Ratings based on 2,922 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Not for Families with Small Kids

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Room was over $200 and it was very small. I was charged a $75 deposit I didn't know about until I checked in and was only refunded $65. Walpaper was peeling off the wall in the bathroom. Closet light had a mind of its own and turned off and on randomly. Toilet flush valve was broken when we arrived...took nearly an hour to repair. Lamp was broken...light bulb fixture was snapped off and dangling from the top of the lamp. Asked for extra linens and received over an hour later. However, it was very clean, linens were very nice. Furniture was very comfortable - especially the bed. The tub was a nice size - seemed larger than a standard tub and the shower head was nice too. Would have been a beautiful view of Lake Michigan from our room had it not been raining, and we could observe the carriage rides from our room too, which was neat. Located just off the Magnificent Mile, there was very easy access to any kind of shopping you could want. Restaurants and lounge in the hotel made for easy access to food and drink. All in all it was not a horrible experience, but I expected better for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not Measure up...

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The history of it.
Cons: ALOT
Room was freezing, could not adjust temp, paper thin blanket on the bed, tub did not drain, room was not cleaned when we returned at 4:00 in the afternoon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas, nv

Dirty room

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: give the rooms a good old fashion cleaning
Location: shop; dine
The room felt dirty because it was dirty. The woodwork had what appeared to be months of dirt. The bathroom wallpaper was severely peeling, The floors in the bathroom were dirty. The only things clean were the bed linens and towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Historic hotel close to iconic monuments

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The Drake lobby, Tea toom and Restaurants are beautiful and iconic. I was able to check in early and check out late with no issues. Staff was very plesant and accomodating. Only complaint is that there was some type of construction elsewhere in the building that was easily heard thru the old walls in our room early in the day. Overall plesant stay and I look forward to staying again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The historical environment
Cons: The beds could be updated
Location: Easy to walk to shopping
It was good for the price and for a quick two night stay in Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay

Posted Mar 7, 2017
When we checked in, they upgraded our room. Then they surprised us with a birthday cake and champagne for my daughters birthsay. It was a wonderful experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valparaiso, IN

Very nice hotel but uncomfortable

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: nice entry
Location: Hotel was chosen because we like the old hotel style. Plenty to do in chicago we did willis tower skydeck, Blackhawks game, and blueman group and self
The mattress was uncomfortably soft. My wife and I both had trouble sleeping and woke up with sore backs, ugg. Saturday maids started knocking at nine thirty to clean room and every 1half hour till we left at noon. No knocks from maids on sunday morning and we left about ten thirty. Came back sunday evening around nine pm and the room wasn't even made up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Lenox IL

Great location

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Cons: Better parking
Location: shopping and restaurants
Had a couple issues during my stay, but the hotel staff made up for it. Great service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It's grand but needs to modernise its attitude.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The Drake is everything you expect it to be physically, a grand old hotel of a certain era with wooden panels and chadeliers. Oversized rooms with high ceilings. Splendid. However, they haven't integrated modernity well and the staff's attitude to us was relaxed to the point of apathy. So make sure you have decent wifi before you settle on a room...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Monument to a past era

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Staff is outstanding, great exercise room, outstanding facilities. Hard to get the room to a comfortable temperature.