Ratings based on 3,566 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the worst

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Change the beds and remodel the rooms
Location: Excellent Location
Very poor quality bed. Unprofessional staff at check-out. The doorman was more friendly and helpful than the staff member at check-out desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Marie - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hamid M, Thank you for your review and recent stay with us. We are sincerely sorry to read that you experienced issues with the bed in you room and have already shared your feedback with our housekeeping manager so that he can follow up and inspect you room. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again to the Sofitel next time you are in Chicago.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
everybody speaks French. their menu at their restaurant not good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in great location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location and size of Prestige Suite
Cons: Upholstered furniture rejuvenated. More restaurant choice on site, could use a more informal dinning option.
Location: Great location would definitely stay in this hotel again
Hotel was great, room was clean as some have previously noted the furniture in room seemed a bit tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Nice Hotel in dtwn Chicago

Posted Mar 5, 2017
The hotel is one block away from Chicago 360' attraction so it's a plus. I could go day and night with my wife. Other attraction are 2/3 miles away so we took uber everywhere else. I loved the stay. When I got there they offered me to upgrade to upper floors and I did but the view is not so different from lower levels since the hotel is around other tall buildings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p.

In the thick of it.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
It is a very comfortable hotel. It's not super fancy but it's very comfy and located in the middle of everything. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The bar and fitness center are being worked on so that's a bit inconvenient but not unpleasantly so.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
I was charged over $100 in addition to my room payment. I called the hotel a couple times but was told either to contact my bank or to wait. That's it. So I just filed a dispute through my bank. I wouldn't recommend a hotel that does not take care of customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Marie Trani - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The hotel does process a $125 per night authorization on guest's credit card upon arrival to guarantee the payment of incidental charges. However, if nothing is consumed during the stay, the pending authorization is released and it usually takes 3-5 business days for a bank to have it gone from your account. Do not hesitate to let us know if you notice any discrepancy with your final charge so we can make the necessary corrections.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mass

sophisticated, extremely clean, luxurious bedding

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: all the conveniences supplied to guest as well as the most luxurious comfortable bedding
Location: great location close to all shopping and restaurants
This is an extremely clean, sophisticated hotel with the most comfortable luxurious bedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Memorable near Magnificent Mile

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Hotel is in a great neighborhood with all amenities within walking distance. Concierge staff was very helpful and had the best pancakes ever in the Cafe des Architectes restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Group trip

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We booked 6 rooms with the Sofitel. All were great. We have stayed at other Sofitels but this is the first for the Chicago Sofitel. Great neighborhood and hotel was beautiful as always. Bar was under renovation was the only bummer. But renovations must take place from time to time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albany ny

Modern chic hotel, fabulous location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Great room - clean, modern decor, super comfortable bed. Luxurious and spacious bathroom. Excellent Gold Coast location just a couple blocks west of Magnificent Mile. Quiet too. Helpful staff.