Ratings based on 2,874 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It's grand but needs to modernise its attitude.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The Drake is everything you expect it to be physically, a grand old hotel of a certain era with wooden panels and chadeliers. Oversized rooms with high ceilings. Splendid. However, they haven't integrated modernity well and the staff's attitude to us was relaxed to the point of apathy. So make sure you have decent wifi before you settle on a room...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Monument to a past era

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Staff is outstanding, great exercise room, outstanding facilities. Hard to get the room to a comfortable temperature.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs and horrible staff

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We had bed bugs in our room where not myself and my girlfriend were bit all over our necks. The sheets were dirty and the staff were really rude. They kept trying to make us leave so they could come and clean. We felt really uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

stayed the night for function

Posted Feb 14, 2017
nice big room. some of hotel is tired, but very functional. nice breakfast available. classic place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel - very close to shopping

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The Drake Hotel is beautiful! The staff is friendly and helpful! All around, it was a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sudbury Ontario

Nice hotel! Right at Magnificent Mile!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, nice large room.
Location: Walking distance to the 360 Chicago, lots of restaurants.
Very friendly staff, great room, close to shopping, right at the end of Magnificent Mile. Close to a lot of great restaurants!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mpls, mn

Beautiful, classy

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Great service, room, amenities. One of the best. Beautiful .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

In the heart of Chicago---Magnificent!

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Breakfa in the Coq D'or was a wonderful. Great food and better service. We travel with our Havanese - she was so welcomed by the hotel/staff.
Cons: Although an older hotel, it has the old world elegance and is well maintained.
Location: The heart of shopping the best shopping, steps to the beach and great dining all around. Location, Location, Location.
Celebrating our 23 wedding reunion - The Drake in Chicago was the perfect place. Old world elegance, fair pricing, great location -- and best of all -- outstanding service. It was the best service we have ever received in a hotel -- from Europe to Asia, right here in Chicago. From Tekiesha at reception, Sharon at customer service and Chris, the Bell Captain, we felt at home and so welcome -- the three made our experience so special. We felt like long term customers -- it was 23 years since we were her last. The staff and hotel elegance made this a special reunion for us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Probably nice in its hay day

Posted Jan 25, 2017
My first stay at the drake. It was unseasonably warm for this time of the year and the hotel itself was just hot. The air was unavailable in the hotel and rooms. I was told to open the window to cool down the room so we did that in each room we rented. However it took every bit of strength to get them open and you can imagine in a busy city a good nights sleep with city hustle and bustle, sirens and noise do not equal a good sleep. The hotel itself was nice enough but in much need of updating and repairs. Major staining on flooring, chipping and peeling around trim. Old furnishings. Easy access to downtown. I enjoyed the city itself and will opt for a more updated hotel with better amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely room

Posted Jan 23, 2017
It was a lovely room with all the charm only an older well kept hotel can have. Tall ceilings, large rooms, crown molding, all the extra touches that make it special.