is our top priority. We hope that you will continue to join us for your future visits to Chicago. Best regards, Frank Leone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royal Oak MI

Nice hotel close to tourist attraction

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Helpful friendly staffs Close to tourist attraction. Close to city transports Close to surrounding various eatery Clean hotel room
Cons: Please provide slightly bigger rubbish bin with liner to protect the bin. Remove clipped soap dish that will improve the elegant look of the bathroom
Location: Visit the famous mellennium park, museum and art gallery. Boat cruise.
Very friendly and helpful front desk staffs and room service
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Frank Leone, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing Silversmith Hotel. I am delighted to hear that our associates left a lasting impression on you with their attentive and personable service - we will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We appreciate your feedback and we continue working to improve the guest experience, and we hope that you will join us again in the near future! Best regards, Frank Leone