Ratings based on 2,948 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A classic grand hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
A well maintained, we'll run grand hotel. Not "frayed around the edges" or tired and worn like some of its era. It is not the sleek, hip modern style of other hotels in Chicago in its price range. Instead it is a very comfortable, well appointed step back in time...but without sacrificing modern conveniences. Excellent staff, great service, right on the lake; what's not to like? We will return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mississauga

Not as expected

Posted May 27, 2017
Sadly this hotel did not live up to my expectations. Lobby is beautiful but nothing else wowed me . Bed was VERY uncomfortable. And too dark . Lights were very dull. It comes with a fridge in the room but you can't use it due to all the stock they put in there for purchase. The location is good if you want to shop. I enjoyed the walk to shops on Michigan Ave . Also close to get to subway . But driving to get anywhere is crazy .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted May 14, 2017
Chipped paint, shower curtain rod falling off wall, had to move bed and unplug a lamp to find outlet to charge phone, heating fan clanking all night - everything old! all for $400 a night (moved to another hotel after first night)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Another great stay in Chicago

Posted May 10, 2017
Third time at the Drake and it never disappoints. Lovely location, historic in Chicago and excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

awesome hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Great location, loved the 2 bathrooms! Music and dancing in the Palm Court on Saturday nights was fun - great way to end an evening. This is my new favorite hotel in Chicago. Pricy, but worth every penny!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago Il

Classic hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Historic, vintage hotel in a great location. In need of some updates. The couch was frayed, which was disappointing and unnecessary. The bathroom was very small (vintage).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, Old, Grand Dame

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: loved the feeling of glamour and the location and the spacious room
Cons: the bathroom really showed its age but I still loved it
Location: Ran by the lake, wonderful track a few blocks away. some of the best shopping in the world is in the neighborhood and great restaurants, too
loved the beautiful lobby and the flowers. Superb location for work, running and shopping.Very nice sized room with a very small bath, which I would expect in an older property
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Not for Families with Small Kids

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Room was over $200 and it was very small. I was charged a $75 deposit I didn't know about until I checked in and was only refunded $65. Walpaper was peeling off the wall in the bathroom. Closet light had a mind of its own and turned off and on randomly. Toilet flush valve was broken when we arrived...took nearly an hour to repair. Lamp was broken...light bulb fixture was snapped off and dangling from the top of the lamp. Asked for extra linens and received over an hour later. However, it was very clean, linens were very nice. Furniture was very comfortable - especially the bed. The tub was a nice size - seemed larger than a standard tub and the shower head was nice too. Would have been a beautiful view of Lake Michigan from our room had it not been raining, and we could observe the carriage rides from our room too, which was neat. Located just off the Magnificent Mile, there was very easy access to any kind of shopping you could want. Restaurants and lounge in the hotel made for easy access to food and drink. All in all it was not a horrible experience, but I expected better for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not Measure up...

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The history of it.
Cons: ALOT
Room was freezing, could not adjust temp, paper thin blanket on the bed, tub did not drain, room was not cleaned when we returned at 4:00 in the afternoon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas, nv

Dirty room

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: give the rooms a good old fashion cleaning
Location: shop; dine
The room felt dirty because it was dirty. The woodwork had what appeared to be months of dirt. The bathroom wallpaper was severely peeling, The floors in the bathroom were dirty. The only things clean were the bed linens and towels.