Ratings based on 599 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel is very nice. It's small so it has a small staff. The gym/ pool was on the third floor and only open till 9 which was a bit of an inconvenience. It's also difficult to locate the hotel but if you call them they will direct you. You have to take two sets of elevators to get to your room which isn't a huge deal but me and my friend got stuck in one elevator and had to pry the doors open to get out which was a bit scary. We then took 11 flights of stairs up to our room because we were afraid to use the elevator again. Other than that we had a great time!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Change of Hotel with no notice.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
I was told my room at the Buckingham would be canceled and that I would be switched to the Blake hotel less then 24 prior to my arrival time. My reservation was canceled due to "maintenance issues" and I was sent to a hotel without comparable amenities- large gym and pool- with in walking distance of the mtg that brought us to Chicago. After more than one hour on the phone with an Expedia agent, I was told I would receive $75 from Expedia and a free room at a future stay at the Buckingham in Chicago and have received neither. I ended up farther away, having to pay for double parking, not having a pool or gym and quite dissatisfied with the experience over all
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peoria, IL

Nice rooms for the price. Not much else.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Clean room; nice view of downtown high-rises
Cons: ANY food available on weekends would be great. Front desk should inform the customers of where hotel amenities are located.
Location: A LOT of construction and noise. Sewer gas smells are prevalent. Close to several Metra stations. Willis tower area is about .5 miles away. Easy walk.
After booking the room, I received 2 pleasing Expedia messages from the hotel. 1 to verify my arrival time and another to point me to their parking area. I told them that I would be arriving about 12:00pm. This was their response... "Hi Chad! "Thank you, I will update your arrival time in the notes. Our underground parking garage is located at 1 Financial Place, on the E side of the street. Your meeting is about four blocks east of our facility." This led me to believe 2 things... 1. they could be ready for me at 12:00 2. Hotel parking was included. I was WRONG on both counts... Once I got there, they REFUSED to give me my room prior to 2:00 pm. So I had to wander the neighborhood for an hour and a half until I could get into my room. To top it off, EVERY business was closed at that time because, apparently no one eats or drinks on Sunday afternoons in Chicago. Parking was NOT included!! I'm from the Peoria area where on-site hotel parking is included. This cost me an additional $70!! I never did find the Spa or the Fitness area. I'm assuming these are either not on premises or not available to folks that are not "Buckingham Club" members. Not sure which. The amazing restaurant sounded wonderful as well when reading about this hotel. Come to find out that is only M-F as well. No food on-site on weekends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Addison, IL

Very Enjoyable Stay with Beautiful Views

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: large, clean rooms, excellent staff, most wonderful location with tons of dining and shopping options.
Cons: It is great as is.
Buckingham place has the most exceptional, clean rooms with breathtaking views of the city. It was my first time staying with them and this will be my hotel of choice going forth. I would love to stay here again very soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Buckingham Hospitality , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we hope to host you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Good hotel for business travelers. Clean, quiet and located right next to both L tracks so it is great for airport travel.
5 out of 5
by Justin

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Just awesome, could not ask for a better place to stay. The privacy is unparalleled and quiet
5 out of 5
by Callie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Orbitz Sucks!

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Easy walk room Everest restaurant to our room. Swimming pool and spas were excellent. Breakfast was paid for with a credit voucher, $10.00 for two.
Getting an Orbitz rep who speaks English is impossible! I spent over two hours trying to get an answer to the question: If I make a reservation and later the price drops for the room on the same date, am I entitled to the lower price? Because no one speaks English this reservation cost me $30.00 more than it should. I'll never use Orbitz again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Top floor views are sensational, Willis building stands out as are other city buildings. Having to change lifts at floor 39 just to go up one more floor to the top is a little strange but can understand as building is a mixture of hotel and other tenants. Overall a very pleasant stay with curtious and welcoming front staff at check-in and at check-out time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cary

Health club

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The gym was awesome! Great place to stay if you like working out. They have it all and you don't have to pay anything extra. Enjoy it very much.